Mini Habits, Big Results & Actifit

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

D47003BC-4ECE-4DF6-A504-99034804D495.jpeg

I don’t buy self-help books, just like I don’t like to buy books about writing or anything I’m interested in. Google has enough pointers for me to be content, and then I just make it up as I go. I do this with writing, drawing, and even when I went for my first half marathon and later marathon. I didn’t bother with a training plan; my plan was run as long as I could starting at 2 km. Although, until I ran 30 km, my husband didn’t take me seriously. I still remember that day I convinced him I was ready.

Here’s the runkeeper stats for that day last year:

14960434-2AF4-4CAF-880A-F82DFF021C68.png

Here was his response:

28452BFD-5871-42E1-9D96-DC8D5C23D7E2.jpeg

I ran 32.24 km because I was inspired by some ladies in a Facebook group. They regularly ran 20 miles before breakfast like it was no big deal. So thanks to these awesome Americans, I more than hit that 30 km target. I don’t recommend converting kilometers to miles on your phone while running though. That day stuck strongly in my mind, because I ran into the side glass panel of a bus stop while doing exactly that. Shocked me and all the occupants sitting at the bus stop. Highly embarrassing.

Anyway, I am digressing because running is not the point of this post; I’ll write about running once my overall fitness improves. My point is that I prefer to figure stuff out by myself and to go by feel, rather than read self help books or over research an interest or goal. I’d much prefer to be doing things by trial and error. But lately, time management has been on my mind, as in I am appallingly bad at it. I suppose as you get older, you start to think back to how much time you wasted in your past. My time on the Steem blockchain has only highlighted how much time I waste on things that don’t matter. So today, as I was early for a client meeting, I sat in a cafe and scanned the productivity books section of Amazon. I decided I need guidance in some form. The self-help book suddenly seemed appealing. There were lots of intriguing titles, but I settled on Mini Habits: Smaller Habits, Bigger Results by Stephen Guise.

It sounded like a good concept, where big intentions are worthless if you are so overwhelmed by an idea that you never actually implement it. I was sold by smaller intentions, where easy achievables my lazy brain would not resist will eventually become good habits through repetition. Only, the writer was not very good as it felt amateurish at times, and I didn’t enjoy his writing voice or some of his examples. It didn’t help that he put my nose out of joint by asking me to point my finger on my nose as an exercise of...it was too dumb to remember his words! But I paid $2.99 USD, so I’m going to persist a bit longer and try to ignore my dislike of the author. Maybe I’ll warm to him as I progress and eventually bloom into a productive human of many positive habits! I think the premise is solid and I’m planning to write down a few mini habits.

Just not tonight.

I need to catch up on some work (bad habit), and then go to bed at some late hour (bad habit), all because I made time for Steem (questionable habit!).

Thanks for reading. ❤️

Linny


The above photo is of the Melbourne Supreme Court Library I visited on Monday when I did over 10k of actifit steps. I didn’t post then because I didn’t have anything to write.

10065
Aerobics
Sort:  

32KM .. whoa !!
And btw, you can start bringing us those fellow runners of yours so that we can instantaneously sign them up ;)

Let me work on this sloooowly. Having to explain Steem is not easy. And that 32km isn’t recent! I need to work on getting back to that point.

You are #1 on @actifit top list! I never ever could run 32 km. Just awesome what you are doing.

Thanks for another visit, Peter! That 32km was last year, I’m nowhere near as fit. :(
But I was a little confused at first what you meant, but yippee yay! I was first on something for a change. Hehehe. Thanks so much for the heads up. ❤️

Thank you! Ok, I see, yeah, 32 km is a lot and maybe with the help of the actifit-community you will be able to hit 30 km or more again?! Much love from Munich/Germany

(alias @actifit-peter)

Thanks so much, Peter. You’re helping with your encouragement. ❤️

I feel happy when I can support my actifit-friends!

Doing things your way to find out how everything works, by itself, is fascinating, this helps to develop creativity. But in some subjects it is very important to acquire knowledge with other more experienced people. Just find a balance. And congratulations, I can not bear to run like you!

Hello, Pedro. Thank you for the visit and the thoughtful comment. I’ll certainly seek advice when I feel it’s required, but I’m impulsive and for the most part, I enjoy that approach in my private life. But yes, don’t mind my flippant words, I am as much trying to find that healthy balance atm. :)

I like this approach too. I love to write, and I would never read a book of literary theory, or pretend to teach me how to write better, because in this way I would lose my freedom and naturalness. thank you so much for all your comments, you are a lovely person.

You are doing a great job with acifying!Sunny greetings from Munich/Germany

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by linnyplant from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 69.375 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10065 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 6.04% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.
    To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
    To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78