PCU: before "Old School" there was this

in #90s6 years ago

I think many of you are too young to even know about this movie and perhaps this photo will tell you a bit about how old it is

ceb606de-30fa-46f3-84b1-a4b93e249508_1.b77fa1fd47f3e85fbe9f6c40a231e392.jpeg
how many .avi's can you fit in that VCR-tape sized box?

For me, this was the first exposure i had to Jeremy Piven and I never forgot his performance. It took a while for him to break the mold of this character. As a matter of fact I don't think he ever did. When he appeared on the smash hit series Entourage (which he won multiple Emmy's for) he was essentially the same character that he played in PCU... just older.
advice.jpg
that's right! he was young once!

This film is something that i think can be called a cult classic because it is fondly remembered but didn't really make much money (think Evil Dead.) David Spade was still a big star when it was released and he was trying very hard to have a film that didn't also have Chris Farley in it. It also had a bit role for Jon Favreau who later on went to be an incredible director and a reasonably good actor (I quite liked "Chef.")

jon-favreau.jpg
it's only been 25 years or so

The star of this movie is meant to be Chris Young (and yeah, i had to look that up) but the real star, as is reflected on IMDB is Jeremy Piven. Jeremy plays the role of "Droz," the de-facto leader of a fraternity that has kind of become the party place on campus and while their frat is great at partying, they don't really focus on the being-in-college-to-study-and-make-a-job-for-yourself-eventually side of things too much.

He has mastered the system though: he's been in college for 6 years and has no intention of leaving saying such lines as

you can major in game-boy if you know how to bullshit

and when the main character accidentally destroys a bunch of students' thesis he is charged with replacing all of them including a guy who is majoring in Sanscrit and Droz says

Sanscrit? you are majoring in a 5,000 year old dead langauge....(digs in closet) Latin.... sorry, it's the best i can do

This film is important for people to see because of multiple reasons. David Spade never really made it and I think this was likely one of his best chances. Unfortunately for him he seems to be quite one-dimensional unless playing opposite someone. Also, multiple other people who later on went to be major stars were paid next to nothing to be in this movie.

unnamed_large.png
the pillow-biters! scene

Also (and worth noting) it seems this movie accidentally predicted the social justice warrior (SJW) situation that exists, at least in the United States today, many many years ago. It presents such a situation in an absurd sense, and normalcy prevails through the introduction of parties and beer. It is kind of up to you if this is a good or a bad thing but you can't deny that over-sensitivity definitely exists in today's "triggered!" society .

have a look at the trailer

As always I welcome your comments and criticism.

Sort:  

Boy.. the good old days. I think 50 AVIs can fit into the VCR box..haha. I remember those boxes always made sounds when opening them. I have watched PCU over and over again. It's one of my favourite old time college-related movies, aside the movie Good Will Hunting. It's a really hilarious and entertaining movie- Tom Lawrence gets caught up in the college life at Port Chester University. I also remember the rival groups The pit and Balls and shaft. It's a good movie, and I would recommended every reading this article to check it out.

great answer pal. :)

PCU means(Port Chester University).......Actullay PCU is a 1994 American comedy film written by Adam Leff and Zak Penn and directed by Hart Bochner about college life at the fictional Port Chester University, and represents "an exaggerated view of contemporary college life"....The film is based on the experiences of Leff and Penn at Eclectic Society at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut......I think those who see the movie, 91% of the people would love this movie......Early release of the film: April 29, 1994 (United States).......This movie is screened by: Jack Pen........Acting in this movie: Jeremy Pivon, John Fever, David Spad, George Clinton and Megan Young.......I have not seen this movie yet but after seeing your post I want to see very much........And I have collected 90% of this comment from Google......

You're right, haha, some of us are a bit young to remember this movie. I never saw her but your description motivates you to watch the movie and much more after watching the trailer. It's amazing how some actors can not break the mold of some character, sometimes they just do not fit into another because of how well they do a certain role or the habit of seeing it acting in some way.

wow, a very beautiful movie , I like watching old movies, because I think the movie in the old days, has a very interesting story. But I have not watched your movie, I will try to watch this movie. Thanks for sharing @gooddream,,,,

Great movie. It consist a number of actors at their early career days.
I’ll check it out if I can find it. I also liked chef, watched it a couple of times.

Oh i like the photoshoped cover image of the PCU, its sure a vintage.

It also had a bit role for Jon Favreau who later on went to be an incredible director and a reasonably good actor (I quite liked "Chef.")

Oh i know this guy from the chef, nice guy, so he was once this young lol. I dont know the other guys but they sure seem like nice guys.

I give it up for this hilarious old school movie, I think I should see it 🤣. I must say I enjoyed every bit of the trailer . I bet I’d enjoy every part of the movie

Impressing movie tailor, old is gold, just prove this movie, i think.

Well, to tell the truth I have not seen this movie either, I think it was in the process of being born or it was very small hahahaha. However, despite being something old (not to call you old or me) the trailer reflects funny situations that I bet you will cause me to laugh and those kinds of movies will always be worth it. In our childhood there are many films that mark us and remember them and that we still like today is excellent.

OMG, I was just two years old when this movie came out...lol

Thank you for digging into the old schools to bring out one of the best.

I can only learn from this, I don't even know what to comment..lol

The story is as old as myself..... Smile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75