7 Day Positivity Challenge: Celebrating the Good Days!!

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

As most of you know, my husband, @briancourteau has cancer, among other illnesses, and as 'they' say (whoever that is), the writing is on the wall. Because of his precarious health, the days that he feels well, we celebrate with sheer, unabashed joy and excitement.

The other day, my brother and family came for a visit; they were staying in Cancun, but made the trip to see us for only one day, so Brian rested up for three days prior and we then kept our fingers crossed, and thankfully, we were able to enjoy a full day with them at a resort in town.

See how awesome he looked??!!!

It's on those kinds of days where I truly celebrate all he is and all we are. It's on those kinds of days where I cherish our time together. It's on those kinds of days where I truly celebrate the good days.

It's also on those kinds of days where I contemplate life, love and the mystery of it all. My sister-in-law happened to be watching me and captured one of those moments.

Now, this is a "Positivity Challenge" after all, so this post is meant to remind us all to truly celebrate the good days because life brings us bad ones all the time, but it's those good ones that keep us going, that are wonderful to look back on, and wonderful to look forward to. Because thankfully, there are always things to celebrate, like health and family; something that we, even for one day, got a healthy dose of :)

And one last reason to celebrate, is this!! How could I ever forget to celebrate the "good" in this view?! :)

The Rules:

This post is part of the Seven Day Gratitude Challenge started by @conradt.

The 'rules' are fairly simple, but truthfully, I would encourage all of you if you don't, to live your life as if you're entering a positivity challenge every single day. It really does take more muscle movement and energy to frown instead of smiling ;)

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated (with my life, I won't be doing it seven days in a row, but you can be sure I will write seven posts :)
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible)

Today I nominate @yogajill who needs a dangling carrot to keep her going :) And I've recently discovered @rainbowrachel, if you haven't, do yourself a favor and check out her writing; but if you are interested @rainbowrachel, I'd love to see you tackle this challenge.

Proud Member of :

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Glad you got to see family and that the 2 of you had a good day!! Just seeing both of you smile (at the same time) is wonderful to see.

aww thank you @tryskele! That's so nice of you to say...and to notice :)

As always, you're very welcome :)

How wonderful that Brian was able to rest up and reap the rewards of another beautiful day with you @lynncoyle1 and your family.

He looks so good in that photograph. It's hard to believe he's even ill yet alone all that we know he's going through.

Let's hope there are still many more beautiful days such as these to come.

Sending you both heaps of love as always.

💙 💛 💜 💚

Thank you @gillianpearce! It's funny how photos can be so deceiving, isn't it? My brother and wife both said how wonderful he looked; I keep saying it's the sun and tan haha, but who knows? stranger things have happened...but then I see him the day after, exhausted and sleeping for 3 days straight. I truly believe we have many days like this yet. The progression seems to be slow and steady; it will eventually win the race, but in the mean time, we have

many more beautiful days such as these to come.

💙 💛 💜 💚

It looks like yous had allot of fun. Amazing photos.

Thank you @rentmoney; I appreciate that.

Enjoyed your post.

"Your time is always "now". The past is just a "now" you remember. The future is just a "now" you envision. Always enjoy now..." - Jaichai

That pretty much says it all now, doesn't it?! :) Thank you @jaichai; you're known in my head as "the man of few words", but often that is all that's needed.

Pascalian wit:

It alludes to:

"Brevity is the soul of wit" - Shakespeare (Hamlet)

Namaste, JaiChai

hahaha this English Teacher totally appreciates some Shakespearean humor!

this is indeed a great post for the positivity challenge Lynn, so thankful you guys had this day of fun and good time. God bless you both!

Thank you so much @janton! There is nothing like a little time with family to show what's really important in the world. He is my older brother and worries about me all of the time; when I was younger it drove me crazy haha, but now I appreciate it immensely :)

Thank you for stopping by!

family can be wonderful! you said they live in Texas?? :)
also congrats on Asher's League.
I only got on his blog today because I thought the contest
results would be on there today so i was a day late, jeez!

