Gratitude Day 6: I'm Thankful For Skipping My Classes


Image source

I did not like studying in high school. As such, I took every opportunity I could to get out of being in class. Of course, I would be suspended or punished for doing so. As such, I searched and found a loophole that would help me skip classes legally.

That loophole came in the form of extracurricular activities. I found out that all I had to do was to participate and get selected to represent my school in as many extracurricular activities as possible. Once I am selected to represent the school, I would have to leave for training during class hours.

Since I was in a rather academic driven school, I was selected to represent the school in most extra-curricular activities I participated in.

However...


Image source

A lot of my teachers were not too happy of what I was doing. They attributed my less than stellar grades to me representing the school in far too many extracurricular activities. Some of them even advised that I spend more time focusing on my studies instead of 'playing'.

There were even some teachers who recommended that I be dropped from some of the teams. At times, I do wonder if my teachers believed that academics was more important than all the extracurricular activities I was participating in. If I was being cynical, I would say that my bad grades was affecting the class average and it was getting my teachers into trouble.

That being said, I was not sure if it was my rebellious nature or something else, I decided to ignore my teachers. In fact I am thankful that I ignored my teachers and continued skipping those classes... Legally, of course.

The Results...


Image source

Depending on the education system that you have been in, placing an emphasis on extracurricular activities instead of one's academic studies may seem normal. However, the education system of my country places a higher emphasis on academics. In general, we are encouraged more to study, get good grades and get into a good university. Participating in too many extracurricular activities is considered a waste of time.

The extracurricular activities that I was apart of were debate, public speaking, tennis, swimming and martial arts. All the sports related extracurricular activities taught me about perseverance and resolve. While I was pretty good at swimming, I was not when it came to martial arts and tennis. As such, I learnt to persist and play on even knowing full well that I do not stand a chance.

When it came to debating and public speaking, I am thankful that I have picked up some really valuable skills that were useful even after high school. Debates taught me how to think critically in a way that school never did. Both public speaking and debating also taught me how to conquer my fear when it came to speaking in public.


Image source

Conclusion

It is not my intention to encourage people to skip class. However, I think we should be wise in choosing when to or not to follow a particular norm in the system. For my case, I am happy that I chose to go against the norm. If I were to stick with just academics and did not take the opportunity to learn other skills, I would have missed out in a lot of different skills.

So if you are aspiring to skip class, do it for reasons that are of course beneficial to your future. That being said, I am thankful for my class skipping days and am happy that something good came out of it.

Nominations:

For this challenge, I will nominate @redheadpei, @hooiyewlim and @joannewong.

What are the rules of this challenge?

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
    (Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

Thank you @lymepoet for nominating me! You can find the original challenge post here:
"7 Day Positivity Challenge" by @conradt


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Excellent strategy! Always good to get a bit of the ol' extracurricular!

Get a $13.00 Upvote and Your Post Resteemed to My 2 Accounts @a-0-0 and @a-a-a with 72,500+ Followers. Send 3 SBD with Your post URL in MEMO to @a-0-0

hehehehehe this was a great post @alvinauh!!!! even though your reasons were tricky (hahhaha) you ended up doing something that most students do - you became a well-rounded student! :)

good for you!!!! and yep - you might have been getting your teachers in trouble for sure! LOL

I think you and I had a lot in common in School I to was active in many extra curricular activities to spend less time in class LOL

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

That being said, I was not sure if it was my rebellious nature or something else, I decided to ignore my teachers. In fact I am thankful that I ignored my teachers

Oh, I rebelled against so many teachers. lol! I love this post. Following your heart and valuing experience over bending to authority is so important. Sounds like you did better things with your time than I did when skipping class, but I'm still glad I did it. I learned to trust myself, to take risks and make my own decisions. To not believe everything I was sold, and to stick up for my beliefs. Yep, I was trouble. ;)

Debemos ser inteligentes al saber que norma podemos omitir en clases. Éxitos.

Hahaha! I did that too! Every excuse to go for training or competitions was just such a relief for me to get out of class. I seldom did my homework and teachers hate that! Hahaha, but exam results still ok so jalan la. I am glad that I too participated in a lot of sports and activities!

Haha @alvinauh, this was a very good kind of tongue in cheek post! I used to play sick at times and go rest in the sick bay...fortunately not that often...only for one or two tests that I'd not studied for...used to feign sinus...guess what I have a problem with today? Yep sinus, serves me right:):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76