Tumbling through my week - My Actifit Report Card: October 13 2018

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

Good evening steemians,
I hope everyone is doing well this weekend. Today was a pretty relaxed day for the most part. Getting text messages from work in the early morning stirring me from my slumber. I'm pretty sure my letter to my boss is bringing changes to the environment. Looks like we'll have dedicated staff assigned to us and don't have to share. I hope we're able to get more things done without incident or without consequence. I feel pretty skeptical but at least some terms we're discussed with higher management and terms were agreed and signed so they can't go back on their word.

Today was a homework day, trying to organize my group and not out some assignments. I fell behind on my studies this week stressing about work and starting the gym thing. I need to prepare for next semester registration and have a seminar to complete before I can register ermaigurd… lesigh

I managed to convince my mom and sister to go to the gym with me. Today was leg day and another round on the treadmill… ohgosh it was much harder to do 1.5 miles in under 16 minutes. I'm convinced it wasn't it was set to kilometers =.=

20181013_182703.jpg

Hopefully I'll to better next time.
I wish everyone a wonderful weekend


5475
Daily Activity, Jogging, Running, Treadmill, Walking, Weight Lifting

Sort:  

Wink.. Hey. .. You got any use for a r9 290 and a r9 280? I can't get the drivers to play nice with Linux. I've tried just about everything except installing windows on a machine. Problem is I don't have Windows and don't think I can force myself to buy a copy.

@Spozone! -Glomps-
Ohmaigoodness this new resource credit thing after HF20 is such a drag. I wan't to reply to your comment last night but it took like 8 hours to regenerate enough credits for 2 comments or posts. its a much harder game of managing resources and trying to get curation rewards.

For my miner running windows/Nicehash I did not need to buy windows or activate windows. with Windows 10 it will not auto shutdown or deny you from updates. it just puts a water mark on your screen to activate windows and might disable themes under personalization. some people have been able to put the whole windows OS to boot from USB I think the youtube channel HowMuchBitcoin covered it. I would only activate windows on my own personal devices/workstations.

Microsoft freely offers a multi edition iso of windows 10 now. you can download their media creation tool to download both 32 and 64 bit and from home basic to education which is similar to enterprise.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

it'll help create an install media but i used Rufus for that once I had their ISO.

if you have a spare hard drive give it a shot ^o^when it prompts for a windows key just skip it cause you're just testing and can blow away the instance whenever ^0^

PS. Merry middle of the month. Sent you a little gift that might help a little with your power issue... .or at least I hope it does. Maybe I'm just bent but isn't that what steemit is supposed to be for? To help each other out?

OMG THANK YOU SO MUCH! I'm very thankful for your support! -Many hugs- ^0^
with your current steem power after HF20 you're able to do 100+ upvotes and comments/posts It would have taken me ages to earn steem with curation rewards giving 0.001 on occasion. I'm going to power up right away.

I hope mining keeps working steadily for us. I am worried the day ethereum forks and reduces the block reward and where those miners will send their hashpower. i'm planning to mine until its break even and hopefully not earning in the negatives. Lol ah who am I kidding it's a hobby for me too I probably won't turn it off. I'm also hoping mining will be a way for you to retire at ease so you don't have those days where you're working alone that's brutal T^T

have you tried Monero? Cryptonight still pays reasonably well and there is some huge speculation that it will be doing well in the future. Myself I haven't saved Amy amount of it yet as I've been exchanging it for XRP. but lately I've been trying to save a little each time I get a reward from mining and just hold it. Who knows.

I haven't mined Monero directly but I've mined the cryptonight algos prior to X16R. Lately Nicehash has been mining a lot of ethereum algo and dual mining keccek. With Nicehash I'm just getting Bitcoin, it does feel like I'm missing an opportunity not getting these coins.

These new Nvidia drivers from October are causing headaches... My cards are only stable at 65% power limit they crash constantly at 70% to 80% all the power of an RTX 2080 and cant unleash it... Water cooling for mining does not seem like a good return of investment either

Yeah trying to figure it all out is a bit challenging. As crazy as it seems, so far the best investment for my has been the GTX 750. I know, it makes no sense but they are dirt cheap at 60 bucks each and ~300h/s, they just run and run and I haven't even turned on the monitor on that machine in like 3 months. I've started thinking about it a lot lately. You can get a combo like I mentioned the other day, add memory, a psu, a cheap ssd and 6 GTX 750's all for about $750 and be mining cryptonight at around 2500-3000 h/s....or spend $1000 on a machine with one RX Vega and get the same hashishes. If I try and add more than 3 RX 570's to my system I start getting openCl errors and crashes so I'm going to have to add an additional psu to handle larger cards, so it is what it is.
Still though I'm at the point where I think I got enough knowledge to make a go of it and start buying the requirements to make a couple 5 or 6 nice rigs and get them in a warehouse somewhere. Might as well..

Three months! That is pretty solid!
I think if you're going to start scaling up get a watt meter to measure how much your rig is consuming and the next level of the gave is keeping your watts low and your hashes high. Building in scale might have to shutdown miners if the cost exceeds operation expenses. I need to get a killawatt meter too. Playing with power limit allows me to maintain the same clocks and memory speed and use less power

Thanks for the info. I spent a few hours today testing. Turns out the 290 is dead and will not post, so also OS an RX 570 I bought a few weeks back, and the 280 works bit has a horrid hashrate. I'm going to try and get a RMA or a store credit and return two of them. I'm hoping they'll make a deal as I buy a lot of stuff from them. I got my eyes set on a motherboard combo that has a ryzen3 with a fatal board that has 6 slots on it, for $181 cause one of my junkiest machines is having issues not wanting to boot now and again. I guess the lesson I'm learning is to stay away from refurbished goods even though I've had good luck with them until now. Anyhow, I'm going to stick with it for now and keep going until I get maybe 50-100 gpu's and see if I'm able to build a small retirement hobby out of it.
Best wishes....

Getting computers for cheap or second hand is wonderful for our projects but the parts I wouldn't skip out on is the PSU, a good surge protector and GPUs. Even though new parts are costly, having that warranty does give piece of mind. A six slot motherboard does sound pretty good! to add capacity maybe try some of these 4 port pcie riser, so far people say they work without lowering hash rate.
http://a.co/d/3Hl8Cw6

With November coming there should be plenty of sales coming maybe even more nifty bundles. Right now I'm very excited and wondering where they all are. I can't wait to build my NAS and get my family data in a safe place rather than usbs and laptops. Maybe make a volume space for Storj they've been having a good pump lately with their public alpha coming. Once my NAS is built maybe get more GPUs or coins.

I hope they take care of you with your RMA exchange. Would be sweet if they upgraded you to a more contemporary card of a similar tier. I vaguely recall people suggesting research labs for bulk orders of gpus or mining specific cards but I haven't come across those yet.

I wanted to ask you. How are you over clocking the GPU cores and memory? I've been nervous to do so because I want these cards to last 5 years so I've been lowering power, core and leaving the memory stock while fans are at 70% I like how BitsBeTrippin and BuriedOne have spreadsheets and measure wattage, hashes/shares and earnings when they do their profitability spreadsheets. heh I'm still casual to them.

....overclocking. There are variants of atiflash and Polaris bios editor out there for Linux but I haven't had much luck with them. I was able to try a mid on an RX 560 but it didn't recognize the display afterwards and wouldn't boot. Yet another reason to get a Windows machine, I guess. Generally I'm content to leave them stock but some of the things I've read about the amount of increase in hashrate makes me rethink my devisionevery time I read about it.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 20.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5475 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.80% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.
    To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
    To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78