7 Day Positivity Challenge | Day 7 | "The Best Type of Cancer"

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

I'm finally on Day 7! It took me almost 2 weeks to complete this challenge because it happened to be a challenging season for me as well. I'm happy that this challenge reminds me to look at the good side of my life though.

I've been thinking what positive event just happened recently and then I saw my ultrasound. I am pregnant with twins - they're called TUMORS. It was a neck ultrasound so not such a good test to have.

But before you panic (I don't), let me give you a little background.

I have always felt healthy and I never go on long sick leaves like my colleagues do. I like eating healthy food with occasional junk food. However, I have abused myself my working too much and not getting enough sleep.

Never had I thought that I will be have an illness in my young adult life. And how I found out was very unusual. I was traveling in Indonesia when I had to visit an Hindu priest and he told me:

There's something bad inside your neck. Don't take it to a doctor. They will cut it open.

Well, it was in Bahasa Indonesia and someone has just translated it for me. I wrote about that experience in one of my earlier travel post and if you wanna know more about that mysterious and cultural experience, click on the image below:

A healing session with a Hindu priest in Ubud Bali. That's me with a flower on my ear!


To cut the long story short, they found 3 tumors (I only have 2 now!) and via Fine Needle Biopsy, I was diagnosed with Suspicious Papillary Thyroid Cancer.

Suspicious.

So that means we're not even sure??? Unfortunately, they cannot make it conclusive because the fine needle biopsy only takes a tiny sample. They would need to cut my neck open, remove the tumors and my thyroid (either entirely or partially). Through “frozen section” they will be able to find out whethere it's really the Big C.

But it's not an option for me. You may think, why am I being stubborn? I don't wanna lose my thyroid gland and if they confirm that it's not cancer, they can no longer put it back. I also don't want to subject myself to radiation.

The Best Type of Cancer

The Big C is scary. When I first read my biopsy results and saw the word “carcinoma”, I felt like fainting but I don't wanna create a scene at the hospital :D I was already Googling about my results while waiting for my turn for the doctor's interpretation!

I have consulted several traditional doctors: ENTs, Endocrinologists and Oncologists. All advised surgery and radioactive iodine IMMEDIATELY. Uhm this was a few years ago, and they sounded like I was dying. I'm so alive today!!! :D

One of the doctors said that on a brighter side, papillary thyroid cancer has a good prognosis. He quoted it the Best Type of Cancer (sounds like an award lol). He said that if one has to have cancer, this is the safest cancer to have as it is not as aggressive as other types.

Doctors hate me. Everytime I ask for an ultrasound referral (I need to go through a doctor so they can give it me a referral to avail of my company medical benefit), traditional doctors raise an eyebrow as to why I'm not yet getting surgery and radioactive radition. I have heard a lot of things like I'm so hard headed, but I know that they're just concerned.

I still opt for alternative medicine. I am not a doctor but I think I have the right on the course of treatment that I want to take. I also have other reasons why I do not want to lose my thyroid gland and be subjected to the effects of radiation.

But I still monitor the growth or decrease in size in my tumors because I take this to my alternative medicine doctor.

Last week, I just got my overdue ultrasound. I was anxious that it would be bigger this time. I haven't been taking care of myself recently. I have been really stressed and lost a lot of sleep. And I was also stress-eating (chips, fast food.... ooops).

I got the result and though there was no improvement. I AM GLAD THAT IT DID NOT GROW! There was actually a total decrease of 0.21 cm. The bigger tumor decreased in size by a bit, while the smaller tumor increased in size a bit. There were calcifications on one of the tumors though which isn't a good sign.

This is not my ideal result. Prior my June 2017 results, my tumors were decreasing by 2 cm or less every 6 months. However, I fell into depression and got so stressed after June. I ate lots of chocolates (with refined sugar)! I had an ultrasound 3 months after and see those tumors INCREASE by 2cm. So stress being a killer is NOT A MYTH.

So I'm quite happy that they did not increase further. I guess I'm slowly getting back on track towards healing.


I was tagged by @mrprofessor and @macchiata to:

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)

Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.
I would like to tag my friends from Ladies of Asia @livinguktaiwan, @elizacheng and @jrvacation whom I believe would write some beautiful texts - please don't feel obligated, but you've been tagged!

