I'm Truly Happy When I'm Riding My Bike!

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Wearing the same clothes each day while cycling can lead to fungal infections. Roadie cyclists tell me this. It's not that I don't change clothes, but I tend to ride all through the day. Sweat builds up. Constant friction on your legs leads to chafing. Cotton retains moisture. They make synthetic padded shorts for a reason. I guess I learned the hard way. And I am stubborn so I kept riding. This led to a leg infection causing a rash all over my thigh. I finally just had to stop riding for a couple weeks.

I spent the last couple weeks really kind of feeling down and miserable. Riding my bike is the one thing that makes me happy and I had to sit home instead. Putting cream on my rash, ugh. I guess I could have done other stuff. I tried long walks but it wasn't the same. I want to travel by bike!

I had a few rides this week, gradually building up miles...I mean kilometers :). Well today I finally had a good long ride. I don't know where everybody else was on this beautiful summer day so I just went out solo this afternoon. I began by returning a book to the Little Free Library down the street. I had just finished NIght by Elie Wiesel and decided to exchange it for another book. I love just taking chances like this. I picked up Ragtime by E. L. Doctorow, which was later made into a musical. I haven't seen the musical but the book looked interesting. I'll read it once I'm finished with book I'm currently reading (Kafka By the Shore by Haruki Murakami).

IMG_20180805_135320978.jpg

I headed down to Bidwell Park for a bit. It's not the quietest place but I have to admit I was hoping to run into another lonely cyclist as it's a busy park. I rode to Gallagher Beach on the Outer Harbor afterward. So, I love that they have bike racks and a bike repair station but I really wish they would move the port-a-potties.

IMG_20180805_153959035_HDR.jpg

No swimming allowed but people are ignoring the signs. Good.

IMG_20180805_154219329.jpg

I stopped at Electric Avenue for a small pitcher of PBR and to play some pinball. Now, pinball is making a bit of a comeback here after largely disappearing from our bars over the last 20 years. When I lived in Pittsburgh from 2004-2008 there were still plenty of new and old pinball machines. There is a sudden influx of new machines here lately, which is great. But a lot of people seem to be put off by the older ones. They are so used to the pristine condition of the new games and think that anything older is not playable. But this is what most pinball machines were like before they disappeared from this city at the end of the 20th century. Sometimes there are flaws. I'm not talking about complete breakdowns such as broken flippers and bumpers. That's unacceptable. But sometimes one flipper is slightly weaker. You learn to play off the strengths and weaknesses of an individual table.Sometimes this is just part of the game. Besides, these games are just three for a buck. The new games are usually a dollar each.

I played WWF Royal Rumble, Spider-Man and Black Belt. The first two were decent, but pretty standard. I have to say I really liked Black Belt, a machine from the mid-80s. It had an unusual setup, with a circular ramp in the middle that included a reverse flipper, hitting the ball downward onto an awaiting ramp. At just a quarter per game, I hope to return to play it some more.

I don't know how they come up with this stuff, but this website put out a list of the best dive bars in upstate New York and Electric Avenue came in at number 30:

https://www.newyorkupstate.com/drinks/2018/03/upstate_new_yorks_35_best_dive_bars_according_to_yelp.html

IMG_20180805_164815121_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

IMG_20180805_171730108.jpg

I went home to make some food before going back out. Paranoid about any further cycling related infections I took a shower and changed clothes. I then headed back out to ride to the closing parade of the annual week and a half long Infringement Festival. The parade was led by our local marching band, Brass Pro and the Waterfront Revivalists.

IMG_20180805_184515090.jpg

IMG_20180805_195030022_BURST000_COVER.jpg

This was such an awesome day to ride. Summer's not over yet!



@robmolecule tracked today a total of 15802 moves/activity via Actifit Fitness Tracker.
This involved performing activity related to Cycling
Download Actifit Fitness Tracker mobile app from google playstore

Co-founder and Curator of:


Do you like what we do? Please consider giving us an upvote or even a resteem. This will help us pay out higher rewards to the community which encourage even more people to use #cyclefeed.

PARTICIPATE ON @CycleFeed



  1. Follow and upvote @CycleFeed
  2. Follow our curation trail on Steemauto or delegate Steem Power: Check out our tutorial!
  3. Use the tag #cyclefeed in your posts: Check out the requirements!

Join our sub-group on the Steemit Travellers on Discord!

With over 500 members already on the Steemit Travellers Discord, it is an excellent place to meet other travelers and chat about traveling! Now you are also presented with the Cycling sub-group, that has been created just for you, the Cyclist. The server is also the place where you can ask all your questions about CycleFeed.

Proud member of:


Sort:  

Nice write up and man, those nasty rashes are tough. I've not had that problem but I can see how easily it would happen. I generally wear some mountain bike style cycling shorts and at the end of each day, I try to change out of them, rinse/wash them a tad if possible, and then hang them up until the next day. I don't know if this really helps at all, hahaha but I've been paranoid about it enough to always do it :D

Yeah, I'm being more careful about that. The problem arises when deciding to ride 20 miles on a hot day to go hiking or something, then riding back later in the day. I guess I should bring a change of clothes next time.

Your post also prompted me to get on the discord, delegate, and get on the voting trail, so happy to finally read more into your posts at last. I'm not always the smartest guy when it comes to find this stuff :D

Oh cool thanks! I'll try to go to the chatroom more often but MrProfessor seems to be more on top of that.

Lessons have to be learned... Sigh. Glad you're back on the saddle and on the mend! Sounds as though you chose an awesome day to ride with fun destinations. I'm curious about the Infringement Festival. Minneapolis has Fringe Fest.

I guess most Fringe fests are bigger events with corporate sponsors which is what Infringement attempted to counter. Other complaints were that they charged performers. But this was Montreal Fringe. We never had a Fringe Festival here, but rather just did our own version of Infringement after it spread from Montreal to Buffalo.

What is the Minneapolis Fringe Fest like?

Niiiiiice man, your city is so active, it's awesome how there's always something happening.

it can be hard being unable to cycle, I felt that last month with the rain season. At some point I just gave up and rode on the rain anyway.

Soon you'll be back on the long run.

You are really having an adventure.
Hope you are gradually recovering from your cycling infection??

Yeah. Still have a slight rash on my leg that I don't want to aggravate.

Congrats! You just reached the top level milestone via using Actifit fitness tracker and provided Proof of Activity!
You accordingly gained 100 Actifit tokens for attaining 15802 steps!
You also received an 8.91% upvote via @actifit account.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 134 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97