#sublimesunday - just had to quickly run out to get a guinness: March 17 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

IMG_2533.PNG
I think this was taken last Sunday but different week same weather. Only today it read "hail showers and strong breezes". It was true: hail, rain, strong winds and every variation interspersed with brilliant sunshine but not for long.

It had dried up by the evening and I went for my constitutional around the Botsnic Garden to see what damage had been wreaked. Everything did look a bit watery and battered. As I was gloating over the 7k+ steps I'd racked up, I realised it was St Patrick's Day and I decided to quickly run out for some Foreign Extra Guinness.


Three years ago I'd never drunk Guinness and certainly not Foreign Extra, but I found I liked it and usually we have some in the house, but today, St Pat's Day, we were without. The chocolate chips are for some brioche.

image.png
Source Luckily we had already had dinner. I found this new recipe for cooking winter cabbage - usually I like it boiled or steamed a fresh green with just tender ribs, with lots of butter and black pepper.

Another Rachel Roddy recipe, this time for winter meatballs with cabbage. The cabbage is braised in olive oil and then, when tender, slivered garlic and tomatoes and the previously prepared meatballs are added.

I made vegetarian meatballs, using Merchant Gourmet Puy lentils instead of minced beef and adding some smoked paprika in place of the pancetta. My sauce was more saucy and tomato-y than in the picture. Another time, I would try some chestnuts and porcini with the lentils. It was a tasty way to cook January King cabbage, and would be good with Savoy cabbages, too.

20190303_111910.jpg
The other big job today was planning the next stage for these little fellahs. This was taken on 3 March and now the little shoots have grown enough for the potato to be planted.

I've decided to go down to my local diy and garden store (much wider range and cheaper than Homebase or B&Q) tomorrow. I'm thinking 10l pots for these babies - they're intended as earlies producing new potatoes. Meanwhile, the half that I stored in the fridge have come out and been placed in a cool room to start chitting (producing sprouts). I'm thinking these will go into potato containers, three to a bag, as they are intended as main crop potatoes for storage and using over winter.

It's a bit of a problem thinking where to put the first lot once they are planted. There's too big a risk of frost to put them outside, so it will probably be the back porch where they will get some protection.

20190316_113801.jpg
The other choice is the front porch, which gets more light, but that needs some organising ... I'm not sure I'm ready for that ;)

#sublimesunday hosted by @c0ff33a



10445
Walking

Sort:  

Yikes it's Saint Patrick's must run out for some Guinness! Lol yea not going to lie it's come round really quick this year I didn't realise until almost halfway through the day.

The winter meatballs with cabbage look delicious. Go on, organise the porch for your spuds, they look good little sprouters.

The weather certainly has been. Potty lately - cold one day warm the next and gales in between . Hopefully no more frosts but you never know!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Me gusta mucho cómo está evolucionando favorablemente y siendo parte de la comunidad blockchain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello Daniel!

Well it sure seems like your weather is a lot like Michigan! Thanks for the visit to my page today! I like to think that Spring will get here eventually lol. I decided to follow you and see who gets Spring first! :)

It's a beautiful day here today, so warm you don't need a jacket!
I had to pick up a piece of beef brisket today, I was so impressed by your last year's St Pat's day dinner. The beef looked perfect and so did all the vegetables. This is me trying to eat a more plant based diet! Ha!

Oh it is still early here and I have yet to have more than a cup of coffee, so now I am thinking about brisket and my tummy is rumbling!!! I know it will turn out to be delish!

Hehe welcome! I think Michigan may be a little colder than here. We had two weeks of very warm weather in February, but it was just teasing. Today looks better - light cloud and gentle breeze 😊

@shanibeer, a nice count of steps! Congratulations!
The meal seems to have been very delicious!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 66.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10445 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 2.52% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67