What is the 88.85 voting ring?

in #88856 years ago (edited)

I was looking at a post and I noticed an interesting pattern. Several people had voted exactly %88.85 on a post.

I was wondering what is this? An inside message? A handshake for fellow travelers of a vote-for-vote group? A nefarious botnet?

As I would click through each user who made the like I found that parsing upvotes would lead to more accounts which often voted %88.85. Then I click through on who they voted %88.85 to find that this person also votes %88.85 frequently.

What is the meaning of the %88.85 voting ring? Sometimes I click through and the user doesn't vote others with %88.5.

Accounts that vote %88.85 (sorry, I'm not making any accusations, I just noticed this pattern which is interesting):

@cosmicvibration @thethreehugs @johnquake @kristinaljfom @cryptowarrior88 @taliakerch @rensoul17 @cryptoriddler

In some cases like below the votes seem to fast to done by done by a human?

8885.png

I am not sure what else connects these account.

I'm reminded of the mysterious number stations that could be found on shortwave radio especially during the days of the cold war:

Other examples:

8885_1.png

8885_2.png

8885_3.png

8885_4.png

8885_5.png

8885_6.png

What does it mean?

Sort:  

These people must be following some kind of trail. And this is an automatic vote, with a conditionally selected value. Maybe they react to one of the tags? This happens, for example, with the photofeed tag. But I'm not 100 percent sure. Are you following some kind of trail?

How do you make a trail on steem?

https://steemauto.com/dash.php
Look at this site. Here you can select a trail to follow and vote automatically for the participants of your trail.

Interesting, but less exciting than the idea of secret voting ring.

I'll make a post what means vote of 5% that doesn't bring anything to the post except the fact of voting;)

you mixed numbers. 85,55.

oops 😳, I was sending you a really important message at the same time you were commenting. Really important information in that message.

synchro!
aren't you afraid to be a horrible meanie and cyka like me?

what message?

aahhh I see the message;)
thank you)it's more pleasant than jokes about typical meanie slavs:)

by the way, slavs are very generous, they can give all they have to help people if they're worth it.
But if a person is worth it or not - it's a question.

Yes in fact I like Slavs, I have a friend from French school from Vladivostok. She was the only person to listen to my ideas and always has good advice.

Our group cooked a famous Russian dish, I can't remember the name now.

ha great)
don't know what it is-)
potato?)
and where are you in the photo I wonder-)
the girl is Russian, yes, she looks like Russian-)

Yes she is Russian 😊

I will ask her the name of the food.

It was at Université de Sherbrooke in Canada:

18-05-09-13-35-39-949_deco.jpg

Where do you live?

South, Crimea;)
I've a cousin in Canada, but don't know exactly where, because we don't keep in contact

I have heard of it from the war. I hope it will be safe, if not I don't care I will go anyways ;-)

Interesting that you noticed this. I'm curious to find out what's up with it lol Maybe that's the % you can vote X amount of votes per day and maintain your voting power?

I love that this reminded you of the mystery number stations. Brings me back to when we used to listen to coast to coast during our all nighters

What a show, the ghost ones made an all nighter easy... Good luck sleeping after the

I read somewhere that the radio station thing you were talking about is still active. Unless we are talking about a different one. I think I can try find the source of it somewhere. Btw damn you got lots of Steem power. How did you get so much if you don't mind me asking? I'm trying to level up this account without buying any Steem or steem power, but it is proving to be a great deal of effort.

Bought a bunch when the price went down. Also had a few Utopian submissions that were big. Do you have an instant messaging app? I'm on Telegram.

I secretly have you on discord, but I've never seen you online :)
Would be keen to chat. I'm in UTC timezone.

As for the number stations I find those things so interesting. Link the post here if you end up doing a post with additional information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78