Growing Up As A 'Third Culture Kid'~Day 2 Gratitude And Positivity

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

As I venture into day 2 of the #7daypositivitychallenge I have been thinking about a number of things that have brought happiness and positive vibrations into my world.


Image Credit

One of the most significant and profound experiences I had was spending my teen years growing up in three different countries in Asia. It was an affair that shaped who I am today. Which is why this challenge wouldn't be complete without acknowledging that part of my life and journey into adulthood.

I am what is considered to be an Adult Third Culture Kid, someone who grew up outside their parent's culture, exposed to a variety of cultures whilst living in a home that is based around the culture of the native country. (Sounds a bit of a mouthful eh?). It had a huge impact on who I am, how I see the world and how I treat people. Which is why I am truly grateful to my dad for bringing this world into my life.

Japan

At the age of 11 our family repatriated to Tokyo. One of the first things that struck me was just how different the landscape looked in comparison to suburban London. Skyscrapers, apartment buildings and the old traditional style Japanese house with the screened doors and a Zen garden squeezed in between these giants. Lights and billboards, bustle everyone moving for what seemed like 24 hours a day. It was a little overwhelming to say the least. One of the first things I remember was that the people were really friendly. They smiled at passers by, and despite the crazy bustle of a tech savvy city, the ambiance was happy and cheerful. (Unlike London where the majority of strangers appear to be grumpsters.) I went to an all girls International School. We were taught the US curriculum as standard, with an international flavor.(Which is why you'll find that I write in a hybrid of UK/US English). As I've mentioned in a previous post the school was very forward thinking in terms of environmental protection, pollution reduction and a concern for global humanity. Through the school we were able to visit different parts of Japan, which submersed us into the culture even more.

Eigth Grade Trip To Yagiyama( That's me bottom right with the purple hiking boots haha.)

All at once I was exposed to a multitude of cultures, customs and people from different walks of life.
At first I was overwhelmed by this change but over the 3 years I lived there my eyes had been opened to a world that my other friends in the UK probably couldn't even perceive. I learned to speak a little of the language, the history, customs and mannerisms unique to Japan. The one that stood out to me the most has to be the way in which Japanese people are so polite. They have this lovely way of being present in all they do. I feel like I'm generalizing here and I really hope that if you're reading this and from Japan that you won't take offence to what I have written. More than anything I really loved being there. I felt safe and by the time my dad said we were leaving to another country I had settled.

It's one thing to learn about another culture from a book or documentary, but to truly experience it, to be part of it; that is where the magic lies. It makes us open our eyes with a much deeper understanding of that little bit of uniqueness among the connected in our human experience.

Hong Kong

We moved here in 1993 and I left in 1994. It was a time when HK was still a British Territory so the influence was a mix of Chinese and British. There was also a great focus on the countdown to the 1997 independence. We moved to a small populated area on Lantau Island named Discovery Bay. I think this is where the airport is now situated.

Image Credit Discovery Bay Hong Kong

I have to admit that my experience there was not the greatest, but I am still thankful for the lessons learned at that point in my life. I started to become really confused as to who I was by this point. I had spent the last 3 years of my life being 'Americanized' and then to move to a small community that had a heavy British Expat influence, I was once again catapulted into a strange world of little belonging. It was here that I smoked my first cigarette, tried my first sip of alcohol and smoked some weed. I was offered all manner of drugs but somehow had the strength to turn them down. Maybe it was because I had just read the book Christiana F, perhaps because I had a fear of dying from experimenting even once. Either way I'm glad. I saw a friend of mine rapidly deteriorate from a heroine addiction. He was a rich boy who's parents had little time for. He attended boarding school and each time he came back for holidays he looked more gaunt. This scared the hell out of me. I wanted to help him as he had helped me through a difficult situation involving one of his friends. Unfortunately his addiction took hold of him to the point that the last time we spoke, he didn't even know who I was.
I went to school by ferry and occasionally ventured out into the hectic bustle that Hong Kong offered at that time. Markets offering all manner of goods from local delicacies to clothing and furnishings. I had my fare share of problems, teenage issues but the thing that has always haunted me was the poverty on the main Island and Kowloon.
People crammed into tiny apartments, often dilapidated. The stench of poor hygiene practices lingered down every street. Children would play among the trash bags that were piled up and split open, scraps of food and all sorts smearing the ground beneath them. Yet they were happy and here was I this depressed teenager with my first world problems. That really changed my perspective on things.
This heartbreaking situation opened my eyes to a world that I had only ever seen in news stories. I wanted to help the people but didn't have a clue where to start. Perhaps if I had stayed there longer I may have been able to do something. What I am grateful for is that my eyes were opened to this. My bubble of ignorance from living in a first world lifestyle was popped. It made me see the world in a different light and made me want to be part of the solution.

Singapore

Singapore is well known for being Asia's cultural gem. It's a multinational hub that has grown to be rather metropolitan. From its humble beginnings as a trade stop on the East India Company's shipping route. It has a multinational culture that has evolved over time from its beginnings as a British colony. Singapore offers everything from good food to good vibes.

