Ulog #5 - 7 Day Positivity Challenge - DAY 5 - Lemonade Scones Mess & Friends

7 Day Positivity Challenge - Day 5

Lemonade Scones Mess & Friends


4.1.jpg

I forgot to flour my hands...

We have had a few playdates of late so I thought I would give some baking a try. I was going to aim to be one of those mum's that make's everything from scratch for our son but then I realised that I had to put more sugar in and it cost more than if I was to buy the no-name plain biscuits from the shops, not to mention the time, the mess and the dishes.

That aside, I had been craving scones for weeks, since one of the playdates got moved from my house to theirs and I had planned on cooking them, so when friends said they were dropping by for a coffee, scones were in the oven after a quick stop at the shops for some Lemonade. In all honesty, I can't remember the last time I made scones, maybe back in high school but I was committed to giving them a go.

4.7.jpg

4 Simple Ingredients

  • 300g (2 cups) self-raising flour
  • 55g (1/4 cup) Caster Sugar
  • 125ml (1/2 cup) Cream
  • 125ml (1/2 cup) Lemonade

And Some Other Stuff

  • Round cutter of some size
  • Salt added to the dry ingredients
  • Milk to coat the scone before baking
  • Jam & cream to top the scone

As I didn't think of recording such an iconic event me baking until halfway through this cooking adventure, you missed me measuring and mixing 1st the dry ingredients and then the wet ingredients into a bowl. Do powder your hands and the tabletop with the flour before attempting to knead the scone dough as it can be quite sticky, especially when you are like me and don't particularly follow the quantities to the letter.

I mean there was like one extra teaspoon of cream, who is going to stick that back in the fridge. Come to think of it @shi-hulud probably would... He is a recipe follower.

4.3.gif

Knead the dough until all combines and flatten out and use the cutter to cut out scones, I like mini ones so that is why I used the small cutter. As seen in the ingredients photo.

4.6.png

Place them on a lightly greased baking tray and brush the tops with milk. Cook in a pre-heated oven until browned and serve with your choice of toppings, my got to would be jam and cream.

4.5.png

All in all, not a failure however not as "great" as I had hoped either, I think I over kneaded them making them not as light and fluffy as they should be, however, Thana (our son) and the guests loved them and I ate the rest. I will try again for the next guest as...

Practice makes perfect or in this case delicious!

Playdates

Two of our recent playdates, both bubs are much younger than him but they got on well as you can see by the hand holding and the pats on the back, they were so cute. The left date was with a fellow ostomate and friend, her son is six months old and so cute.

4.8.png

The other date was with one of my bridesmaids, she was over from Victoria to see family and this was the original date that scones were going to be whipped out at but the car fell through so I went to see them, her daughter is nine months old and the same height as Thana, they played for over an hour, the door was by far the fav place to hang out although the wine fridge lights did also get some attention.

Watching him interact with other children is a bit scary sometimes as you never know how they will act, they really are like unpredictable drunk mini adults but he was such a good little man both these dates and I look forward to catching up with them again soon. Our Victorian friends will be back in Jan 2019 so by then my scones will be perfected and ready for bulk batching.

On that note, can you freeze scones for later and if so do they taste as good defrosted?

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed today's adventures. See you next time!

dots divider.png

The challenge...

Three times a charm

So I had been nominated by three individuals, @viking-ventures, @happycrazycon & @holisticmom, then encouraged by @danielsaori to join so here I am. See below for what the challenge entails.

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today. This could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit

Just keep it positive


  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated Note that I will not be doing this continuously but I will get 7 days out.

  • Mention three people who should do this on each day. Feel free to complete this challenge or not, it is up to you. It has taken me over a month to get day one out and it may take me another month to get the seven days out.

Given this has been out for a few months some of the people I mention may have already been nominated by another, so feel free to do it a second time or abstain from this round. I nominate @paintingangels, @redheadpei and @saysme

  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.
    Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

  • Include a picture of something positive Related to your story if possible.

Calling any #ulogger, I have had a few people ask me more about @suspassinggoogle's #ulogs and what they exactly are, while I have a brief understanding, maybe you can comment with some more information for any of my followers to get on board to be "True Celebrities" and part of the uloggers phenomenon.

May also help me get my understanding clearer. Like should we be using https://ulogs.org/?


dots divider.png

Want some inspiration or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

#16 What is it? First to guess right wins!
Ulog #4 - 7 Day Positivity Challenge - Day 4 - Today Today, Empire Records and My Window
ULOG #3 - 7 Day Positivity Challenge - Day 3 - New Boots

My hubby @shai-hulud is also a great steemian worth a follow, check out some of his below:

Photography with a toddler.
It's not as easy as blokes think.

