My Actifit Report Card: January 12 2019 - Making good food choices

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

I know I talk about food a lot in my little nightly Actifit posts. I absolutely love good food, but I also care about my weight. I don’t want to give up everything fun, but I don’t have time to work out like a fiend. So I have accepted that I can’t slack on my commitment to both healthy eating and as much exercise as I can fit into my hectic schedule.

Today was a great day for food even though I went out to brunch with my family. With everyone ordering pancakes and bacon and three egg omelettes with breakfast potatoes, here’s what I had: an egg white omelette stuffed with broccoli, mushrooms and onions with avocado slices on top, whole wheat toast and fresh fruit. It was amazing!

And dinner was great too. I broiled fresh salmon and served it with steamed broccoli and cous cous. (I loaded up on broccoli and only had a very small serving of cous cous.)

And my only other meal today was an apple and a few carrots with almond butter.

Yes, I eat like this all the time. And work out almost daily. And yet... I seem to only be losing about a pound a week. But I will get there!

This actifitter chose to donate this report's original AFIT token earnings to @tarc charity

11770
Aerobics

Sort:  

Good to know you are loosing some pounds and gaining some points on actifit. Kudos.

Thank you for the support, @ketcom!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are welcome.

Posted using Partiko Android

Bravo Jayna, your breakfast choice was for sure the right one 👌. We can be easily 'programmed' in terms of our favourite flavours. Thus it's should be more about developing our eating habits than getting on a diet. And with full respect, but for me, pancakes with bacon or an omelette with potatoes sound really disgusting. It's not only unhealthy but also unnecessarily mixing too many flavours which should not go together. It's like drinking tea or coffee with loads of sugar. So we don't taste the whole richness of these specials drinks anymore but killing it with the awful sugary flavour. So, for example, an omelette just with fresh rosemary would reveal the true beauty of the dish and save many empty calories. And it's not difficult to 'train' ourselves in how we see many flavours and so improve our food experience the way we got used to it. All to eat smarter, better and healthier.

That’s brilliant, @alexazapiec. I agree on all of your key points: many foods are packed with empty calories, typically due to sugars and fats and an over-abundance of flavors and contribute to the consumption of empty calories. And just as we become trained over time to expect that, we can also train ourselves to want and enjoy the simple flavors of wholesome, healthy foods.

I blame marketing and food science. This evolution toward heavily flavored foods is a direct result of trying to get people to consume more. And it has worked.

Posted using Partiko iOS

True. Sad but that's how it works. The good thing is we can always choose non processed food, so simple ingredients as a base to prepare the final meal (maybe not always perfect as even fruits and veggies could be full of chemicals these days, but it should be enough to improve the quality of what ones could eat as 'ready' products, junk food etc. ). And of course nutritional awareness is crucial to succeed - well balanced diet, cooking style and so on. Anyway, fingers crossed and keep doing. I see you're on the right track 😊🙏 Cheers!

Thanks so much! I think awareness is huge. Going for fresh and local, and avoiding processed stuff is key. I just worry that prepared food is so available now that many people never learn how to prepare real food!

Posted using Partiko iOS

... Everyone is the architect of his own fortune...
maxresdefault.jpg

11k is a solid activity count and I enjoy a good meal as well. @actifit appreciates you

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, @runridefly. The encouragement is much appreciated!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 50.875 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 11770 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 4.46% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86