Beauty - 7DayPositivityChallenge Day 5

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20151124_095225.jpg

They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Meaning the one "seeing" is the one recognising what is seen as being beautiful. We have our own ideas, and ideals of beauty. Be it in how our home is arranged, how we dress, how we write, how we cook, and in the things we collect. Sometimes we extend this ideal to personalities, but more often than not, we see beauty at face value.

We are hardwired for positive reinforcement in all things beautiful. Yet, it seems we are quite capable of becoming blind towards the beauty that exists on the world, as the sad thing is, although we gravitate towards beauty, our concept of beauty can be so easily conditioned. How magazines make only models and celebreties as the standard for beauty. Or how luxurious homes, jewelry and cars are displayed as a standard for beauty.

IMG_20150717_171630.jpg

I never quite bought into advertisements, not for the most part. My ideals of beauty was always centered around nature. A street lined with trees was enough to make me smile for the day.

IMG_20151219_161855.jpg

So today I decided to highlight the beauty that surrounds me every single day. I sometimes forget to fully appreciate it, but for the most part I do take a few seconds to notice it everyday. Here's a few small sections of our garden that puts a smile on my face everyday.

IMG_20150812_120547.jpg

This purple water Lilly. Not only does it look beautiful, it smells heavenly. My wish everytime I take a whiff is that someone would make a perfume that smells like this!

IMG_20180615_185924.jpg

There quite a few flowers that bloom everyday, and this particular part of the garden is like a party house. Always something going on here.

IMG_20180615_190019.jpg

It's mangoe season, and I see the beauties getting ready to offer up sweet juicy goodness.

IMG_20180615_190152.jpg

We no longer need to buy peppercorns from the store. We just wait for them to ripen, dry it, and crush it before spicing up a dish.

IMG_20150717_171234.jpg

But, above all this, I have my mother to thank, as this garden is the result of her loving work over the last 13 years. In fact growing up, we always had a mini rainforest around us. My mother's love for plants is just....well her greatest passion and joy. Plus she has green thumbs. Something my brother inherited.

Me? I have learnt to just enjoy the beauty as I step out to the garden everyday. On occasion, I do help with the pruning, weeding and cleaning up. If I do need to get in and do some serious planting, it is always under the expert guidance of the great garden keeper.

IMG_20170803_195740.jpg

The beauty of a culture of living together as an extended family (till we decide to move away for a good reason, like work, or space for a growing family) is that we can enjoy so much more. With members of the family around to take care of some chores, it is less of a burden. As the saying goes, many hands make for light work. So there's more time to enjoy life. In our case, it is this beautiful garden. Despite our incessant complaints or making fun of how her garden has now overflowed onto government property, the truth is everybody in the neighbourhood loves the garden. It gives both humans and animals a refuge for shade and shelter on a hot day - around here that's everyday.

Much to our irritation, we find remnants of their lunch bags and boxes around the plants. Sometimes it becomes a little too accessible to people when, we find our leaves or fruits missing. We certainly don't mind sharing, just would appreciate it if they gave us the joy of giving, rather than taking matters into their own extra long hands.

IMG_20180526_135129.jpg

Nevertheless, I always love getting in and out my car everyday, as it is in the midst of a beautiful ecosystem of plants, trees, flowers, fruits, birds, bees, butterflies, dragonflies and squirrels. Always a fun start and end of a drive!


All pics are mine, taken on my smartphone.


The Rules:

The 'rules' are fairly simple, for this Steemit challenge, which I do hope transcends into our everyday life - in finding more positivity in the world.

  1. Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  2. Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
    From @kchitrah: Or do your best with 7 such posts spaced close together - I know that's what I'll be doing
  3. Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  4. Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
    (Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)
  5. Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

Today, I'm tagging: @sams-world, @brighttux, @annekins

Though the choice always remains in the hands of those nominated to take this up, I hope that this might be an inspiration to find more beauty, love and opportunity to express gratitude everyday. As it is a nice way to move through a week, or more (should we take a couple days in between the posts).

Check out this challenge by @conradt here

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Phew... you've got me worried there for a second.... luckily you didn't tag me :p

but since i was tagged previously by happycrazycon ... and i only managed to write 1 post here: https://steemit.com/7daypositivitychallenge/@brighttux/7daypositivitychallenge-day-1-exploration

maybe..... maybe .... i'll write another one.. lol

Lol! Ah well, let's let the brightuxx attempt . XD

So beautiful :) (pun intended:)

Yet, it seems we are quite capable of becoming blind towards the beauty that exists on the world

So true! I used to live in Vancouver, Canada, one of the most beautiful places on earth; the ocean, the Rockies, green everything from all the rain...simply beautiful and it was something I never tired of seeing, even after being there for years. But many do, and it's something I do not understand.

Your garden here is beautiful and it's pretty obvious that it is a something your mom loves to have created and tended for so many years!

I've been really enjoying your Positivity Challenge posts; I'm just trying to get Day 5 written. My 7 days are taking a month to write I think :)

Hello beautiful! ;)

Oh, Canada must have so so many pretty cities . Have it seen in pics, but looks amazing!

Yeah, Mom loves her garden and her plants. We've learnt to appreciate nature through her eyes.

Hahaha, but you did have a disclaimer in there, so I think you're fine. Besides, you've got quite a bit on your plate....and you live and breathe this everyday, even if it doesn't seem that way sometimes. Trust me, it's there ,.... In your bones. xx

Hello beautiful! ;)

Oh, Canada must have so so many pretty cities . Have it seen in pics, but looks amazing!

Yeah, Mom loves her garden and her plants. We've learnt to appreciate nature through her eyes.

Hahaha, but you did have a disclaimer in there, so I think you're fine. Besides, you've got quite a bit on your plate....and you live and breathe this everyday, even if it doesn't seem that way sometimes. Trust me, it's there ,.... In your bones. xx

Hello beautiful to you :)

There are so many very beautiful cities in Canada, they're just spread out so far apart :) It takes over a week of heavy driving to make it from one coast to the other!

.and you live and breathe this everyday, even if it doesn't seem that way sometimes. Trust me, it's there ,.... In your bones. xx

Thank you for that...so sweet!

It takes over a week of heavy driving to make it from one coast to the other

Oh man, I can't even get this sentence out without giggling. So, I read the above sentence like this:

"It takes over a week of heavy drinking to make it from one coast to the other!

Hahahaha, aaaah .... hahahaha. I don't even know what to say about the state of my mind right now.

It took me a while to even realise you wrote driving. I was scrolling up and down to figure out if it was a joke, or a phrase of some sort from Canada. Hahaha, then noticed the difference in spelling! LOL

As you can tell, I do a good job entertaining myself!

Sigh

hahaha @kchitrah, that's so funny!!! It could be read both ways actually 😎

Heeeheeehee! Oh I bet! Lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70