Where Do You See Yourself On Steemit In 5 years? Running the Steemit Marathon

in #30dayschallenge6 years ago (edited)

Steemit is a marathon, not a sprint is always what I say to newcomers. You don't go full throttle at the gun start and expect to win right away without training, endurance building, skill building and having the right tools. Yeah sorry but my post is not about setting a Steemit Marathon but how I envision my journey to be.

These first 6 months is all about training my flexing my creative muscles as it has been too long since I genuinely done something that is not about work. I am slowly unlocking more skills, hopefully getting better at my craft and learning new things.

I am at this point have some confidence and grown a network but know that I can do more.

buddies.jpg

Image is mine

I am a fan of interval speed training as this fuels development and endurance. This is manifested in the periods of low activity of Steem due to bearish markets. A lot of people are not incentivized to do post when Steem is low but I, on the other hand, try to write more as there are less people sharing the reward pool.

That is the perfect time to get Steem and SBD and power up and increase your influence on the platform. That is what I did when Steem was at 1.60. Buy at the dips, trade at the peaks and convert some of the profits to Steem Power.

One of my goals in Steemit is to be a small dolphin. To be considered one you need to have at least 5,000 SP. I am barely at 1k SP and I have been on the platform for 6 months but it is okay, Steemit is a marathon and I am here for the long haul.

image.png

I started slow in the first two months that I was on the platform and more than half of my SP has come from the last 3 months. I average about 100 SP a month but would have a diminishing value of 10% because the longer we are in the platform, the harder it will be because there will be more people, whales powering down and being replaced by new whales and dolphins but hopefully some of the people that you supported and have a connection to is also still powering up.

Now math is not my strong suit so 90 SP a month multiplied by 60 months for 5 years would be at around 5,400 SP. I barely make dolphin but curation and author rewards are not the only way that I will power up as I would be converting a lot if not 100% of my SBD rewards so there is the possibility of reaching at least 7,000 SP.

If one of my cryptoassets moons then that bodes well as I will have the funds to invest more. I believe in Steem. Now not everything is peachy because I know that I will reach a wall sooner or later.

My wall can be in the effect of flags and disagreements with other people, life-impacting changes like getting married, having kids or doing other projects.

The way that I am posting and commenting will not be sustainable for me as I give 6 hours or more in Steemit so there will be periods of rests, as I try to balance life. We do not want to peak too soo and leave ourselves vulnerable.

So keep on adding more SP and influence and create networks and relationships.

Reaching 5 years I see myself as a small dolphin supporting different and advocacy that I care about. Occasionally still writing maybe around 3-4 times a week to highlight projects, give my two cents on Steemit issues and just a quick update on my life so that my followers would know that I am still alive.

Currently, I still do about 75% manual curation but most likely dial down to about 50% or so.

53.jpg

This would be my podium place finish. In 5 years the first batch of our adopted kids from Banawen Primary school would be in college and have good communication skills at this point. I would be turning the keys of @giftinkindph to one of them and will take over for posting, commenting and upvoting similar initiatives in the Steem blockchain.

It would be one of the many charities being run in Steemit and doing well in the gifteconomy of Steem. It would be living proof of how Steemit can change lives.

How about you? How do you see yourself in Steemit in 5 years?

Sort:  

I know more than a handful of people here, like you and me, (@daveccoy is just one other example of so many) who gauge their own success based on how much they can help others. I hope that when the time comes that you are a dolphin (because you will be ;), all of us will be there together...and just think of what we'll be able to accomplish!! :)

by the way, my VP is in resting mode, so I'm totally upvoting you in spirit...with 100% upvote too!

Hahaha I value your comment more Lynn!! I know that we all can be I want to imagine that most of the top 10 in the league still here and all small to medium sized dolphins and maybeveb a whale who would really spread out his/her vote.

That would be awesome for the platform!!!

