Seanology #2 | 10 Minutes Too Late

in #8po6 years ago (edited)

It was not a good day


4th August marked another grief day in my life.

A date of remembrance for the rest of my life.

I knew the day would finally come

But I wished it would never whispered early.

 

I called it Reunion


My close friend left us to return to Jesus and reunited with her mum in heaven

after being a cancer fighting warrior for almost 3 years.

We all know that she had fought against the cancer demon very hard.

And she knew it for sure.

 
My pre-planned trip back to Kuala Lumpur

Looked like it's has been all set up -

To meet her in person.

 


[2015] 28th Birthday simple celebration. She was embarrassed because I sang Birthday song for her very loud in Bugis
 


[2017] Our last meet-up when she visited Singapore in August. I thought she was cured and free.
 

Last Conversation


"Oi when will you be coming back?", She texted me a month ago.

"Oiii I don't know, but definitely not July. Maybe August", I replied her quite late.

"Won't you come back Cameron?", She asked.

"Not likely. You can miss me sometimes but don't miss too much 😏", I always teased her this way.

"Ceh, why should I miss you",

I still think that she missed her friends so very much although she liked rolling her eyes.


[2012] CNY short but sweet time gathering in Cameron Highlands
 

What an unwanted journey


Once we received the shock update that

She was admitted to Ipoh hospital in ICU at midnight.

The next day early morning we drove all the way to Ipoh in hope to meet her -

probably for the last time.

 
We tended not to over think

After all we'd believe in hope with the little leap of faith.

After 2 hours driving journey

We arrived at the hospital.

But she was on the way being sent back home in Cameron Highlands by ambulance.

Without single hesitation we drove another 1 hour.


[2011] Random visit to Ah Long's house during CNY. I guess it was 12 or 1am when we arrived.
 

Too little too late


We were close.

It's 12.50pm once we arrived at the doorstep.

We were late.

It's bloody 10 minutes late.

We couldn't greet her in person.

We couldn't feel her warm welcoming hands.

She was peacefully and beautifully sleeping on her lovely bed.

Tears were rolling.

The tears of regrets and sorrow all mixed up.

What a silent moment full of grieves.

We stood and looked at her.

Without saying a word,

Only the moments we had together in mind.

 

She's bubbly yet a sturdy girl


A strong will girl who defeated the demon the first time.

The demon came back stronger

But she fought harder and harder.

And now the third time,

Probably she had exhausted.

 
We were always late when we visited her.

She would text and start to complain that -

she's about to sleep,

the dripped coffee that she brewed had turned cold,

then ignorantly asked us to just come in when we arrived.

But this time

she's decided not to wait us anymore. . .

 


[2007] High school graduation trip to Langkawi. We were "The Members"
 
We always teased her.

Because she would fight back.

We liked seeing her rolling her eyes balls🙄 (with her lips moving like mumbling)

And wanted to tease us back.

Well she's always failed because our mouths are much devilish than hers.

And this time

She was quiet. . .

 

You were the most stubborn girl I ever met


With your unique philosophy and personality,

Your sharp but truthful comments,

Your skeptical argument,

Your playful characteristics,

and your sincere inner cares for your true friends -

whom you treasured them than yourself.


[2016] She always wanted to meet up but most of her time dedicated to her barista career. Having to have a meet-up is always hard for us.
 

We had fun


Reminiscing those days,

The pieces and bits that we were together.

Making fun of each other

Teasing each other non-stop,

Ended up with the fullest laughter.

Those times were joyful and

Now turning into nostalgia.

 


[2009] She had a beautiful voice, that's why always laughed at my ugly voice.
 

Wish granted - You're forever young :)


Thanks Ah Long for sharing your dreams and moments with us.

Thank Ah Long for allowing us to walk into your life.

Thank Ah Long for showing us the real you.


[2008] The first time she showed off her instant camera 'cos she liked taking selfie :)
 
Don't be worried Ah Long

Whenever I look at coffee beans I'd think about you.

We will still be teasing you like we always do.

We will still be making jokes of you for no reason.

And we will still be missing YOU.


[2015] A diligent barista in action. Look how serious she was. Nah, she sensed that I was secretly taking photos of her.
 
-peace out-



Posted from seandeanayao blog with SteemPress : http://seandeanayao.vornix.blog/2018/08/06/seanology-2-10-minutes-too-late/
Sort:  

My deepest condolences to your super buddy's family. From your description this tells us that she truly lived her life fully.

Sometimes it is not the length of time on Earth that counts; but the journey of the race we participate on.

As I am reading this painful heartache of yours, this scripture came to my mind.

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.
2 Timothy 4:7

Your buddy and bestie has indeed although has now is with the Lord, rest assured she was not defeated. 3 times of cancer attack is one heck of a journey; and I wouldn't even doubt a second that she lost to the demon, because I believe she deserves the glory new body that has been prepared for her in eternity.

For we know that when this earthly tent we live in is taken down (that is, when we die and leave this earthly body), we will have a house in heaven, an eternal body made for us by God himself and not by human hands. We grow weary in our present bodies, and we long to put on our heavenly bodies like new clothing. For we will put on heavenly bodies; we will not be spirits without bodies. While we live in these earthly bodies, we groan and sigh, but it’s not that we want to die and get rid of these bodies that clothe us. Rather, we want to put on our new bodies so that these dying bodies will be swallowed up by life. God himself has prepared us for this, and as a guarantee he has given us his Holy Spirit.
2 Corinthians 5:1-5

I hope this scripture gives you hope and strength to cherish the great legacy of faith your friend has left for you (and others on Earth) that worth being proud of and worth praising God for that very testimony many others need.

Her journey is complete. And she will meet you all again in eternity.

upvoted

@littlenewthings You'd know how to console an upset person! I'd really appreciate that you spent time writing this meaningful comment. It means a lot! Right, she had fought a good fight which in my heart she's indeed a warrior!
She now gains immortality in eternity, in the name of Father.

Sorry to hear that. Stay strong bro.

She's at better place, free from pain and torture :)

May her rest in peace

She's at better place :)

Take care there

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @auleo for the concern. Life still goes on :)

好心疼!这么漂亮的女生。 希望她在天堂过的好好,你也不要太难过了。保重

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @janicechua. I guess she's comfortable now with Lord and reunited with her mum.

I remembered that someone once said this...

Reminiscing the past isn't for the dead, it's for the alive so we can feel less bad for our powerlessness against death and time.

Stay strong and move on, she would be happy to see it :>

Thanks @lilacse! The little thing I love about Steemit is able to see how truly Steemians care each other :)

I'm so sorry for your loss. You wrote a beautiful remembrance and I know Ah Long will never be forgotten. My prayers are for her and all who love her.

@fitinfun Thanks for your time reading my post and even commented on it! I'd appreciate it much! I'm sure my friend does, too :)

I just glanced through your profile and it came to my surprise that how much efforts you put down your weight! and now I can relate you and your steemit name.
I just followed you :)

Congratulations @seandeanayao! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73