My Actifit Report Card: March 6 2019steemCreated with Sketch.

in #actifit5 years ago

Recently, I’ve been dabbling with Wim Hoff breathing in the morning.

I’ve heard about him for years and have been doing cold showers for about six months now, but an audio book by Ross Edgley that I’ve been listening to for the past week reawakened my interest in his breathing techniques. Not really knowing anything about them, I jumped in four days ago using a basic description. Since then I have watched a few videos about the techniques behind the breathing. It looks simple, but so far I haven’t found it to be so. If anyone has some experience with this, I’d love to hear what you have to say. Thanks!

14651
Walking,Running

Sort:  

I can honestly say that I have tried that and it is not at all as easy as it seems. I ended up hyperventilating most of the time and not in a controlled manner that you are supposed to do it in.

It takes a lot of practice and a tenacious personality. I think that the mind over matter aspect of it is amazing. I do think it gives you more clarity, but, then, so does meditating. I guess I would ask you for what purpose are you doing it?

It is to gain more physical control in your workouts? I wish you much luck with it and FYI- the cold showers were an eye-opener!

!tip

Well, Ross Edgley credited his ability to pull a 1.4 ton car 26 miles, run a month of marathons barefoot, climb the height of Mt Everest on a rope in 19 hours, and swim the around all of England and Scotland to the Wim Hof method. He says it really promotes recovery in the body and without being able to recover so fully and adapt so well, he wouldn’t have been able to accomplish those feats. So, essentially, I’m interested in trying to aid my body’s healing and recovery from doing daily exercise through this morning breathing routine. Really, I’m just dabbling at the moment.

What surprised me, though, was how hard it is to take thirty deep breaths in a row. After 15 it really starts to feel like work. Today I tried doing quicker, shallower breaths, which seems to be how Wim does it. For the first four days I really took deep breaths and exhaled completely. That was a lot of work. I expected to go into hyperventilation mode today, but I think my allergies kept me from breathing hard enough to get there;-) The joys of spring.

I absolutely believe that this will heal your body. Just look at how oxygen heal (to a certain degree) a person who has trouble breathing. It gives your body strength, more clearheaded.

It is work. I have done this and I told you that the first few times, I hyperventilated, but, you learn. It is like climbing a mountain and trying to deep breathe.

Oh, allergies will affect it no doubt. Good luck. It was an amazing workout for my body, just the breathing alone.

I wish you luck, my friend! It will be interesting to see as you continue.

Thanks. I’m keeping at it. Changing locations and postures to see what works. I’m still having some allergy interference, but I’m enjoying doing the breathing first thing in the morning. I guess I would say that for effects, I’m feeling a calm of sorts within my body, almost under the skin that I’ve never really felt before. When I do the release and just wait for the urge to breathe, I experience quiet and calm, a feeling of floating through space, and this feeling seems to stick with me on some level throughout the day. It’s hard to describe.

I do know what you mean!! A calm, almost euphoric feeling. I always felt like it was almost like an out of body experience. One that I still find it hard to explain.

And honestly, it only had to do with the breathing.

So, I am excited for you and wish you luck in continuing. Slow and easy is what I recommend, letting your body work up to it. Sounds like you really have got it under control!

It does have an out of body experience to it, you’re right. Do you still do the breathing, or is it something you dabbled with and moved on from?

I did it for quite a while, more as an extension to meditating. It certainly pushed the experience for me. But, I haven't done it in a while. It does take extra time and energy and right at the moment, I have so little time.

But, just hearing you speak of your experience, it makes me want to push a little and try it again. It truly is an amazing feeling experience once you manage to control it in a proper manner.

It does take time. I’m wondering how long I can sustain it for. But since I don’t meditate, I’m thinking of it as a two for one deal in a sense, both of which are things that I ought to do.

When you say control it. Are you referring to the breathing (feelings of hyperventilating), or the feelings and sensations you have while not breathing?

🎁 Hi @boxcarblue! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Winter Is Dead Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 48.5 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 14651 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.84% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Great fitness routine @boxcarblue!
Unfortunately, I haven't intentionally tried out any breathing techniques but I wish you success at it.

Thanks, straighttalk. I’m finding it’s a nice way to wake up in the morning. I haven’t experienced the light headedness or emotional breakdowns that many people talk about encountering with this breathing method, but I’ve been able to sit still without breathing for over the two and a half minutes because of it, and I love the feeling and the silence that I have in my body during that time without breathing. It’s kind of a strange sensation.

Wow! I must really commend you... taking no breath for over two and a half minutes is no joke. Congrats great friend! I think my personal best is still remains under a minute. Keep up the good work.

Anybody can do it, and in a single day. You just have to do the Wim Hof breathing method: three sets of thirty consecutive deep breaths followed by a long exhalation and breath hold.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89