When Addiction Takes Over

in #addiction5 years ago

Yesterday I found out that one of my acquaintances passed away right before Easter. He was 48 years old and was suffering from diabetes and liver cirrhosis. It's very sad to deal with illnesses and die at this young age. This is where people say "poor guy". We were not so close but I still keep thinking about his life and how it ended.

The truth however is more complex. He knew years ago that he has diabetes, liver cirrhosis and also admitted that he's still drinking. We all know you can't get away with drinking as after a while you have to pay the price, there will be serious consequences. When you are already sick and you're still drinking ...

I know another case that happened around that time too. A 47 year old guy hung himself. This is also very tragic. I didn't know him but I found out that he's been diagnosed with prostate cancer in his twenties but he got cured. He was totally fine, got cleared after five years. After that he started smoking, he was smoking three packs of cigarettes a day because he said we only live once. Then last year he was diagnosed with lung cancer and it looks like it was too much for him, which I can totally understand.

We are all addicts at a certain level even though we sometimes are in denial or fail to recognize the signs. I'm a serious coffee addict even though gave up drinking coffee 10 months ago. I still consider myself and addict because I know once I drink a cup of coffee I'm back to my old habits again. I'm not ashamed to admit that.

After I quit, got some criticism from those who still are in my shoes and don't want to quit. Funny thing is that no one forced them to quit or tried to convince them but people have the habit of defending themselves even though no one is attacking them.

How-to-Stop-an-Addiction-in-its-Tracks-768x512.jpg
source

Understanding the reasons and being honest with yourself is the most important thing when it comes to quitting. I came to realize this shortly before I decided to quit. In order to be able to quit, I had to think of what coffee meant to me. I believe that's the only way you can do some progress, otherwise you would fail.

This experience helped me recognize signs and read people better. This could be a very good thing but in fact is sad as I see many people in denial and on their way to becoming addicts. Many people are kidding themselves, thinking they have quit but still using some kind of substitute while others are at the beginning and in denial.

I don't like the current situation at all. I see teenagers drinking soda with energy drink at 7 am in their way to school while smoking. I see adults in front of the bar at 7 am, waiting to open so they can get a coffee but that coffee is often accompanied with something stronger. And I haven't even mentioned anything about what's going on in some fancy clubs or other places.

You can try to justify your actions each and every time you are abusing some kind of substance, legal or illegal, but your body and health doesn't care about those so called "justifications". Just because it makes you feel good doesn't mean it's good for you. You're going to pay the price sooner or later.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you!

Addiction is such a tough thing for me as I haven’t been hooked on anything more serious than a couple cups of coffee a day or a few too many beers on the weekend. So I understand basically the dependence and habits but not the huge hole to dig out of from serious addictions.

Still so serious and I love the campaigns to reduce the stigma of discussing it and asking for help.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad to hear that. It's great to read comments like yours and keep staying out of addition as it's very bad.

You got a 6.20% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85