My niece's graduation

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

What a wonderful day it was yesterday.

I had the blessing of attending my niece's high school graduation! It was a huge thing for her, as is for all students, but for Samantha, it was even more.

Sam has gone through many hardships and enough to even make her come so close to quitting school. But with support and strength she pushed through and prevailed! And I am ever so proud of her for achieving such a task.

She is the first to graduate of her 5 siblings, setting the bar nicely for the 4 behind her. It gives great encouragement for the others that look up to her.

I was so excited to see her. All week (and more) we talked about it; talking about the event, the hair, the jewelry, she even helped me figure out what to wear! I haven't been out to any special events in a long time that required me to get all fancy! Don't worry, no pics of me, I'm nice enough to not scare you guys with that...Or am I???

Ok I think it's time I show you how beautiful she is on such an important day!

She was just glowing in her beautiful gown. I think this is the very first time I see her in a dress :p

2 days ago I went to town to shop for a gift. I am not great at coming up with gift ideas so this was definitely a hard task. I decided to hit the jewelry shop, thinking she's young and deserved something nice for a change.

I was in the jewelry store for half an hour, going over the same necklaces, bracelets and rings many times, indecisive of what she would like. Then I saw it. It was on a wall display. The most perfect pendant, shining in the light. Nothing was more suiting for this new phase in her life so I paid for it, had the box engraved with a few words and nicely gift wrapped for her.

It has her name on it and says congratulations in french with the date and a heart.

The pendent is a white gold hand of Hamsa (I've also found hand of Fatima... I need to do more research but believe they have similar meanings, if not the same.)

It is to bring happiness, health, luck and good fortune. I have even found a little prayer that goes with it on the internet.
You can get more of an explanation on this website here if you like. The prayer goes:

Let no sadness come to this heart,
Let no trouble come to these arms,
Let no conflict come to these eyes,
Let my soul be filled with the blessing of joy and peace.

Even though we are not Jewish (or other strong believers of religion), I still believe that talismans (and other items) are strong key items that can help us keep going. You can see her wearing it in the first picture :D She absolutely loved it!

We had an eventful evening filled with joy, laughter and food. We were given a show from the schools choral, singing Bohemian Rhapsody, a total delight! Along with speeches and words being said, the diplomas were handed out.

In this not so great quality image, she was handed a grant for success through her hardships. I am not translating what is written exactly. I'm not always great with translations lol.

After the throwing of the hats and shouts of "WOOHOO WE DID IT!" and having a late supper, we ventured out to see what we could grab for pics. I couldn't stay for much longer because of having to drive 2 hrs back home in the dark is a bit challenging for me.

So we had a mini session. The ones to follow are the better ones that came of it.

Wishing I had better camera skills, sometimes when on the spot it's like I forget how to even use it. Bummer but I still think these ones are not bad.

All in all she is a beautiful woman who has succeeded such a hard and long part of her life and is now onto the biggest adventure yet! And as her aunt, I am with her 100%, supporting and loving her every step of the way.

text16.png

For my niece:

Je suis tellement fière de toi Sam! Si seulement j'avais les bon mots pour dire expriment comment je suis fière. Je te souhaite tout les plaisires de la vie, et de l'amour, bonheur, et sagesse car ta vie fais juste de commencer ^_^ Je t'aime Sam :p

~ Ta vielle ma tante ;)

text15.png

Today's actifit count is mostly from me gardening. Not much step count from standing around pulling out weeds and planting. I am getting more and more done everyday and will soon have enough to make a post of it.

5220
Daily Activity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

You niece looks stunning, congrats to her and you :)

Congratulations to your niece meuf :) Especially after all she's been through! So I hope you weren't wearing your fancy clothes whilst gardening haha!

HA! You wish :P

...But nope... the dress would have never allowed me to do that.

I am trying to see if I can get my niece to join Steemit. I sent her the link to this post for her to read and she loved it! I am going to tell her to check again so she can see all the comments. Hoping it will encourage her to join ;)

Haha, a good choice if you value your dress!

Oooo awesome! Yes be good to get her involved and then we can swarm... I mean welcome her in to the top 3 contest too haha! Be careful though - @cheese4ead may be after her with some Partiko referrals LOL

HAHAHA! "swarm" Good choice of wording there :P

I'm keeping an eye on your Gaz :D

I'm pretty sure she is as pretty as her aunt. She has a very bright future ahead of her. I wish her all the best and congratulations to your niece.

Aw thanks :D She is much more pretty than I am ^_^

She does have a lot going for her and the doors are open for her to walk right through with a positive entrance to her life.

Thank you once more.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

heya FOXY, i had to stop and read a while, i love your posts , as everytime this is great because it shows up one more time how huge your heart is....

send some big bear Hugs to you and your niece

Thanks Bembel! I'm happy to know that you enjoy my posts. Hopefully I can get to writing more often.

I enjoy sharing the love, there isn't much time for sharing anything but. There is no room for hate and negativity. It's also nice to give the limelight to others in hopes it brightens their day, just like your comment made me feel. ;)

Thanks for the hugs! Sending hugs back.

thats the prob of the World , people dont have ENOUGH time, if they had more, they being able to share more than hate....

I agree 100%

hugs to you over there <3

Congratulations! And good luck with the rest of her life!

She looks beautiful in that colour and gown. Congratulations to her on this very special day!

I know right! She chose the perfect dress. I can't express how excited I was for her on that day. So proud :D

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 45.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5220 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.95% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Great photos of what looked like a beautiful day, Congrats to your niece. She looks stunning.

Well done on the 5k, too.

Thanks Gaz! To be young and beautiful! She's got it all that one and she is strong. It will be awesome to be part of the next phase of her life.

It is cool to watch these young'uns grow up. Makes me feel a little old though. Right! Out for a run! 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't say it makes me feel old but it sure does have me seeing how fast time goes by and how precious it is. Something we all take for granted a little too much sometimes.

Congratulations to your beautiful neice, @foxyspirit

I would love to have seen a photo of her with her beautiful aunt! I love the gift you chose, and the symbolism. Perfect.

Thank you!

There was a picture of her and me taken by a photographer. I'm waiting to get it, not sure how long it will take. Will see how it turns out :P

I hope her gift does help guide her, or even the thought of what it symbolises can help. I know I can't be there all the time. If I had a magic spell to protect her I would! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25