My Actifit/Garden/Ulog Report Card: October 12 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4531.JPG
culvert taken from the street

Another day with not so many activity points but a very sore body.

I had plans for today. They had nothing to do with shoveling and lifting and carrying and such.

The plans included writing and blogging and podcast editing

Then, my son in law came over and everything changed.

He told me that it was supposed to rain today.

I stopped checking the forecast since it never seems to actually rain. He assured me that it was the real thing.

I had to spring into action!

The culvert you see in the picture above collects water from a whole city block. When it rains, so much water comes through there - it is like a raging river.

It doesn't rain very often. We had a short 20-minute rain a couple of weeks ago - but before that, nothing since January.

So all kinds of things accumulate in that ditch. Much of it is not what I want in my garden.

IMG_4532.JPG
Say no to cigarette butts all over the place!!

First, I pulled out the palm fronds that had accumulated since my last palm cleanup. I cut back some branches that kept hitting me in the head and set to work to shovel out the mess.

A gopher had managed to push a bunch of soil into the ditch right where the water is coming in from the other side of the street. If I am not digging it up, it will be pushed all over - or, it will build a dam and cause flooding.

I dug up almost 10 buckets of soil in that one spot. I spread that on the foot of the palm tree away from the culvert. Look what I found while doing that.

IMG_4530.JPG

I have dragon fruit climbing up the palm (or scratching me if I park too close to the tree). This is the first year that the plant is producing fruit. I hope it is a good one!

After much shoveling of dirt and leaves and such, it finally looked like the water had clear sailing.

IMG_4533.JPG

I filled 2 large trashcans with dirt, leaves, plastic, cigarette butts and such to go to the landfill. Usually, I am all for keeping all organic material on my property, but I make an exception for this. The amount of trash which ends up in the ditch is amazing. Plus, the first runoff from the street is not the best thing to have around.

That is why I keep the geraniums growing into the ditch. They are catching a lot of debris and prevent it from ending up in my yard.

IMG_4534.JPG
Geranium pollutant trap

As you can see in the picture, there is alos chicken wire mesh under the fence. This also helps to trap a lot of the larger solids.

After I was done with the front, it was time to tackle the backyard part. About halfway into the yard, I build a little dam in the culvert and a big ditch to divert the water into. It holds the water and allows it to sink into the landscape.

The dam has an overflow - very necessary. Otherwise, I would flood my neighbor.

I also re-dug a sinkhole to allow the water coming in to drop any solid pollutants it might have brought along through all the former defense systems.

Behind the dam, I made sure to clean up all the leaves and such so we don't have a buildup where the water is supposed to leave my property. We see how it goes. It is raining right now.

Here is the sound of rain filling my water harvesting barrel. It is like music to my ears!

At about 5 PM, my husband texted me to ask if it looked like rain. This is the picture I send him.

56108001342__774C876F-B9FA-47F8-98C8-861C9B732D1E.JPG

It didn't really look like rain to me. But I am glad I finished the project, even though it took me till after it became dark. Tomorrow, I share some pictures of the rain filling my water harvesting ditch!

For all that soreness I am feeling in my body right now, I have to say I was hoping for way more activity points



6037
Daily Activity

Sort:  

COMPLETE THUNDER OVERHAUL
Read Here

The Thunder Gods have deemed you a worthy recipient of this upvote.
You are a true supporter and it is the God’s honor to bestow you with our gift.

If you wish to receive greater gifts please consider the various delegation levels!

Tier 1 - 50 SP --- Tier 2 - 100 SP --- Tier 3 - 200 SP
Tier 4 - 300 SP --- Tier 5 - 400 SP --- Tier 6 - 500 SP
Tier 7 - 750 SP --- Tier 8 - 1000 SP --- Tier 9 - 1500 SP
Tier 10 - 2000 SP --- Tier 11 - 2500 SP --- Tier 12 - 5000 SP
We can't wait to support you!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky.

The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy,
rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Get on-board early and grow with us!

That is all worth way more than 50k steps imho. If you were wearing a fitbit, hells to the yeah probably even closer to the 100k mark hehe :) <333 love you. and the sound of rain! so glad you are getting to harvest the blessings & ty for sharing the music of rain with us.

that is for sure LOL. when the integration comes, I will break down and buy a fitbit LOL

Riiiight! Same here. Can't wait 😁🌿🌼🎆💝

So did it rain ? In some places, if the clouds are nearby, it’s going to rain or if the air smells damp

It is raining as we speak. I am going to update my post now with pictures and more text. Easier on the computer than on the phone :)

Oh yes.. Typing on the phone is tough unless just a simple comment. A whole writeup is crazy 😬

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 31.625 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 6037 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 2.90% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.
    To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
    To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

I'm sitting before a big window waiting for our first rain of the season too @mariannewest. And as I read your post it started raining here after only promising the whole week. I love rain! Hope yours arrive too!

#steemitbloggers

It rained!!
So glad it rained for you too!!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 136 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you!! Hope it will!

I hope it did rain in the end, because it sounds like you've performed some very hard work.

I hope it rains after all the hard work you did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86