Gratitude- Day 6

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)


Image source: Pixabay

Gratitude

Throughout our lives we forge a lot of friendships and bonds. Though not all of them are meant to last. People come into our live for one reason or another. Some of these friendships are short-term while others are for the long run. It's inevitable to lose some people along the way. There's a big difference between situational friends and true friends!

No matter how much we would like them in our lives, it's not up to us if they will stay or go. These connections fluctuate and depend on so many factors such as: common interests, distance, struggles or whatever life throws at us.

What am I grateful for today?

True friendship. How wonderful it feels to meet old friends and see that time or distance did not alter the relationship we have!!!

I always considered friendship as a sort of partnership where both parties are responsible for watering and nurturing that bond. Though I need to add that I am thankful for meeting the right kind of friends with the same mindset. I am blessed to have true friends that have always been there for me and whose values and core beliefs did not shift as we grew older.

It is normal that some relationships grow colder or phase out due to some personal or developmental reasons or because of external circumstances. It has happened to all of us. Nothing wrong with that because not all friendships last forever. As a matter of fact, this is what makes us treasure even more the true friendships!

When you passed the test of time, silence is never awkward when you are around your friends. Also you can always pick up things were they were even after a long period of time where you did not talk to each other.

I am currently in my hometown and in the past week I managed to reconnect with old or childhood friends and classmates that I have not seen in a long time. Some of them I last saw close to twenty years ago. You can imagine that we did had a lot of catching up to do.

Do you keep in touch with your old classmates or childhood friends?

Nominations:

For this challenge, I will nominate @criss-cross, @crescendoofpeace and @labp.


What are the rules of this challenge?

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
    (Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

Thank you @felobtc for nominating me for this challenge!


Note: You can find the original challenge post here:

"7 Day Positivity Challenge" by @conradt

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself.
If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments,
I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

First off i wanted to let you know that I found your blog from our group minnow-power. 💜 and oh yes so true what you have said. I wish i knew all this long ago before my 30's i read about this kind of enlightenment a few years ago. And this does go beyond just friends that cross our path. I believe that it also goes for blood relatives. Time is sneaky 😉 but im always greatful for what this life has in store for me. Aloha and thanks for sharing

Yes, it applies to relatives as well, you are right. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

i am follow you and upvote

Those long-term friends are worth the heartache of those who are only with us a short while.

Thanks for sharing.

They certainly are!!! It's so lovely to see that a childhood frienship turned into a lifetime one. ;0)

this is so beautiful. I met a man last year, a former alcoholic, for 30 years he is clean now... and he told me it started out because, every evening he'd write down 10 things that he was grateful for. And in the mornings he'd read it. He hadn't stopped with this exercise for 30 years. And hadn't taken a drink either..

I have so few of these, but I really treasure them. I have changed a lot over the years, so I've lost quite a few friends from that, but the ones that have stuck are really marvelous.

It has happened to all of us. Nothing wrong with that because not all friendships last forever. As a matter of fact, this is what makes us treasure even more the true friendships!

Thank you for this! I too not in active touch with my hometown or childhood friends. We still can click in an instant! Yeah after experiencing some toxic and some emotionally manipulative ones, I have learnt to let go and only spend my energy and emotional capacity on those worth keeping. I get to really value true ones!!!

It is good to hear this from you, @lymepoet! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86