Gratitude Day 6 - Outta Social Media Superficiality (Log#9)


You know what? I think I've gotten a bit more gratitude-ier. Like from joining Steemit. Don't understand? * Gasp * I'm surprised. So while I'm still in my overly excited for no good reason mood:

Let me explain.

I've like given up on Facebook like aaages ago. I would see posts, and if the moon was blue enough (you know, "blue moon"?), I would like and possibly comment on a post. Facebook was soooo not engaging. A medium of picture posting galore, of posting abundance! If I took a better look at the pictures, it would be of my sexy friends dancing. Picture this: the figure of a young person. Of a tall dashing young man (Ahem!). And of ladies.

Okay, what about being gratitude-ier?

Ahem (continued seaside voice:)
And then, 3 months ago. @branlee87 told me about Steemit. I joined Steemit. I bummed around. @branlee87 pressed me a bit. I started writing. I regretted starting later. I feel burned out. I look at the Steemit Discord channels. I do etc.

And etc. etc.

Now!

Being gratitude-ier?
I finally got into the motion of the Steemit cycle. Browsing, upvoting, commenting on, & making posts. I find that I am in the toilet, and pulling out my phone to find there's no new post in my (non-trending) feed.

(D:) Awwwww. Not even last night. So I check Facebook. And then I like 1 post. And then I like may 5-10 posts. And I comment on 2+ different posts. It's like whoa, what's going on (I probably already knew what was going on)? I'm on fire! And today my colleague comes to me "Russell, you remember commenting on my FB post last night? I really love this thing that reminds me of Toothless the dragon... blah blah blah." Oh wow, think my colleague feels closer to me :O It's maaaaaaaaagic! (* * :D ... C: * *)

(Russell [me] slaps himself : SMACKKK!!)
I have to dial myself down, haha.
I stopped myself before I might go overboard.
The edited-out text is still here, at the bottom of the post. :P

So ... in more seriousness.

So here's the point.

I think being on Steemit has helped me be more of a person to appreciate others' work. To look around and comment and upvote. In the #teammalaysia discord group, we are even having some activities to encourage community engagement, and with the rewards announced, I just felt "on"! How selfish, lol. But I'm really glad. Coz the specific activity forced me to find a way to search for my team members' posts. And I realized to myself... "How silly! Just use the #teammalaysia tag! And wow, these posts are actually interesting!"

One of my recent gripes, about me feeling depressed included me feeling unappreciated. The long term plan here in Steemit, the one that doesn't look to immediate money gain, but more for the benefit of everyone -- the lesson is about appreciating others. And I'm feeling really happy that I'm getting this opportunity to refine even more the art of doing what I wished others did more for me. And which I think we all can have much more of ALONG with our goal of getting more monnneeey >P<

The art of appreciating others :)

I kinda hate social media. It's so pointless. But now I've joined Steemit, and felt it a liiittle less meaningful creating content that others don't engage in.

# so here's the point.
I go on with my day half-way turned "on" (please, not "turned on"). And I see a #teammalaysia contest rewarding SBD for commenting 20 words on 5 other members' posts. And the switch for me just yanked "on". I began to search through the #teammalaysia posts in Steemit.
> Why didn't I think about this earlier?
I clicked a post. I reach the 20 words.

> This is the moment.
I ignore the minimum requirement. I ask questions.

> What people failed to give to me at times in my life.
I share my piece. I show my gratitude.


Thanks to @littlenewthings for nominating me :)

Today I nominate:

The rules:

  • Write a post about something you have to be postive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the oppurtunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post. (Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.) (@reconstitution note: doesn't apply to Busy.org)
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible)

You can find the original challenge post here:
https://steemit.com/7daypositivitychallenge/@conradt/7-day-positivity-challenge-day-1
(or here at Busy.org)

Discord Channels I've Joined:

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg

steemit-webcomics discord channel

Sort:  

Really well written. So glad that steemit has been beneficial to you and you're getting something out of it :)

Haha, thanks, Bran! :D

I was in another mind, that I kinda worried I was being too much of a jokester! Guess I was wrong! Thanks for that feedback ;D And the appreciation :)

Never tone it down @reconstitution. You're killin this steemit thing in the face!

Ahaha! Thanks man! I like this specific & positive-constructive feedback :D (Well, feels specific & positive-constructive to me! :P)

It's easy for people to know what they themselves did wrong, but not so much what they did right!

So, for you to give me this "constructive" appreciation is really a gift to me! :D

Won't try to tone it down next time! ;)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by reconstitution from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

No need to dial it down out of fear nor dial it up out of a need to please.

You're right, something about this platform is really rewarding to the soul. When you have the freedom to just be yourself and find that it's ok.

Just as long as we don't get caught up in here too much. The people are awesome so it is hard hahaha.

So happy for your happiness. Looking forward to your comics @reconstitution

@kchitrah Oh, yet another interesting point of view! :O I kept thinking of writing for the audience's point of view, for persuasion (the goal of all communication in my opinion). But I guess I missed out the flip side, the side of expressing myself on a decentralized platform -- a platform where we are given the freedom to be who we are! :D Wow, there is so much to think about just writing a good "article"!

Yes, many awesome people I have yet to realize / imagine are even out there -- I'm scratching my head, how to write meaningful comments to all of them! (T.T) ":D :P

Hope my comics are fine! Not sure Steemit is the right audience for it! ":D Fingers crossed!

Thanks a lot for reading and commenting! :)

I have a feeling You will be fine. The key is in being sincere and authentic. And writing about things that get you excited.

I personally mix it up. Short Haiku's, poetry once in a way, some fiction, ramblings, and then my more serious "educational " blogs.

It's really up to you to explore to your heart's content. We don't only have one particular style, we each have variety within us, and that variety has a unique flavour.

I personally love the interaction and reading people's posts. Helps me learn, see all the styles out there a d Content...some of which inspire me with new ideas/insights.

You have a good eye and ear about you, I get the feeling you will get on just fine. ;)

My gratitude for today comes from stumbling across you post.

You have a similar writing style to my own. It is what I enjoy reading. I write like I would talk when speaking to someone, it is just more relatable that way, right?

Humour makes everything better too so kudos to you my friend.

Gratitude-ier.

Awesome...making up words is a highly under-rated skill and should be an Olympic event. i suspect we would both win our fair share of medals for being so damn awesometastical!

I kinda hate social media. It's so pointless. But now I've joined Steemit, and felt it a liiittle less meaningful creating content that others don't engage in.

AMEN!

I had a colleague at work like that, he is now a rapidly growing Steemian because I chatted with him about Steemit and uhm...He joined!

When ya want some engagement here, just do what I do, fire off a tonne of comments, Like word shaped boomerangs, they will return in time. I have made a boatload of cool, new friends, this way. ;) Is boatloads a legitimate way to describe a group of friends?

Take great care, the comics sound epic. Have an amazing journey :D

Whoopsie, didn't reply to you earlier! ":) Thanks for the compliments on my relatable-ness and humor! :D

"Boatloads" is a fine way of describing your friends if you're bringing them safely to shore (and not eating them :P)! ;D

Well, I feel that tho many of us came into Steemit for the money, the only thing that's keeping it meaningful is the comments and support that we give each other. Great job firing comments at strangers, man! :D

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99