Steemit Week 1: Who Are You
Don't get hooked by a Phishing scam. Actual steps you can take to protect yourself.
Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House
Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

Shai & I.jpg

What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts:

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine
Our Adoption Adventure Written by @shai-hulud, my amazeballs hubby

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.

Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!

If you like any posts above and they are past seven days please consider upvoting a more recent post as these while very useful have already paid out.

Where else can you find me?

While most of my time is spent on Steemit, I do exist outside of it, happy to connect if you do too!

Health Blog - InsideOut Ostomy Life
Facebook - InsideOut Ostomy Life
Instagram - InsideOut Ostomy
Twitter - InsideOut Ostomy


Asapers.gif

One last thing! I am a founder of the @asapers and we have a profit-sharing curation post called Read me A.S.A.P. We curate from our followers so make sure you follow the @asapers if you want to be in with a chance to be curated next.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Steemit Bloggers

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, @steemitbloggers by @zord189
All images my own or directly sourced at the image with the exception of my #whatisit contest as that would give it away.
Rerence Used 14 Surprising Facts About Empire Records

Sort:  

I enjoyed so much!! Hi beautiful 💜💙 Thana is such a sweet baby boy!!!!! It's awesome seeing you fluff into mommyhood!! ❤ i dearly want to try your scones! They look awesome! You nailed it!! Your first try!!! Amazing blogging momma!! WOW! Blessings, Love, Respect!! 🌕🌅👍

Thanks hun, they were pretty tasty. He is super cute too I have to agree with you there, we are very lucky. We just went to the zoo for the first time and got a pass for the year so we will be back there soon. He loved the mini monkeys and the tree kangaroos.

Love how you added that little gif too haha. I'mma bookmark this page just in case I crave some lemonade scones next time :P

Im loving gifs atm, just figured out how I can make them on my phone when I play any of my videos so its a fun new toy. Haha.

So scones are like "mini-biscuits", right?

Looks yummy...

Namaste, JaiChai

Haha, not really. More like mini cakes but a little denser.

Kids playing together is fine. All you really have to watch for is fascination with shiny things (eyes) and frustration (but I want that toy!) which can lead to bonking someone over the head with said toy. And even so they're generally not nearly strong enough to do any major damage ;D

Glad you had a good couple of playdates, it's so adorable when they're that little :D

The toy bonking is a real concern, one only the dog has had to endure to date. Hes just learned how to ride a push on toy and now decided that the dog is rideable as well... shes not very impressed. Lol.

Glad you enjoyed your baking @insideoutlet. It's been on my mind for years but I haven't gotten around to it yet! 😂

How old is Thana?

Haha, i love the idea of it, the doing is never as fun well the clean up I should say lol.

Thana is coming up on 17months old.

My baking has a tendency to be lenient on exact measures, especially when there is only a little of something left and you just think I can't put that tiny amount back in the cupboard. There must be something in exact measures though because I have a tendency to end up with something that is nothing like what is was supposed to be!

Your scones look good though, and if everyone at them must have tasted good as well!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Haha, I'm sure there is something to say for exact measures, I'd never make a good Masterchef as I've never beed good at following the recipe, I blame mum, hercooking style as a drop of this a dash of that and a slash if required for taste. My husband hates it when I try to teach him. His like whats a dash.... most the time I just take over. Haha.

Scones! I had forgotten about those! So easy and quick to whip up, definitely something that I should be making. Although, I guess it isn't really a summer thing, I'm not standing in a kitchen with the oven on!

No not a huge summer thing as noone wants the oven on to heat up the house. Great to warm the tummy in winter though. And yes so simple. Yhe kids would love it.

Cooking from scratch is definitely the healthier option, since you don't usually add preservatives and can pick the primary ingredients to use.
Yes, it's true, the results are not always as hoped, expecially when out of practice, but as you said yourself, you learn by experience, all is needed is dedication and time....
I'm sure they were delicious !!!

They werent bad for a first try. Next time I might add saltanas as my son loves them. I cant wait until his interested enough to help and enjoy baking too.

Great plan !!! :-)

Great looking scones! I am not much of a baker and it looks like the construction would take up more room than I have so I don't think that I will be trying these anytime soon. but I've learned never to say never, so who knows!

Sweet photos of Thana!

Yeah our kitchen us quite small but it was doable. I once made my own two tiered engagement cake including model chocolate flowers. Took me over a week to build. Was pretty cool though. Im looking forward to making our sonscake next year.

You are so creative! I always enjoy reading your posts!

Scone...looks like cookies topped with creme and jam....looks great must be tastier....will try to make some day👌👍

Haha, it has more of a dense cake texture than a cookie but either way would be tasty lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17