Image Credit Changi Beach, Singapore where I spent time hanging out with friends and jamming on the guitar

By this point I felt like a seasoned traveler. I was nearly 16 when I arrived. Singaporean culture is an eclectic mix of Chinese, Malaysian, Indonesian as well as International influences. What I admired about this was that despite the diversity of cultures there was little racial division. The atmosphere in Singapore is one of friendliness. You can walk down the street and you will be greeted with smiles. It's easy to strike a conversation and for the most part, people are happy. I discovered chewing gum was banned, no smoking everywhere and serious punishment for crimes. Yet despite all that I had an amazing time there.
I was able to learn about different religions and perhaps if I hadn't lived there I may well believe the propaganda and negative attitude toward Islamic culture that has been created by the Western world. I was taught how to cook some of the famous dishes like Chicken Rice and Nasi Lemak.
I learned about government corruption and the greedy world of Investment Banking. I lived there during the whole Nick Leeson and Barings Bank incident. My dad was also an investment banker and I started questioning him as to why people would want to steal other's hard earned money and manipulate the markets for their own benefit. My dad rarely spoke about the job he did and I feel bad for embarrassing him in front of his colleagues on occasion.
I gained a strong affection for Australian and New Zealand culture thanks to the friends I made at school. My first serious boyfriend was from New Zealand and one of my closest friend was from Australia. Even the college I went to ran a degree that was accredited by Queensland University Of Technology in Brisbane.
I also was lucky enough to have my first experience living without my parents while I finished college there.
All in all Singapore was an amazing experience and I feel so lucky to have spent the last 3 years of my teens growing up in that world.

So there it is. My ode of gratidude and positivity to my teenage experience, growing up with an international flavor. I am truly blessed to have experienced it all. The good and the bad. I wouldn't be the person I am today without it. I really wish I had more pictures of these travels, but I grew up in a time where smartphones and digital photography were a thing of Sci-Fi movies. The memories are all there in my head though and that's something to be treasured for sure.

***

I was tagged by @riverflows to:
Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

Mention three people who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)

Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

I would like to nominate @thekittygirl, @insideoutlet and @artemislives to carry on the positivity challenge. Please don't feel obliged though as I completely understand that our circumstances are all different.

~ONE LOVE~

HolisticMoM.jpg

ecotrain1.png
I'm proud to be a member of the @ecotrain community. Come check out the amazing content from other #ecotrain passengers. A group of diverse human beings, sharing a collective vision to help make this world a better place
ecotrain2.png

I am also proud member of :



@steemitbloggers


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Nice learning a little more about your Asian time. As a true 3rd culture kid-adult (living in a culture different from both the one I was born into and the one I grew up in) this stuff fascinates me. I am rapidly asking my self "why limit it to 3?" :) Grateful for this global melting pot here in Asia and how it enriches me.

Thank you! Yes isn't it fascinating and a blessing to understand other cultures. Exactly, the more cultural diversity we are exposed to, the better understanding we gain. 💖

Thank-you for sharing the richness of your unique childhood experiences :)

Fascinating! I spent 16.5 years in the UK, coming from (and returning to) the US. There is nothing to beat the international experience! (And yes, I sometimes mix my US and UK English too!)

Totally agree with you and I'm glad I'm not the only one. Thanks for stopping by!

It must be such a blessing to have the opportunity to live in all those Asian countries.

I have never visited Asia but I surely hope to do it one day.

Cheers!

Yes it certainly was. Thank you for your kind comment 😊 I hope you get to see Asia too! If you do you must write about your experience here on Steemit!

I do miss the no tech low tech days but gee i wish i had the photos. What a great insight into your life... what a worldly woman you are. I havent been to Japan or hk. Teach quite a few kids from Honkers and Malaysia.

Sorry I missed this when you first posted. A great thing to be grateful for . I didnt even leave Oz til 28.. though i made up for it in the years to come.

It's strange to think that we ever lived without all the tech we have now. Thank you and if you get the chance it's definitely worth visiting both countries. I'd love to go back to Japan one day. 🤗🤗

Wow you've had more life experience in that short time than most people have had in a lifetime. Just amazing though. My adventure of that sort around the same age. I went from living in Southern California to a small town in the middle of nowhere Illinois. Changing environments like that, you do learn appreciation for certain things :) .

Aww thank you @tryskele, I hadn't thought of it like that. Sounds like you had some amazing adventures too! I would love to read about them. Especially your transition from West coast to east! 🤗

I have to say it was a reality check. Since then I moved back to California for a few years, moved to St. Louis and now to Grand Junction, CO. I miss home (California) even though I no longer have any family there, but I'm a beach kid at heart. It sounds crazy, I didn't realize how truly different California was/is to the rest of the country. I grew up knowing about racism, but didn't experience it until I moved to STL. Maybe I'll write about it someday.

You are absolutely right. From writing with you, I can sense all the Asian culture you have soaked up during your teenage years. I love the Japanese culture as well! They are just so polite and lovely. And the way their food looks is just insane. We are who we are today because of all the experiences we have and people we meet along the way. You are so fortunate to have the opportunity to experience all that. It definitely shapes who you are today.

You gave me an inspiration. Maybe I should talk about the culture shock I experienced when I first moved to the U.S. :)

Aww thank you @thelaundrylady! It really was an amazing experience.
I'd definitely love to read about how you felt when you first experienced western culture 💖💖💖 big love to you.

So marvelous you had this opportunity. I always tell young people to go travel and see the world. It changes and opens and blossoms us to see other cultures. What a truly incredible experience.

Thank you and yes same here. If I could give one piece of advice to any child is to travel and experience the beauty of this planet xx 💖

I so totally agree!!
Travel is so wonderful! Im craving it badly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16