Sort:  

Hey @wanderlass 🔆 🔆 🔆

I read your post with interest and admiration. I read the linked post on your Bali healing session. I admire and applaud your decision to take responsibility for your own healing and not to be a 'victim' and blindly rely on bigPharma and 'Western' medicine to 'cure' you. This 'cure' of radioactivity and toxins is no cure IMO.

I think real healing lies in (1) taking full responsibility yourself for the 'condition' (2) looking at alternative healing methods (sure you can pay for them as and when you can afford, and to learn, but you can do it yourself).

In my way of looking at life, all dis-ease of the body has as its source an imbalance of being - ie trauma of a psychological, emotional nature. Because a lot of these traumas take place before the being is able to cope, the energies manifest in the body as various ailments according to the type of emotional issues/trauma etc.

A simplistic example is perhaps (and I speculate) your thyroid issues being somehow linked to a suppression of self. The Throat Chakra - which is around the thyroid area, is to do with self-expression ie expressing one's being freely. This is simplistic of course, but illustrates the general pattern and thrust of what I am saying.

Bottom line, for me: everything is accurate and happens for a reason. The level of spirit is more powerful and more accurate than that of human manifest - the old healer in Bali accessed that level when he told you about your eyes and the presence of something 'bad' in your neck. His warning/suggestion not to go to a doc sounds like it had a very good restraining effect on you - ie getting a view from a doc, but not letting them have their way :). The timing and the information - so pertinent for you and your healing - is no coincidence at all IMO.

So my friend, based on the above, and based on what I know of your early life, such as you have shared on Steemit, this taking responsibility for yourself would have to involve a deep understanding of all your own emotional issues and traumas - ie your fears. I guess this is a message that you have heard before, and that you know deep down anyway - no?

And you can do it @wanderlass. You have the tools, and the willingness to learn and understand at a deep level. You also do not seem to blame the outside world (this is a sign of taking responsibility for oneself and how one feels). Perhaps you could do with a bit more self-confidence that you can, but that comes with time and experience. The first step is always the biggest :D ....also, IMO, you also have integrity, that one crucial ingredient!

I came across a post by @annasuvorova just today entitled How I Became My Own Doctor. Part 1
I also read a really interesting book called Dying to Be Me by Anita Moorjani (Singapore/HK-based)
In this truly inspirational memoir, Anita Moorjani relates how, after fighting cancer for almost four years, her body began shutting down—overwhelmed by the malignant cells spreading throughout her system. As her organs failed, she entered into an extraordinary near-death experience where she realized her inherent worth . . . and the actual cause of her disease. Upon regaining consciousness, Anita found that her condition had improved so rapidly that she was released from the hospital within weeks—without a trace of cancer in her body! Within these pages, Anita recounts stories of her childhood in Hong Kong, her challenge to establish her career and find true love, as well as how she eventually ended up in that hospital bed where she defied all medical knowledge. As part of a traditional Hindu family residing in a largely Chinese and British society, Anita had been pushed and pulled by cultural and religious customs since she was a little girl. After years of struggling to forge her own path while trying to meet everyone else’s expectations, she had the realization, as a result of her epiphany on the other side, that she had the power to heal herself . . . and that there are miracles in the Universe that she’d never even imagined. In Dying to Be Me, Anita freely shares all she has learned about illness, healing, fear, “being love,” and the true magnificence of each and every human being! This is a book that definitely makes the case that we are spiritual beings having a human experience . . . and that we are all One!

Wow thank you @barge! I just read @annasuvorova's post and part 2 published just a few hours ago. I think you sending me her link is no coincidence. She was talking about her one meal a day protocol and my alternative doctor just advised me to be on intermittent fasting yesterday (from a 12-hour fast until I reach a 20-hour fast gradually and just one meal!). Kinda sad to do this because I love food. But I'm open to do this for my healing.

I also wanna learn to heal myself. A lot of my funds went to my alternative supplements. So if there's a way to do this on my own, that would reduce my stress on the financial aspect of it and relax.

And I am also beginning to understand how it connects to my emotional issues. Although the hardest to break free from.

And the book looks interesting and something that would help me. I'll check it out at the bookstore. Thank you very much for all these information :)

Great you found her post relevant - there is only sacred timing :D

Just to be clear, 'alternative' is not so much about finding alternative medicine (eg supplements), it is more about an alternative (completely different) approach to your life and health altogether.