Yes he lives outside of Dallas and they all love it!

Thanks and congratulations to you as well; nice job! :)

thank you Ma'am! we live outside of Dallas too!

Hey that's awesome @janton! If I'm in the area ever for a visit, I'll let you know 😅

yeah! you need to make it out to redneck country!

He does look great--and so do you. Enjoy the sun. Enjoy each other. Relish the moments, not the days. They are always numbered--you two have received a severe reminder.
Have fun.

Thank you @agmoore, I appreciate that. You are so correct and I hope this "reminder" triggers action for people here. Thanks for stopping by :)

If there were only one thing I was allowed to miss, among all the myriad of things that I do, it would be that multi-colored blue sea. It's just amazing, and well worth the trip, in and of itself.

I'm glad Brian was able to have a good day so you could have one, too. How long had it been since you'd seen your brother and his family?

Thank you Glen; that "multi-colored blue sea" is a sight for sore eyes!

We saw my brother last May, when we left Vancouver we did a 3-week layover in Texas, and then he also came for a visit a few months after that. He worries about me with everything going on...older brother...so he doesn't let too much time go by between visits. My younger brother and his wife have been here once too, but I haven't seen my own kids for over a year and that one is starting to get to me!

I suppose you'd have to fly the boys down, and they'd have to work around their own schedules to do it. That I'm sure is hard. I know for a fact, though, that's why they say absence makes the heart grow fonder. :)

So, what part of Texas is your older brother living in, and how long has he been there? I'm always interested in how people end up in different places. I'm assuming he's originally from the BC area, too, right? Most people end up somewhere because of a job, but occasionally, there are other reasons.

It's good to have someone watching out for you, as long as it's not in a domineering and controlling way. Worrying or being concerned for the welfare of others is good, though. As an older brother myself, I know what that's like, even though right now, my main concern is with my parents.

Yes, that's exactly the issue with the boys; just trying to sort their schedule out, get time off work etc.

My brother is in Frisco, just outside of Dallas. I'm actually from Ontario, just across from Detroit. He's moved all over the States, , Cincinnati, Chicago, now Dallas and probably others I can't remember. It's always been work that's dictated that.

Ontario. Okay, I hadn't heard about that part of your history yet, I guess.

I've heard of Frisco. It's probably better to live outside of the big city anyway. Dallas is a nice area, but if I remember right, there was always a wreck on the highway and the police were always out and about for one reason or another.

Okay, so it sounds like he's been making the rounds of the larger U.S. cities. Well, I'm glad he was able to come see you both.

Yep @glenalbrethsen, I grew up in Ontario and moved to BC when I was 21. I'd be silly to give away all my secrets right away I think 😂

It's always lovely to hear about your good days! : )

Hey @jayclar! Nice to see you :) I'm pleased to see our good day also was pleasant for you!

You guys are looking good, so pleased to see you both so relaxed and having a good time with family

Thank you so much @livinguktaiwan! I appreciate that very much :)

You continue to amaze me everyday @lynncoyle1, I am so glad you got a good day with the family and the best part is that it was also a good Day for Brian which made it a great day for you. I hope for a few more of these for you both. xx

Thank you @insideoutlet! It's odd what becomes "normal" after a while :) You do understand it though...Brian's good day is my good day. And I can only hope that you and Peter are having a fantastic day right now too!!! :)

Hey @lynncoyle1, we did, we met little man today. He cried a bit but overall we were pleasantly surprised how he was, he would go to both of us which is normally unusual, hes very withdrawn but they say that is normal and once we get him home he will become more interactive, he did play with my necklace in between tears which was super cute. :)

Awwww that's so beautiful! I'm over the moon for all three of you :)

@lynncoyle1 shanks :D ITs been a challenging few days but each day gets better and better.

Welcome to parenting ;) That sums it up in a nutshell!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06