#marketfriday with @dswigle - getting the goodies in Clarendon Park, Leicester: September 14 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Early start getting through work before a trip to the health centre for some follow up and then round to Queens Road to stock up on some goodies for the weekend.

20180914_121208.jpg
First stop - Archer's the butchers. When I asked whether it would be okay to take a photo for my blog, we had quite a chat about Steem. "Well," he said, "I never had you down for a techno."

Past the florist's. The aroma is always gorgeous.

20180914_121253.jpg

20180914_122025.jpg
Next stop - Green & Pleasant wholefoods. A tiny shop packed to the gunnels, interesting sauces, seasonings, spices and pastes as well as the proverbial beans and rice. Lovely bread baked locally - picture below.

Definitely past the vinyl shop - spend way too much in there! Lovely environment, though, you can lose days without realising it.
20180914_121510.jpg

20180914_122203.jpg
The greengrocers - I love it that you can buy one onion in here if that's all you want. I'm planning to make some courgette relish a la @foxyspirit so I was msking sure I had all the ingredients for that (not courgettes, though)!

I also went in the cheese shop and bought some serious Red Leicester and a slice of Black Bomber. They had a cheese called True Grit but I didn't rise to the challenge .

IMG_2167.JPG
Farmhouse Red Leicester made in Rutland. It had a lovely taste, almost like burnt toffee. The bread was from Paul's Bakery and the apples are Early Windsors grown in Suffolk.

Actually, I bought the bread for Ribollita. The recipe said 'good quality bread'. Daft, I know buying bread specially for a recipe that was intended to use up stale bread.



12697
Daily Activity, Walking
</div

Sort:  

All that food looks very lovely and I love that you have the cheese shop and bread shop and green grocer - not all in one...

And I have seen this acitfit thing and have to check it out.

Hello @mariannewest thsnk you for coming by. Yes, it's a whole row of independent shops. There is a supermarket there, but I rarely go in it, I dislike (among msny things) the air conditioning.
Actifit is good and quite simple to use although I had to learn to remember to keep my phone in my pocket. Good for gardening, I easily rack 7,000 steps! Hope all is well.

How nice this post is! Oh, the wonder of cheese! I love it and yours looks wonderful. I do like how you described it as being like almost burnt toffee. Yummy sounding! And, yes, please!

Very nice, all those independent shops so close together, selling goods that make my mouth water. I would go miles for a slab or cheese like that, but then, adding that bread and oh, Lordy! I'll follow you anywhere!

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post to #MarketFriday. I know the effort it takes to put it together! Thanks!

Upped and steemed

Hello @dswigle, thank you for coming by. This is a lovely tag and I enjoy reading the different posts from around the world. It's also fun now and then to puit together my own post. Hope all is well in your world - the cruise looks marvellous. I had never thought about one before but yesterday I had a look in the local paper, there are lots available including one to see the Northern LIghts. I might try one for myself :)

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shanibeer

We have planted already 3659.53 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 36508.76
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congrats! You just reached the top level milestone via using Actifit fitness tracker and provided Proof of Activity!
You accordingly gained 100 Actifit tokens for attaining 12697 tracked activity!
You also received an 3.41% upvote via @actifit account.

Congratulations @shanibeer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.262 which ranks you at #19631 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 19636).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #305.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12