Locker Room EncounterssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #actifit5 years ago

Take Tourette’s, America, Japan, Donald Trump, and John Malkovich, and put them in a locker room conversation. What do you get?


It sounds like a writing prompt, doesn’t it? And actually, I think it should be. Feel free to throw these words and names into a free write and post your links in the comments below.


The truth is, as I was changing in the locker room at the gym the other day, a man whom I have seen on many occasions, generally grunting or shouting or having outbursts of some kind while on a treadmill, walked in, saw me, and said, Hey. Where are you from? in English.

When I answered America, he said, Yeahhhh, I love America.

Oh god, I thought, Where is this going?

I love Donald Trump, he continued. Everybody thinks he’s stupid. His speak, it’s ummm ... so simple. They think he’s stupid, but he’s a smart guy, a straight talker. I like that.

Wow, I thought, this guy can speak English better than most of the English teacher’s I work with. I can’t believe it.

Umm ... well, yeah, I answered while trying to pull the draw string through the waist band of my shorts. He is a straight talker.

Do you like him? the man asked.

Well, I don’t not like him, I answered while trying to avoid explaining how little I pay attention to politics and the news.

You know, he said gesturing to me, You look just like that famous guy, what’s his name? Ummm ... a big movie star.

John Malkovich, I ventured.

Yessss! That’s the one. You could go around signing people’s shirts and saying your him.

You know, I explained, I’ve been told that before.

I believe it. Really, you do, man. You look just like him.

And just as it had begun, the conversation was suddenly finished and I was left fumbling with the draw string of my shirts thinking, Wow! Everything I had assumed about him was completely wrong.



11123
Daily Activity,Running

Sort:  

Hello my dear friend.. @boxcardlue 😎😎My previous ID has been lost.😓 So I have to open a new ID,😊 please support me

What do you mean by ID? Your account?

Ah very cool. He actually sounds like a nice, friendly guy. BTW I admit I googled John Malkovich!! I remember the name, but wasnt too sure who he was :)

He was. Having not had any interactions with him, and having only seen him grunt and exclaim things to himself, I just assumed he was someone to avoid, and also someone who wouldn’t be able to speak English. It’s cliche but it’s true, you can’t read a book by its cover.

My image of John Malkovich is from the movie Of Mice and Men, but I Googled him too and when I saw his Wikipedia picture I finally saw the resemblance. I’ve been told that for years and I guess it’s true:-)

I even went into the hospital once for heat stroke and a male nurse kept poking his head into the room to sneak peaks of me because he thought I was John Malkovich. Finally, he came in and asked me. At the time it pissed me off because I really felt terrible and wanted treatment, but now it’s kind of funny.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 53 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 11123 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.79% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82