Day 6: I Am Grateful For Belief

Touchy Subject Territory, No?

I guess. We all believe in something, though. We all have some kind of belief system that governs our daily actions. Something so universal is only controversial when someone tries to impose their beliefs on others. Discussing beliefs is perfectly fine, though, as long as everyone involved are willing participants.

But rather than dwell on any particular set of beliefs, I'd rather just keep it narrow to the subject of belief itself. My gratitude is for having something or someone to believe in beyond myself. I find that this ability to believe helps me get through the hard times and appreciate more the good times.

adventure-1807524_1280.jpg
Image source—Pixabay

If I couldn't believe in anyone or anything beyond myself and my own abilities, I don't know if I would be as happy as I am. I have confidence in the abilities I do have, and I feel like I can learn to do many things, but is that sufficient? What if no matter what I did, things weren't working out? If I didn't believe that somehow, someway, eventually things would get better, how would I be?

I don't know, but I think I would feel very much alone, like the only one I could believe in or rely on would be myself. That the only one I could trust would be me. Fro me, that would be a very lonely existence.

Fortunately, most of us believe in something, some we're very much aware of, and then some things we don't really know until they're called into question or tested somehow. We might say we believe only in our own power, mind or strength, but if we have family, friends, work mates—anyone else but ourselves, we generally rely upon them for something. We usually don't do everything completely on our own.

Belief isn't just limited to what we can perceive with out senses, though. It goes beyond the physical. And our beliefs don't have to be rooted in anything tangible or verifiable. They are beliefs, after all. Some of them seem more logical or practical than others, but belief isn't meant to be measurable or quantifiable. Sure, we do expect things to happen, and if they don't we might question what we believe, but then what good is a belief if it doesn't give us something to hold onto or help us get through the day? If our beliefs aren't delivering want we need, then maybe it's time to discover new ones.

I believe that the sun will come up again tomorrow, even if it happens beyond the obscuring clouds. I have no way of knowing that for sure, beyond nearly 52 years of experience having it rise every day, and a belief that it would take something catastrophic for it to cease. Something so mammoth that there would be nothing I could personally do to change it, and more to the point, in all likelihood, I wouldn't be around anymore anyway.

When it comes right down to it, I'd rather be able to believe in something, no matter how fantastical or fleeting, rather than believe in nothing at all. So, I am grateful for belief, in whatever form or shape it may take, because for me, the lack of believing is bleak misery. I don't wish that on anyone.


About This Post

This post is part of the Seven Day Gratitude Challenge started by @conradt. I was invited to participate by no less than two individuals, @practicalthought (who got to me first) and @mariannewest (who figured she'd pile on, too).

As all challenges do, this one has rules:

Write a post about something that you are grateful for—this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, your being kind to someone else, being thankful for your friends and family, etc.

Do this for seven days in a row if you get nominated.

Mention three people who should do this on each day.

Tag the post with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

Include a picture of something positive.

  • Instead of picking anyone, since I don't know who's been asked, who wants to, or who has the time, let's just say if you want to do this, go for it. You're officially invited, by me, to do so. :)
Sort:  

Who'd of thought to do a post on gratitude for belief? Looks like you are the only one! And a thought provoking one at that.

Perhaps the best belief, besides in oneself, is to believe in the future. That one can be part of a paradigm shift, that one can make a difference. Perhaps it is that which gives me hope for Steemit and for those of us who believe in a New Era of peace and Cooperative Abundance. Blessings.

Belief first that a future will come, and better, that the future will be brighter or improved upon the present, is an excellent belief. If life was always going to be the same or essentially simply worsen, what would be the point in hanging around? If we believe our future isn't worth it, then maybe the future of our family is worth holding onto.

I hadn't seen one myself (doesn't mean someone didn't beat me to it about belief) so I figured I try it. I've seen a couple of posts about those who believe in anything outside of what their senses can perceive as being akin to foolish or delusional, so I suppose that served to get me thinking about it. :)

I plan on having an interview with Hermes Trismegistus about beliefs. Should be very interesting. He also has comments about the loss and contents of the Library of Alexandria, though he was not there.

I am glad you have a belief. I know many who also have belief and they are some of the finest people I have ever met. I appreciate the raw way you share what you imagine the consequences would be if you did not have belief (faith). There are many people I have known in my real life that would never share so deeply, and never have.

Thank you.

Well, I appreciate the kind words as always. I feel to some extent though, that people need to read between the lines, because I didn't really get as in depth as I was thinking I might. I wanted to keep it to just belief in general, but was thinking there might be more to be said. It just didn't turn out that way. Maybe next time. :)

Often the most powerful message is the one said with few words.

I don't know, but I think I would feel very much alone, like the only one I could believe in or rely on would be myself. That the only one I could trust would be me. Fro me, that would be a very lonely existence.

Perhaps because this describes me, I found more power in it than you thought it contained. I remember having a discussion with my dad some years back on his faith. His reasoning could have been summed up with those three sentences almost entirely.

I've heard it is often not so much what is said, but what is triggered by what is said. Memories, emotions, reflections—so I guess I should have factored that in before writing my last comment. While I have a message to give, it's not the only message, and perhaps not even the most powerful message, that people will receive, because you all have your own experiences, thoughts and desires to factor in. Which means you fill in the gaps. :)

Isn't funny that we have to tip toe so much around religious beliefs, but I appreciate you taking the general sense of the word, "belief". The whole idea of faith, whether faith in a God, a higher being, nature etc, is such a comforting thing; the fact that you can pass off your worries to someone or something else is definitely something to feel positive about.

So glad to have you doing this challenge. I'm coming up with day 4 right now...I will complete the 7 days, but it may take me a month to do it haha

It's been a couple of weeks for me already, but I just need to do one tomorrow and I'm finished. :)

I agree. However people choose to describe the process of having emotional and mental burdens lifted, it is very much a comfort. I know I have the responsibility to do the best I can, but there are always times where I'm out of my league. I've done my best, and there's a gap left.

I don't know how it works, it just does. The gap gets filled, and I can't really do much more than be grateful, and try my best again and again. :)

I'm not a religious person but I respect others beliefs and their ability to have them. We all have faith in something.

Yes, we do, and it feels good to have faith in something, doesn't it? While I belong to a specific church and try to adhere to its teachings, I don't know if I consider myself to be religious either. People would probably think of me in that way, just by virtue of the fact I just said what I said. :) But for me religious doesn't describe what I'm trying to do. Anyway, probably semantics. :)

yeah you thought everyone was going to see that title and think "oh brother, now what?"
you faked us out man. I wanted to read something radical! lol
yes sir, without faith in something to believe in
we have no hope. Without hope we go downhill fast.
thank you @glenalbrethsen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73