This year my big adventure will be growing potatoes: January 12 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

20190112_191526.jpg
I've consulted the Kitchen Gardener on the matter ...

20190112_191646.jpg
I like looking at the charts and imagining when I am going to eat them ...

20190112_191719.jpg
The fun at the moment is choosing which varieties ...

I'm tucked up on the sofa with a glass of wine, several catalogues, my big Kitchen Gardener book and the iPad doing "research". I have made some decisions: three varieties - an early (what we call new potatoes, dig and eat as soon as possible), a maincrop (leave for longer in the ground and store to eat through the winter) and a salad potato (for showing off).

I already know the maincrop will be Golden Wonder. I came across it mentioned this morning in a recipe for Irish Stew. Apparently, it is the very potato for this dish due to its high (22%) dry matter content.

Googling "potato collections" came up with many choices including collections for beginners, blight resistant, small plots and chef's culinary - "three great tasting varieties used by some of the world's leading [unnamed] chefs."

I've more reading to do before I make my final decisions.



5815
Shopping

Sort:  

I used to love planning my allotment. Potatoes are a fab thing to grow... had both success and failures with them.

They do quite well in large tubs btw.

All my gardening equipment's in the cellar now.... got to focus on growing my website instead!

Posted using Partiko Android

Any special recommendations? I was thinking sbout three varieties, I'm now coming round to one all-rounder - Duke of York seems the best bet so far.
I'm torn between the tubs and in the ground. I've one very good bed - best soil and position - and I'm torn between using it for potatoes (right place in the the manuring/composting cycle) and keeping it for tomatoes and greens. Tubs would be good on one of the upper beds - still ridden with tree stumps and the dreaded bamboo encroaching from next door.
How's the website going? You've got quite a good schedule, I think?

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I was doing the same for tomatoes today 😄 I envy you that you have a space to grow potatoes!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have a million tiny tomato seeds growing in the garden from last year! I'm going to leave some and see how they get on.
I will grow some of the potatoes in gro-sacks this year, I don't think I have enough room to grow them all in the ground.
I know that, last year, when I went out in the evening to pick vegetables for my dinner, I missed potatoes! Also, although there are potatoes in the organic veg delivery, often there are not enough for a whole week (onions are the same), so I thought that if I grow some, that will supplement the boxes 😊.

That's the motivation to grow veggies :D Using a bag is a good idea.

I ordered tiny tomato seeds called Tiny Tim. I grow them for my daughter and her friends :)

Tiny Tim looks like lots of fun!

You can do both. It’s called a pomato plant. I just posted an article on it.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 35.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5815 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 3.13% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86