B+: Day 4: Motorcycles, God's greatest gift to humanity!

What would I be without motorcycles? Just another monkey without two wheels.


Source

After my first three life essentials of family, friends and food, the fourth in the list is motorcycles. From the time I was a little boy I heard tales of motorcycles, and the joy of two wheels. At that point of time all that I had was a tricycle which eventually became a bicycle.

Every time a motorcycle would zip past me, the sound of it would awaken a certain corner of my brain. The primal corner. There is nothing which draws you into the stone age like a fire breathing motorcycle, which makes you lust after it even though you know it can kill you in a moment. Walking that fine line between life and death is what makes you feel alive.

As renowned MotoGP journalist, Mat Oxley's latest book is named, 'Speed: The One Genuinely Modern Pleasure'.

The pleasure of going fast, faster than everything you see around you is difficult to obtain in any other form. The adrenaline packed punch that a motorcycle gives, will make you forget every other drug.

Motorcycles have been instrumental in shaping my life and making me who I am today. It gave me the confidence to tell the world to bugger off, even when I was down and out. It gave me the temperament to face anything in life and not get hassled. Most importantly it gave me patience. If you want something badly enough in life, just be patient, it will come to you. Seemingly effortlessly!

The number of wonderful people I have met thanks to sitting on the saddle of a motorcycle is crazy. And the number of those people who eventually became good friends is difficult to believe. We all come from different backgrounds, yet we are united by our love for motorcycles.

I have spent a bazillion hours of my life reading, talking, riding and generally living motorcycles. And not a single moment of that was a waste of time.

To cut a long story short. Motorcycles are life for this twowheeledmonkey!


Since this positivity post was about motorcycles, I shall go ahead and tag another motorcyclist out here, to share his positive experiences of motorcycles. @wotpl0x


You can read my previous three positive posts here, here and here


I was tagged by @mrprofessor to:

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something
    positive (related to your story if possible.)
  • Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.
Sort:  

Oh yeahhhhhh! I've dreamed about crossing the Hymalayas on a Motorcycle, how's that passage called? the higher one in the world?

Do you think it's possible to do that for cheap and without a driver's licence?

Khardung la, earlier the highest motorable pass in the world. Now it is Umling La in the same region.

Yes it can be done for cheap. Workout a driver's licence, you are better off on your bicycle :D

Oh noe, I only have driver's license for car, not for motorbike. Dude! Going up the hymalayas cycling? My lungs are not made for that, I'd just sufocate.

It's not that difficult. I have ridden up the mountains before, and I will be doing so again. If i can, then anyone can!

What sort of developing country do you live in! Here, in India, we get a driving licence which allows me to operate any vehicle (other than commercial heavy vehicles), and I got the licence when I didn't even know how to operate any vehicle! There should be some advantages of living in a developing country with 'guidelines' rather than strictly enforced rules :D

AHAHAH so, if I have a license to drive a car, means I can ride a bike there?

Here we have licenses A,B,C,D and E - Following the sequence it is bike, car, small trucks, trucks (no articulated and small bus) and then big trucks.

I only have the B, for cars.

No no. You aren't indian. If you were, you pay for one licence and get them all. Without having to go for driving/ riding classes or even visiting the issuing authority. It gets delivered to your home, like a pizza, just takes a bit more time!

aiaiai so close! hahahaha

That explains why traffic there is so insane!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17