My Actifit Report Card: augustus 13 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Let me take you for a walk and show you our awesome neighbourhood.

20180802_113625.jpg
Click to enlarge

As I've told you before, going for walks is not really my cup of tea. Forunately, I moved out of the city a couple of years ago.I can't even start to imagine what walking would be like when there would be nothing but buildings and streets made out of concrete for as far as the eye can see.

But this place is different... Although it might not look very special to you, to me it is heaven on earth. After all, I spent 38 years of my life living in the center of the city. Horses, crop fields,... those were things I only came across looking out of the car window when drivung somewhere.

But not anymore...

Let me show you how beautiful a walk around the block can be.

#walkwithme

Once you cross the big road it feels like you step into a John Wayne movie. Acres of fields, on which a guy takes care of horses that are to old to work or to go to competition with.

20180802_105052.jpg
Click to enlarge

A bit further down the road, an old farm has been completely renovated and is waiting for the new owners to arrive.

20180802_105432.jpg
Click to enlarge

When you live in the city, the few fields are occupied by cows. Here, cows are an exception. Everybody seems to be owning one or more horses. Lucky me, because I prefer horses over cows any time.

20180802_105534.jpg
Click to enlarge and rotate the image

A lot of the fences are decorated with sunflowers, which makes the area even more beautiful.

20180802_105634.jpg
Click to enlarge and rotate the image

Almost everybody grows his own veggies here. Everywhere you look, you see fields of leaks, zucchini or corn. Next to all the greenhouses I pass during my walks, the one I have seems to be made for leprichauns, lol. They are all so huge...

1534164301542.jpg
Click to enlarge

The way to our friend's house leads us through small roads into the forest. The sun shining through the trees makes those even more adorable than they already are.

1534164502017.jpg
Click to enlarge

On our way there, we pass by this huge domain owned by someone who is loaded with money. On this domain, he keeps donkeys, deer, kangaroos and a lot more.
Unfortunately, only the piggies and turkeys were willing to have their picture taken.

1534164655093.jpg
Click to enlarge

Here is just a glimpse of the mansion he lives in:

20180802_113834.jpg
Click to enlarge

On our way back home, we past the horses again. This little guy just stood there, asking us to take a picture. Of course we couldn't resist :0)

20180802_114724.jpg
Click to enlarge

5 years ago, I would have never believed you if you would have told me that a walk around the block could be such a beautiful experience. Today, I am experiencing it every day, and I truly feel blessed.

No way I'm moving back into the city again...


signature2.gif

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter

More Posts You Might Like:



@simplymike tracked today a total of 6674 moves/activity via Actifit Fitness Tracker.
This involved performing activity related to Walking
Download Actifit Fitness Tracker mobile app from google playstore

Sort:  

Love the walk around your neighborhood @simplymike. This is a perfect post for the #walkwithme created by @lyndsaybowes :) You should check it out!

I grew up in the countryside like this and am not sure that I could go back to it; kind of the opposite of you ... I haven't yet had my fill of city living, although here it's not the same as city living back home. I'd had enough of Vancouver, that's for sure.

And kangaroos?? That's crazy. My dad would say, "more money than brains" lol

I couldn't find any decent info on the #walkwithme tag you mentioned. Maybe you could point my nose in the right direction?
And, yeah, kangaroos... this guy has so much money he can afford to have a whole series of uncommon animals on his piece of land.

Just check out @lyndsaybowes blogs; she started the tag and does a compilation of everyone's regularly. And if she sees this, she can correct me if I'm wrong lol

That is an awesome neighborhood. Awesome photos ...

You have been nominated for COM .. https://steemit.com/comedyopenmic/@rentmoney/kids-say-the-darndest-things-2-comedy-open-round-26

Thanks, but I don't do funny. At least, not on purpose :0)
And I'm completely not in the mood to even give it a try...

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Pretty spot @simplymike. You can't beat living in the rurals matey. City buzz will eventually rattle your brains loose in the end from my experience. Up voted and of course resteemed. :)

Thanks.
City buzz has rattled my brains loose for 38 years...I suspect that's where a lot of the damage comes from.

It is so weird: during those 38 years living in the center of one of our biggest cities, I didn't want to leave. Back then, I told my girlfriend she shouldn't expect me to come and live with her in that village.
Eventually, I gave in and moved herë. I think it tookme about one month to be absolutely sure I never want to go back to the city anymore.
Life works in mysterious ways... :0)

Congrats! You just reached level 2 milestone via using Actifit fitness tracker and provided Proof of Activity!
You accordingly gained 35 Actifit tokens for attaining 6674 steps!
You also received an 2.39% upvote via @actifit account.

I love this kind of walk, I am a village girl, eventhough I'm living in the city right now. to be honest, I've never found such place like your place in my country. when you said everyone has horses, does it mean they have more than one horses? someone told me horse is a social animal, it's not a good idea to have only one horse. Love the sunflower photos, though I need to rotate it.. hehehehe.

Yes, most people have more than one. I think they would get bored when they would be alone all the time.
Quite regularly you see a normal-sized horse that is kept company by a very small one - like a Shetlander. Those small ones are not as high maintenance as the big ones, and still they are good company.

I don't know what's up with the pics. Whatever I try, they always appear sideways. With my other phone, I just turned them around and re-uploaded them, but that doesn't seem to work anymore.
The weirdest part, however, is that if you click the image to enlarge it, it is showing like it is supposed to show.

I hope I can figure out how to fix it really soon

Such an enjoyable walk! What a treat to get a better glimpse into your world. It's wonderful you've adopted country life so well after being in the city your whole life. I was raised in the country but moved to to city when I was able to live on my own. It took around 20 years to get back into the country but it only lasted two and a half years before my marriage ended. Now, i am back in town. A rural town which is really nice. I've no doubt once i get back on my feet i will be back in the country again. My son has 5 years of school left so we'll likely get him through that before rooting in the wilderness again. It's nice you have a community close by. Where i grew up in the country farms were at best a few miles apart. Thank-goodness for bikes and horses to get us places! P.S. your #walkwithme was highlighted in Lyndsey's post!

Thanks for letting me know, @yogajill. I'm so far behind on my replies that I don't even get to my mentions, so it would haven taken a while before I found out about being featured :0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80