#needleworkmonday :: A simple scarf

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)


Happy, jolly #NeedleWorkMonday everyone!


~ ~ ~🌼~🧣~~🧣~🌼~ ~ ~


After my little yarn ball winding therapy last week, I was excited to work on a simple scarf, one that is quick to work on, easy to remember and to complete.

image.png


I found this moss stitch pattern (or also known as Linen or Granite stitch):
https://persialou.com/how-to-crochet-the-moss-stitch/ which was very easy to work on, easy to remember and you just work it on and on and on.. Easy, mindless crochet.

image.png


Now, it didn't look like the first picture at first... I was overly excited to work on the scarf that I forgot to check if I have another ball of yarn of the same colour. And of course, after almost finishing the single ball of yarn that I have, I realised that I do not have another of the same colour!!

image.png


The 1 ball of yarn gave me about 1.2 meters of scarf. Sigh.... That was when I had to rummage through my yarns, to find a suitable pairing.


This mix of colour looked promising:

image.png


And so I continued working on this pairing.. 2 rows of each colour, alternating the colours uniformedly, following this example demonstrated by this Expression Fiber Arts tutorial: https://blog.expressionfiberarts.com/2018/04/25/how-to-alternate-skeins-in-your-knitting-crochet-projects/

image.png


And continued:

image.png


And here I am now:

image.png


~ ~ ~🌼~🧣~~🧣~🌼~ ~ ~


I think it possibly looked better than the original fully brown, single ball of yarn scarf. It is interesting to mix colours like this.


~ ~ ~🌼~🧣~~🧣~🌼~ ~ ~


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.


~ ~ ~🌼~🧣~~🧣~🌼~ ~ ~

tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


My Actifit Today: June 10, 2019


A usual day of walking to and from the office, to and from the carpark and moving around the office to get work done.



7121
Walking,Moving Around Office

Sort:  

I like the variations in the colours, I was wondering how you did that!
Nice painless crocheting 😍

Hehe thank you @shanibeer :) Hope you are having a good holiday :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

The second yarn really refreshes the overall look of the scarf. You have found a great way out of the situation !!! it's always a little embarrassing when yarn runs out during your work :)

Thank you @tali72! I do like this new look, thanks to my mistake :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Linda bufanda.. @marblely

Gracias @xeliram! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you so much @helpiecake and @vibesforlife!! 😘

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it's a beautiful pairing. The two colors together add interest, and I quite like the stitch as well. Very nice creation.

Thank you @akiroq. It is a fun stitch to work on :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love this stitch and the colors together look really good!! It did brighten it up a bit ;)

Thank you @crosheille! I think so too. The original one was quite mono. It was a good mistake hehe.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You found a great solution for a 'yarn shortage' problem, @marblely ! And the best part, your adjusted design looks even better :D well done!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe thank you @vliet! Mixing and matching is pretty fun :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 55.375 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 7121 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.05% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thank you @actifit!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love crocheted moss stitch. Well done.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @fiberfrau! It is a nice and fun stitch to work isn’t it?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Much better with the lighter yarn, although it was unplanned 😁 I love linen stitch with alternating yarns and with variegated yarn, I think this brings out the full potential of the stitch pattern.
I think I once made a jacket in this stitch pattern and found it a bit more stretchy than for example hdc or sc.... but I am not sure if I remember correctly. I also remember that I didn’t find the stitch easy... I always missed if it was chain or single crochet. Not sure if it was because of me being inattentive.
Nevertheless, your scarf is very nice and I looove the stripes :-)

Hehe thank you @neumannsalva! Oo now that you mention, it is pretty stretchy at one side. I can imagine if we work this lengthwise for a jacket and then if u have a pocket and you place your phone in there, the jacket will stretch downwards! O dear, not a good stitch for jackets maybe.
Ah I had that problem too, I didn’t mention how many times I retried the stitch because it kept going narrower and narrower. Then, I decided to keep following the same last stitch method for every row, i.e. sc and chain 1 into the last stitch before turning my work to the next row. It kinda works :P

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34