Abuse Series: Lies. Damn Lies. And Statistics.

in #abuseseries6 years ago (edited)

         For those of you who are not familiar with the famous author, Mark Twain, my title is a reference to one of his "quotes", where he attributed it to a British Prime Minister, but it was never confirmed anywhere in known records the said official made such statement.

         I generally do not go out of my way looking for abuse. When I do, I always find my voting power drained quickly. While I wait for my VP to recharge as I spend my allocated time on the web, I often come across hilarious, yet somewhat infuriating, conversations unfold in various Discord channels.

         Some of my favorites are from the @steemcleaners Discord. You could never tell if people are serious about their pleas for innocence or if they are hoping that the volunteers are dumb enough to believe their stories.

source.png
All screenshots are taken by me, @enforcer48, for visual aid purposes. They are taken in a public forum, so I probably won't be upset if you use them for aid as long as you do not make them the sole content of your posts.

         I find it amusing that someone could literally come into the @steemcleaners Discord and claim that a mistake was made and then proceeds to be shutdown by a passersby. Maybe the Steemian is unfamiliar with the way anti-abuse communities operate? When a flag comes at your direction, chances are it is well-supported in terms of evidence.

         The second screenshot is also great. The user claimed to have no idea what they had done wrong when the comment had a specific source attached along with the category of abuse listed. And then, there is this guy:

         This is the point where I would usually start laughing because of the absurdity of the continual denial. It almost makes you wonder if he thought he could make everything seem less atrocious by appealing to all the other times original contents were created. Of course, that statement was promptly shut down by a Steem Cleaner and a volunteer detective.

         To be fair to Aron, he is currently on a 60-day probation, and I have not seen him revisiting any of the anti-abuse servers recently. There is hope and redemption. In many of the communities I have visited, they often offer support to those Steemians found in the wrong. Whether the support comes in the form of assistance with creating original contents, or learning how to source formats, the common goal is not limited to only purging abuses on the platform.

We want people to learn. To evolve. To use their brain.

         In the example of @steemcleaners, they offer counselors that would devote their time to helping repentant Steemians on the road to better content creation. The abuse fighters from @steemflagrewards have shifted their approaches to warn newbies about spam and begging before downvoting. In the cases of blatant copy/paste and plagiarism, no such courtesy is given.

We do not systematically downvote newbies for the most minor of offenses. We encourage them to change their behaviors.

divider.png

         Since it's Sunday, I would like to switch gears into a lighter note. Deceit is a common practice I witness as I traverse through the cyberspace around the Steem Blockchain.

lying.jpg
Source
paddling.jpg
Source of meme template

divider.png

         I did not explain myself the last post when I used the tags #upvoteplankton and #minnowuprising. For the month of July, 2018, I will be using these tags for a community effort to promote contents created by authors with minnow-sized SP and smaller.

         Abuse Series is a collection of essays of my personal journey across the blockchain.

Previous post: Sharing Contents on the Blockchain
Next post: Pretenders

Sort:  

You got a 7.14% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @enforcer48!

Oh, yes.
But this makes the perfect story of the day.

Guy comes in, complains about a Plagiarism-Flag. An article he stole from a newspaper. He took the sentences and swapped some words so it looks "original".

He (white) says this:
Discord_2018-07-08_21-43-24.png

His article was boosted with up to 340$.

@Steemcleaners flags him with 100%, he looses 140$. Now he has "only" 200$ "rewards" remaining.

Morale from the story:
Don't take other people's work, or you'll loose big.


I have absolutely no sympathy for him whatsoever.

Hindustan Times is very renowned newspaper in India and I am an Indian

If only I waited for another hour or so before I posted . This is pure gold! Gotta go copy some CNN or Fox articles because I'm American.

Hi @enforcer48
It looks like the experience on your Discord is really much emotionals. I purport the use of Discord but actually I did not have enough time for it if I joined the groups. I had a bit of knowledge about Discord because you shared it here.


Thanks for using my x2.5BID upvote service, you get the service with 8+ bonus upvotes free.

It's mostly for kicks and giggles. @serylt and I, as well as many others get to laugh for a bit daily at some of the people's complaints.

khakha I see
Make save your upvote, no need to upvote for me, I appreciate your writing ability.!

Enjoy the show.
@enforcer48 is sometimes a very funny guy.
Other times he can be ruthless.
He has no patience for plagiarism or comment spam.
We can all join him in the battle @steemflagrewards.
We can have a good time eating popcorn and watching the show.

I'm curious about this, maybe it will be interesting :)

We help those who need help, and laugh at those trying to fool us. :')

You just planted 0.07 tree(s)!


Thanks to @enforcer48

We have planted already 4188.28 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18882.92
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

BOING! You got a 27.03% upvote from @boinger courtesy of @enforcer48!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @enforcer48!

Since this post is all about lies, I want to conduct an experiment using my Byteball address.

CWBHPM2GKSAO36LPAB67AC37Y6U4QC3A

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81