Diet is very often crucial.

Healing is holistic - the physical has a corresponding emotional. When the emotional is tackled, the need to physically manifest the dis-ease is removed. Dealing with the issue at an emotional/psychological/spiritual level is (IMO) to tackle it at a higher level than the physical.

Western medicine/doctors etc need not be discarded altogether, but they cannot do more for you than you can do for yourself. You can take any form of healing and apply it to yourself - you channel the energy through yourself and apply it to where it is required. This energy has its own intelligence.

Here are a couple of simple DIY Reiki vids:


PS. doesn't matter if you currently believe you can or not. Just go ahead and try when you are in a calm space and suspend any doubts about your own ability for the duration. Doubts are thoughts - they can return later for inspection if required :D

I just watched the video. It gave me some clarity about Reiki because I thought it was like magic. I'm actually open to other beliefs because I'm still searching what to believe in :)

Thanks for all these resources :) I have to really tackle this holistically rather than just diet and supplements.

Good and bad. I know what you mean by not wanting to go to the doctor because they'll want to cut you open. I wonder if that's an option though. I know here in the US they take the thyroid in most cases. Glad they feel they can treat it fairly easily. Many blessings on your recovery.

And don't feel bad about finally finishing the challenge. I just posted day 4 on mine...just realized I forgot to nominate people LOL .

I will only have it cut open and have radiation when I have exhausted all alternative meds I can afford. Sounds crazy but alternative med has actually changed my life to be selective on the food I eat, basically eat and live healthy. Sleep and stress management are still challenging though.

And congrats on day 4! I'm gonna check it out :)

It doesn't sound crazy at all. I think sleep and stress is everyone's most challenging issue, hmm maybe that will be our topic for Mindfulness Monday :D. I don't blame you a bit. I don't ever want to go through radiation or chemo. If there is an alternative, I will find it.

Cutting it out before it can turn....I have to say, that I am going to do. I'm due to have a hysterectomy the middle of July. I have been HPV positive for 15 yrs and have an abnormal pap every years since then. Nice parting gift from the (pardon my language)the asshole that thought it would be nice to rape me. We've gone through biopsies, cleaning up the damaged tissue and some holistic remedies...after the last tissue cleaning ,my follow up pap came back worse than the one previous. My doctor has finally decided it's time. My hope, the pain goes away and I can thoroughly enjoy my husband again.

Oh that sounds really serious. And I'm sorry about what that asshole did to you :(

I have actually tried different alternative treatments, some are hoax or just ineffective but some are real cure. It's a long and difficult journey to find the right cure for you. I wish you well in the next steps that you are about to take. Hugs!

Live and learn I guess. I can't change what has happened. All I can do is control my thinking. I am not one for the whole 'forgiveness' thing. I can choose what has power over me and I was and still determined, this is not going to control me. To me if I allow it to affect me in other ways, then he wins.

The rest of it I have great support and love from my friends and family, to me that's what matters. Likewise, I hope you can find something that can help.

I like that mentality and attitude towards life. That's not an easy state to achieve and I admire you for having that perspective.

By the way, I recommend you to check out @barge's comment to me above. i believe you will gain insights on healing and also he linked a post by @annasuvorova (and now has a part 2). She is sharing how she healed herself.

I just had my check up yesterday and my alt doctor placed me on a similar protocol that she's doing :)

I read @barges comment earlier, I believe it's true I'll have to check out @annasuvorova's later on. @comformity did a post this post. I think you might find it interesting. https://steemit.com/health/@conformity/every-cancer-can-be-cured-in-weeks-dr-leonard-coldwell-ihealthtube-com

Thanks for this I have checked the post and other Dr Coldwell videos in Youtube.

Hope you're doing well!

Shit happens to everyone in life, but why does it feel like you're getting a bigger share than most people at your age already 😞

I still feel lucky because I didn't get an illness that will have a huge impact my life (like inability to work). It did impact my life in a good way too because now I have to be eating and living healthier. It was like a wake up call because I was at the age when I felt I am just healthy and can eat and do anything. The employee lifestyle here in the city is very busy and so the rest becomes unhealthy (fast food, instant stuff, stress).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75