Notes from Anni Albers: Tate Modern

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

When I pulled back the blinds this morning everywhere was bathed in golden light, it was as if the world was floating in a sea of gold. I ran to the back of the house to see the sunrise but the light had gone by the time I got there and now, minutes later, it is raining heavy perpendicular rain.

It was dry and overcast, very mild, the day I went to see the Anni Albers exhibition at Tate Modern. I was in a raging fury. Every review I had read, the exhibition guide itself, talked about how, at the Bauhaus, that bastion of progressive thought, Anni Albers had been turned away from the workshop she wanted to do and directed towards weaving - the women's workshop.

I raged at having to go and see this exhibition, which didn't sing to me, by a woman artist, rare enough in itself, but one who engaged, not with paint or sculpture, but with fibres and yarns. I raged that it was such an arduous and labour and time intensive art, unlike Picasso, turning out masterpieces in a day, and, when the loom became too hard, Albers turned to printmaking, while Picasso had craftsmen churning out ceramic ashtrays in the south of France.

The exhibition was spare, disciplined, some aspects brutal - the interior designs for the Harvard Graduate Centre (1950) were stylish and modern, but looked far from comfortable.

IMG_2379.PNG
Source Student interior for Harvard Graduate Centre. From an article by Craig Berry, junior designer at VBAT.

The audience was smaller and quieter than at the big painterly exhibitions (Burne-Jones at Tate Britain the next day was jammed as tight as any Black Friday sale, people coo-ing over the extravagant soulless subjects of a million birthday cards). Many were women, younger than me but not young, I would guess artists, and all with the same searching expression.

I raged before the exhibition, all through it and for some time since. The more I understood about how innovative and creative she was, the more I raged. I recognised it was extraordinary that, even while still studying, she invented a sound-proof, noise-absorbing, light reflecting fabric to cover the walls of an auditorium incorporating a new material, cellophane. I was so angry I could hardly take in her brilliance.

IMG_2380.JPG
Source La Luz I (1947), Anni Albers. The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation, Bethany, Connecticut. © 2018 Josef and Anni Albers Foundation/Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York/DACS, London. From an article by Tanya Harrod.

It is only weeks later, starting to engage with her works and ideas through drawing and making my own knitting and crochet samples, that some of those emotions are starting to fade. Even while I was there, and in spite of my rage, I understood the luminescence of some of her pieces, which seemed to capture the golden light I saw this morning.

Gazing at the postcards or catching sight of them upside down, lying on the floor where I've left them, I start to see the many influences and effects.

IMG_2312.JPG
Even in my rage, as I left the exhibition I was struck by the luminescence and resonances with Ancient Writing (1936) of the London night sky. My journey begins.

IMG_2310.JPG

Tate Exhibition Guide

Sort:  

I've never heard 'brutal' applied to anything other than architecture before. Does architecture fall within your love of art and design? Fabulous writing :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I like architecture as well. Some brutalist architecture is very pleasing, I like the whole stretch of the South Bank in London and there's an estate in Wandsworth) which is very striking. In both cases, there's a lot of open space around them (well, there's the river on one side of the South Bank). I think they need to have that space.

Source

Thanks for the comment about the writing. There's so much more to write about her (and I've only picked two topics which are relevant to #needleworkmonday). Her whole approach to art and the relationship between different art forms is fascinating. But I had to get rid of the rage first :) The audience were very interesting, I wanted to interview some of them, I wondered what the searching was about, they looked like they were looking for something.

Coincidence or fate :-DDD You write about Anni Albers me about Josef Albers.
I so can understand your rage, but mine is a bit more about her still missing fame than her being forced to pursue "women art" (ok while writing this, I may change the target of my rage). Still accomplishments of female artist are less valued than of male counterparts.
Sadly, I could not visit her exhibition in Düsseldorf this fall because of my sh*** headaches. I still need beaming invented - fast!

It is ESP over the internet :)
Both things are enraging!
There are a lot of resources on the Tate website (scroll right down the page for more) - not as good as seeing the exhibition, I agree, but quite imaginative, I think?

@shanibeer, thank you for the post. I like the way you express yourself and your writing style. Although, to be honest, I am not very interested in exhibitions, for me your post was very interesting to read. Good job! And, of course, reading your posts help me improve my English.

Thank you! Have a great day!

Hello @cryprospa :) I'm glad you enjoyed my post!
I will try to write one about burgers (or candy) especially for you ;)~
You have a good day too, in your Moscow winter, keep up those steps!

@shanibeer ... ha-ha-ha! Omg! You make me laugh! I cannot stop laughing. Come on! That is funny ... a post about burgers (or candy). I like them! I love them!

Have a great evening and keep on Steeming!

Congratulations @shanibeer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

That's very nice, thank you :)

Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.262 which ranks you at #8034 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #143.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you steem-ua. I'm not going to continue to use you. I was ambivalent about the concept from the start and your low votes mean that I can make much better use of this delegation elsewhere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87