Olympic Skier Kelsey Serwa Core Training and My Actifit Report Card: August 10 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

As I told you before, I'm researching everything I can about Swiss ball to be prepared to start training. The ball was developed in 1963 by Aquilino Cosani, an Italian plastics manufacturer.

A primary benefit of exercising with an exercise ball as opposed to exercising directly on a hard flat surface is that the body responds to the instability of the ball to remain balanced, engaging many more muscles. Those muscles become stronger over time to keep balance. Most frequently, the core body muscles — the abdominal muscles and back muscles — are the focus of exercise ball fitness programs. source

I was curious to see if top athletes are using it (I suspected they are), so I ran a search, found a video that shocked me. Standing on a ball is a very hard task unless the ball is filled with sand or something hard and it's not moving. Otherwise the task looks pretty impossible. However, it's not impossible at all and here's the proof.


Source

Kelsey Serwa, the Olympic skier knows how to do it. This is the video in which she is using five Swiss balls of different sizes to train her core muscles. She's jumping from one ball on the other till the end where she is turning and jumping back on each ball. Your jaw drops buy looking at the video, believe me.

However, it's understandable because as a skier, she needs to be trained for these kinds of movements. Skying requires strong core muscles and you can only get that by training not only outdoor but indoor too. She does a very good job no doubt.

Kelsey Serwa (born September 1, 1989) is a retired Canadian freestyle skier who was a member of the Canadian national ski cross team. She won a gold medal at the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang and a silver medal at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi. She is the 2011 FIS World Champion and two times Winter X Games champion. In addition, she has won a bronze medal at the 2010 X Games. source


Yesterday was an intense day for me, managed to reach 10k steps. It was a busy day and I was walking back and forth all day doing my things. Today I feel like crap again, my whole body is aching, especially my back, so I decided to rest a little bit and maybe do indoor cycling later on if I feel like it. If not, then it's going to be a rest day. I'm fed up with this already and can't wait to change my daily routine. Unfortunately that would happen only on Wednesday. Till then, I have to do what I can and try to burn as much calories as I can



10132
Walking

Sort:  

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 59.125 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10132 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.68% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Congratulations @erikahfit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00