#marketfriday and seasonal eating: November 30 2018

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

It was a crisp bright morning when I set off to do a review of the Tiny Bakery for Tasteem's bakeries and patisseries contest. It turns out that the Tiny Bakery really is tiny and it might be easier to make an appointment. The coffee and fresh baked fruit scone with lots of butter were lovely, though, at just £3.90.

IMG_2371.JPG

Not to be thwarted, my @tasteem review turned into a #marketfriday haul. I'd nearly bought the Nigel Slater book yesterday from Amazon, but it turned up in one of the charity bookshops along with Eliza Acton's "The People's Book of Modern Cookery". Eliza's book had a book-plate for South Wigston P. U. Bible Class dated 1906, and a hand-written recipe for marrow jam (with ginger and chilli) fixed in the back with a perforated stamp.

I noticed that the stoneware jar had been hand-thrown and found a stamp for the George Spey Wilnecote Potteries at Tamworth (later taken over by Doulton). A bit more research revealedd that the jar was probably made between 1862 and 1892. The sausage roll and florentines were from the Tiny Bakery, and the remainder of the fresh food were additional ingredients for dishes using ...

IMG_2353.JPG

Fresh organic vegetables from the November boxes delivered each week by Eden Farms. From top left - chard, broccoli, garlic, cauliflower, leeks, red cabbage, potatoes (roasting, boiling and baking), onions and carrots.

I'm a great one for cookery programmes and at the moment I'm addicted to the Hairy Biker's Comfort Food. I bought some neck of lamb the other day (wonderful inexpensive sweet-tasting cut of meat) and today I bought a fresh kidney (I've never cooked these before) from Archer's in Queen's Road for a variation on Lancashire Hotpot served with braised red cabbage.

Earlier this week, I tried recipes from other favourite cookery writers:

IMG_2356.JPG

A variation on Rachel Roddy's Pasta e Fagioli Soup. Rachel is a fabulous food writer, I've learned so much from her about simply prepared dishes, so many of them at their best at room temperature.

I've made a winter version of the soup with a "serious soffritto" of onion, carrot and celery and some fresh, over-ripe tomatoes that needed using. Borlotti beans are delicious and, in this version, the soup has a very full meaty taste. I used crushed tagliatelle as the pasta - the irregular sizes and shapes made it a good choice (I don't add too much pasta). Chopped parsley and chilli flakes added as a garnish lift the dish to another level.

IMG_2359.JPG

I really like Nigel Slater's take on food and cooking, very intuitive and gentle, he often uses lots of vegetables, and is not averse to shop bought pastry and bechamel sauce. This is a variation on his leek and mushroom pie.

This is gorgeous, with a tarragon and creme fraiche sauce. I didn't have any Marsala to hand, so added a little dry white wine and a teaspoon or two of cherry vodka brought back from Krakow. I've used puff pastry instead of the crushed baked potato topping, although I might try that another time.

We had it with roasted tomatoes (recipe in this post) and fresh broccoli. This is another "meaty" dish - rich, delicious and filling.

IMG_2372.JPG

Inspired by @akipponn's #breadbakers tag, I decided to start making bread again. I use a breadmaker; I have a tiny kitchen so, like all my appliances, it's compact. It still makes a full size loaf, but it only has three settings - of which I've only used one until now.

This post "A baker needs to measure everything" by @breadcentric is a really good introduction to the science involved in breadmaking.

IMG_2373.JPG

Perfect taste if not perfect shape (I couldn't resist peeking when it had started baking). Made with my favourite flour - Bacheldore Windmill - from Leicester Wholefood Co-op.


I'm also a great fan of the Michael Pollan's Cooked series, available on Netflix, which includes an episode about bread.

Thanks to @dswigle for hosting #marketfriday - one of my favourite tags!



12966
Shopping, Walking

Sort:  

Oh, everything looked sooooo delicious!!

Analogue cheese is a cheese replacement food, used in a lot of vegan recipes. :) It does sound a little odd though. LOL

Seasonal Food is always best, isn't it? It's freshest and at peak flavor! You really outdid yourself on this post! So glad that you could join us! Michael Pollan did a cooking series?? Ohhh! On Netflix! Awesome!!

I learned something new today!

I love making bread, but, I sometimes cheat a little. I let the machine mix and knead the bread, then I take it out and bake it in the oven. So delicious!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thank you for coming by @dswigle and glad you enjoyed the post. I haven't got round to the Christmassy bit yet, although I do love wandering around the town centre after dark when everywhere is lit up. There are some lovely displays in the shops, I usually have a real tree but perhaps this year I will go for an outrageously artificial one - silver or lilac with all the matching decorations!

You can buy this flour through amazon. It's handy.

That's good to know 😊, thank you.

Welcome to the bread baking community @shanibeer! :)

Hello @breadbakers thank you for the welcome, I'm pleased to be here 😊. I have started thinking how I could experiment with my simple bread machine 😎.

@shanibeer, everything above looks soooo tasty! Reading you post I realize that I am hungry and it is the right time to go to have a lunch. See ya later!

You need some food for all those steps!

I agree with you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you... now I am hungry....
And I want to buy a cookbook, read it while watching the Netflix show you recommend and meanwhile someone serves me scones (you do not get them here, except you bake them yourself) and drink tea out of an antique mug.
😂 😂 😂 😂 😂

PS: Although I do not eat meat and it is a meat heavy season, I loved Netflix's 'fat salt acid heat'

Pleased to make your day :) I didn't realise "fat salt acid heat" was on netflix - thank goodness, I have nearly exhausted my supply of food/cookery programmes!

Oh yeeees, but only 4 episodes (I could have watched more) and she always brings her wonderful yellow casserole with her and now I dream of this...(I am easily manipulated 😂)
https://www.dansk-designs.com/de/
but not only is it very expensive, the yellow one is no longer sold...

I know - I want this 😱

Ohhh also beautiful 😍 (and expensive 😂😂)

Looks like some great seasonal food.

I didn't know Michael Pollan did a cooking series, I'll check that out.

I quite frequently chuckle about the concept of 'edible food like substances'.

Thanks :) It's certainly nice when the weather is ... seasonal .
I always wonder what "analogue cheese" is when I see it in a list of ingredients.
It's the series of the book - both were great.

I've never heard of anaolgue cheese.

Actually talking about dairy... when did butter become so expensive.

I actually put back a £3 large butter slab yesterday.... I'll stick to the edible food like alternative at that price!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry, it's cheese analogue (not the other way round), used by a pizza takeaway ... pretty much everywhere. It includes vegan cheese so not necessarily a bad thing.
Yeh, I try and buy butter on offer and stick it in the freezer.

wow! I’ve been thinking about baking bread myself for a long time, but I don’t have the courage to do it :) you are great! did it.

I'm sure you would do a good job! I like using the machine because you can leave it and come back when the bread is ready :) if you search the #breadbakers tag or look at the @breadbakers account, I'm sure you will get lots of ideas and help :)

Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.262 which ranks you at #8034 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 18 places in the last three days (old rank 8052).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #157.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 70 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 12966 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 7.02% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

🎁 Hi @shanibeer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: All That Glitters... Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78