#needleworkmonday :: Let me just try to sew ๐Ÿงต a home ๐Ÿก skirt...

in #actifit โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)


Happy jolly #NeedleWorkMonday lovely ๐Ÿงถ๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท NeedleWork artists ๐ŸŽจ๐Ÿ–Œ!



I have been thinking about sewing a skirt for a while now, bought a bunch of fabrics over the years, having a vision in mind to sew them, patchwork them, circle skirt them, pocket them, lace them, etc. but it was always in my mind and I never did get myself to attempt it.


I think, the hardest part is usually to start it. Once you get started, it should get easier, doesn't it ๐Ÿค”? And this past year, being part of this awesomely talented community, I have been so inspired by YOU.


So, today, I decided to give it a try. I have a simple thought, a simple plan, to sew a home skirt, one that does not need to be perfect, comfy, larger than usual and is a good practice for a start and one that will most probably won't fail (and even if it does, it is to be worn at home, so nobody will see how bad the sewing is ๐Ÿ˜œ).

main.jpg


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


I have this nice piece of fabric, measured at 118cm x 180cm, but I felt that it is a little too 'loud' for me to wear outside the house. So, this is the chosen fabric for my little experiment ๐Ÿงตโš—โš›๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿ”ฌ.

1.jpg


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


I started by using one of my favourite skirts as the template to cut (this skirt is one of my dream skirts to make... I like this skirt so much that I don't wear it much, afraid it will wear out and tear ๐Ÿ˜…. Just look at the patchwork effect of the fabric design. The fabric is really soft and I bought it from Marks and Spencer during one of their sales). Anyhows, it is good to dream but today, it is just a simple skirt first.

2.jpg


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


After cutting out the fabric sides and top, I decided to leave the bottom as it is because:

  1. I like the existing pattern on the edge and
  2. I do not need to hem ๐Ÿ˜.

3.jpg


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


Then, it was time to pin the sides, right sides facing, before I start sewing. This is to ensure that the fabric don't run while sewing.

4.jpg


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


And the sewing starts....

5.jpg


I also did a side zigzag stitch since I do not have a serger, to keep the edges from fraying.

6.jpg


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


Then, I hemmed the waistband, after which I sewed, leaving a space for the elastic to pass through the waistband.

7.jpg


So, this is where the tricky part happens. Due to the shape of a skirt (sort of A line shaped), it causes the waistband to be bumpy due to the fold. No wonder some sites would recommend sewing a separate waistband ๐Ÿค”. But it is ok, my first attempt, my first learning ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿป๐Ÿ˜‰.

8.jpg


And in goes the elastic into the waistband...

9.jpg


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


Done, wearable (at home for now ๐Ÿ˜) and danceable too!

10.jpg


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely talented #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.


๐Ÿ’œโš›๐Ÿงต๐Ÿงท๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿงท๐Ÿงตโš›๐Ÿ’œ


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed ๐Ÿ‘ Daily Income ๐Ÿ’ต and Payout ๐Ÿ’ธ for Newbies (2.0) ๐ŸŸ ๐Ÿœ ๐Ÿ› in #ccc ๐Ÿ‘ฃ and Follow ๐Ÿ‘ฃ the Honor Code ๐Ÿ… - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


My Actifit Today: March 11 2019

Monday walk to the office from the carpark and back while shopping in between, looking for supplements and detoured to look at clothes. Walk shopping is fun!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ›




5634
Walking

Sort: ย 

Great colors on that fabric! It looks beautiful as a skirt and you did a great job putting it together!
I hope you enjoyed the process and make many more skirts!

Thank you @jamethiel! I did and I think this pretty much marks the beginning of my skirt making journeys :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

That skirt looks great, I love the colours and the pattern printed on it, it looks like it is very cool and airy and relaxing to wear. Your template skirt is lovely, too, I imagine it is very swirly ๐Ÿ˜.

ย 5 years agoย (edited)

Thank you @shanibeer :) Yes it is! I can cross my legs while sitting on the floor with the skirt covering the legs fully too! Hehe. Oo yes.. the template skirt is very swirly and soft ๐Ÿ˜. One of the rare deals in M&S :D

I love the colorful fabric!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @fiberfrau! It is pretty :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeees I I have a skirt loving sew sister ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’• The skirt is so clever, with a fabric which has an โ€žintegratedโ€œ hem, as hemming is my least favourite part of the whole skirt sewing ๐Ÿ˜
And it transforms you in a tropical dancer, wonderful, as I have still rain and storm.
You original skirt indeed has a clever construction and I am looking forward to a post, if you ever copy it.
And I so feel you with the not wearing something special. I am always afraid that I will sweat into my handknit cardigans and that I will then destroy them by washing, so I do not wear them as often as I would want.
Currently I dream of sewing a vintage circle skirt, but I am afraid of the zipper and that I will not like to wear it if it sits on my waist (I pull my normal half circle skirts super low). And I think the waistband for such a fitted skirt will be much more difficult..... But who knows, perhaps we will both tackle more complicated skirt project. Yourโ€™s for sure is a win ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’•

Yay! Hifive sis! ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’—
Hehe that is a nice term for it โ€˜integratedโ€™ hem. More like lazy to hem hehe. I just used the edge of the fabric keke. Tropical feet show-er for I am camera shy apart from my hands and fingers and feet. Hehe.
It is isnโ€™t it? I hope to construct one like that. Yah, me too!! I tend to keep my favs. And then I realised that some are meant to be used and worn, else they will disintegrate and turn into dust or something yellow if it is white or grow mossy looking yucks.
Ooo vintage circle skirt sounds fun ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ and I am sure you can do it @neumannsalva!! I donโ€™t like zippers too but I realised zippered broad waist bands make me look slimmer. Rubbered waist bands donโ€™t work well for my body. Extras just embodies the waist. We shall tackle the world of skirts together ๐Ÿ˜˜ it is not easy to find a well fitted skirt. Might as well sew them ๐Ÿ˜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 43.5 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5634 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.52% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thank you @actifit!

Posted using Partiko iOS

you did it!!!!! wonderful!!!! The first step is the most difficult. so I still do not dare to make it :) the skirt is bright and colorful. she will cheer you up !!!

Thank you @tali72! It is a happy skirt :) Yes yes I took the first step!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @marblely! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

Thank you so much @needleworkmonday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22