[Blog] Finishing the final 10.

in #3dart6 years ago

3c2b3d98-3292-4456-a262-33ccb431ebba.jpeg


Finally, last fixes for the last 10 videos for a new client. What a journey! Ups, downs, new tech, workflow transitions, repetitions and... more than double the hours estimated to deliver. Lots learned.

Interesting Facts:
-It took a sum of nearly 380 hours to produce nearly 9 minutes of animation.
-Software started in Softimage/Mach Studio Pro2 workflow and transitioned to a Bforartists/Unreal Engine workflow
-Project took a duration total of 5 months
-4 people worked on the project, with 2 doing more than 75%
-More than 160 gigs of data were produced.
-A new multi-project management system was created by need halfway through to facilitate future work.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Would have been tough developing that multi-project management system while working on actual projects, but hopefully it will streamline future projects!

Switching workflows in the middle of a project is nightmare x_x what caused that to happen (if you're allowed to say of course).

As I keep whining, I hate repetition so much! XD

Yay for everything finally being finished and lots being learned!

goatsig

The reason I switched workflows was because I didn't have enough talent on hand using the former workflow (Softimage). I needed to hire a couple of people and that meant I had to migrate some of the work to the more common software (Blender).

It's a little slower than Softimage and was hard to migrate, but atleast I can now delegate work easily now, and ultimately multiply time.

The multi-project system.. well I kept on taking on new contracts. I was getting lost with all the work between projects. There was a time I had 6 projects in month month to work on, and I needed to keep my head clear. I spent about a week out of my time during easter to build a system that could help me manage tasks, track hours and project progress - also budgets. Future work will be easier - and I have some tuning to do to make it all work. Now to implement the improvements - the more automation the better. ;)

Whoo that sounds pretty full on, I think if I had decided to do games or vfx I'd definitely have to slot into someone else's pipeline somewhere, all that management stuff would break my meagre brain!

Yay for sorting it all out in the end and future stuff being easier now anyway :)

goatsig

wow this must be tiring, I mean 5 months of work on same project, this could lead to "project burnout". Some times when I work on a project longer than month I have a bad habbit of rushing things out just to finish it.
Then I always wonder "hey I was super excited about it! over little month ago and now not so much"

Ah yes.

I do feel a bit burnt out. 5 months for 10 videos + all the other projects.. I had a productive first half of this year.

I guess to keep to the grind to get the job done is... start hard, constant, measure yourself. I start soft, excited by the creativity, I don't focus on productivity early. When the deadlines approach I have a tendency to keep everything last minute and work ridiculous hours and that's when I feel burnt out - and quality drops and mistakes happen and more work gets generated. It's easily avoidable by measuring my total hours for a project and start the yield early in the month long before the deadlines. Then when deadliens come, I'm just working a nomral rate of 6-8 hours a day and bounce around projects and it's relaxed and I deliver with time to spare.

Putting it to practice is easier said than done - but a key helper is just measuring your time. Guaging a total time for a project and understanding how long it will take task per task to whole projects.. is great.

Congratulations @trinumedia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06