That would be awesome!!! or should I say will :)

In 5 years, I see myself the same as you. I can see myself being a dolphin or might be a one of the whales already! :) I want to be like sir Terry who has been helping a lot of people and touching people's lives. :)

Anything is possible and can definitely be something like that to you :)

Terry is just awesome and the legacy he has will make sure that we have more people like him.

One of the best things that could happen on the Steem platform is that you will reach the dolphin status. Your power will be dripping down to the ones who deserve it!
The plan of approach you wrote down is an excellent one!
Also as a starter it could be beneficial to participate in contests. Not only because you can win some steem but also a lot of soulmates could be there!

Talking about contests: feel free to join my world cup contest! 😁

Hahaa I have seen your contest but I don't know anything about it hahahaha! I am always a sucker for contests that I can join lol.

Yeah indeed contests are a good way to see like-minded people that you can add as people you follow and find interesting.

oo yes good questions.
a have 2 answer one is my dream the next is more likely.

  1. my current gold is to post every Friday and more when a feel like it.
    make 1000SP and earn 0.100 sp every day. slow and steady wins the race.

2.The big idea a thinking to start a pod cast/streaming and make a education blog around psychiatry. this is my original idea its a lot of learning no my formatting and just time the real life is mabye a bigger challenge atm

a dont see my self making any real money here.

Indeed slow and steady is the pace and nothing wrong with that!!!

I heard about .300- .800 SP in terms of curation rewards. Sometimes it's lower than .300 but often averages to .500 so just keep adding Steem Power.

Yeah you can make dlive videos about psychiatry and could even do an Ask Me Anything format of show.

cool am going to remember it

Five years! Still a long way but I do hope that we are all here and maybe the Empire could have a big gathering. ^^

Will never know but I'd like to have that. Hopefully, I'd be a dolphin at that time and being able to help @giftkindph even more. :)

Always got your back Mave! Will help out as much as I can! Aja!

Thanks Dawnee and I know you will always be a supporter and who knows the Empire might have an island of their own by that time lol.

It would be awesome that we would all be dolphins at that point.

In five years, I see myself posting about kids and family life hahahaha

Hahaa yeah most of us would start posting family and kid photos and what adorable, funny or downright weird things people do lol.

This is such a greast post, @maverickinvictus! Slowly but surely I hope we all evolve to this:

It would be living proof of how Steemit can change lives.

In 5 years I don't know where I'll be, but I hope Steemit can teach us, in some small way, that our happiness is dependent on the happiness of those around us. Your way of approaching and using the platform is a beautiful manual to accomplish just that! Thanks so much, and I will try and formulate some concrete goals for myself as well, as soon as I figure out how this economy works exactly ;-)

Ask me anything about Steemit and how it operates as I love answering and helping people.

With cooperation and teamwork I believe that we will all grow faster and stronger.
I hope so too that people can learn that we can do so much good and help a lot of people.

I think reaching Dolphin is doable. It will depend greatly on what is going on here as far as active members go, and just how much more content is being brought to the blockchain. I keep hearing that those of us who are here now and hang on will be in the best shape later as far as success goes. Not sure why that is other than we'll be more established and people will be looking to us as we're looking to others currently.

Having the ability to pay more attention to your projects and charities will be a worthwhile outcome of growth on the blockchain, so I wish you ongoing success with those endeavors. So much to try to do and accomplish.

I also believe that achieving Dolphin status is highly doable. I had set getting a slider by end of the year but I was able to get it recently so I am hoping to reach near enough 1000 steem power by end of the year roughly 6 months to go ahahha and if I keep the pace of at least 90 a month then it can be achieved.

Yeah I see that Steem will keep increasing in value so we may see our accounts grow steadily in value as well . Who knows Steem may moon!

Thanks Glenn I really hope to be able to do that with my Charity. I haven't been able to write a proper introduceyourself for it and the account has been languishing.

great challenge running the Steemit marathon

It's not a marathon... It's just a metaphor I used for my journey.

Totally support the initiative, lets both be small dolphins soon! hopefully sooner than 5 years, imagine how much good you can do when steem is in the double or maybe triple digits by then

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02