The Old Dog Presents: A Sign of The Times!

in #addiction5 years ago

Cell phone addiction. 

  • Friends and family are sitting together but no one is conversing, they're too busy texting someone who's not there!
  • While taking someone on a driving tour around the beautiful lake of Como instead of looking at the view they're scrolling through photos on their phone of their home and family.


last night after dinner @lellabird60 and I went to a piano bar to enjoy some live music. We were both struck by the sight of two elderly women who didn't speak a word to each other because they both had their eyes glued to their cell phones.


Despite the richness of the surrounding enviroment these women had their attention focused elsewhere.


Why not speak to each other, watch the performance or soak in the ambiance of the surroundings?


What About You?

  • Have you made similar observations?
  • Are we, as a society slaves of our cell phones?
  • Are you too attached to your device?
  • Should we learn to set limits?


Thanks for following me on my travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you. 

Note: If you're waiting for the results from my last two contests please be patient with me. I'm travelling in Italy right now but I hope to post them when I'm back home at the end of this week.

 

 

Until next time,   


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)    


Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

Cell phones seem to be just one more convenient distraction from truly engaging in the moment. Television, politics, shopping, you tube, social media are all at the top of the list of high level distractions that have become so much a part of our culture that few even see the time and energy they suck from being present right now. Our now very short attention spans require that constant stimulation. It is interesting how the older generations too are now being infected. I've experienced that too when being with groups of people.

BTW--your mention of Lake Como---is that in Colorado?

@everlove! So happy to “see you”! Instant joy for me!

Lake Como in Italy. Greetings to you all in Eden!

How easy it is to be joyful!! I'll pass on the greetings. Grateful to have them! Back at you @kus-knee!

@kus-knee,
I use my phone for three purposes only!
#1: To capture untalented photography
#2: To answer a phone call
#3: To play a game (I have 2-3 good mobile games to play)
Social media with phone - I hate it
STEEMIT with phone - I do (rarely)

Cheers~

Interesting usage analysis!

I switched to a flip phone a couple of months ago and I couldn't be happier. I got rid of the useless apps and I only use my SNS from my computer at home. This gives me more time during the day to read, study, and think clearly. I even sleep better at night because my eyes aren't exposed to the HUGE bright smartphone screen from when I pulled it out and scrolled every other minute.
Back to your post, funny thing is I've never that kind of behavior until I moved to Korea. I usually play a game of 'spot the person without a cell phone' on the bus or subway. I'm heading back home to Texas in a couple months and I'm anxiety/scared/excited to see how my own culture has changed since I've been gone.
IMG_20181031_222327.jpg

Great commment and have a safe trip back to Texas!

this is really annoying.
This is the case in our family. Everyone is just looking at his phone and the resulting image is incredible!
It can be called tragicomic!

You're right it is tragically comic!

Overall, I share the view of @ kus-knee which is more than relevant at this time. A smartphone is a tool with social applications, but it remains a tool. Luckily, I'm surrounded by friends between 20 and 30 years old still able to meet up in the evening without putting their nose in their smartphone every 5-10 minutes but this is unfortunately no longer the case for many people. Like what is not yet completely "old school" even if some, including me, have only known laptops to their 14-15 years and again, we had not all social networks, the color on the screen and many more.

I am one of those who deeply irritates when, during a tête-à-tête (friendly or in love), the other puts his nose in his smartphone to follow the thread of the news on Facebook, Twitter or some other network . To this, many say that it is something social but I do not share this opinion. True social contact is not done by screen or interposed network. We can chat, exchange ideas, interact (as is the case here), we can share images, videos etc ... and I'm frankly because I use social networks, but not too much. Social sharing can be done by any means but not the actual contact. If we made as many kisses as we send smileys that mimic that, life would probably be much sweeter for each of us!

Yes more kisses for everyone!

If we made as many kisses as we send smileys that mimic that, life would probably be much sweeter for each of us!
That quote seriously needs to be printed on a t-shirt!!!

You are absolutely right.I think same situation in every family.Meet the family members.Everyone use in cell phones.I think this is bad thing.Don't talk family members.Every time use social media face book.tweeter.Thanks for sharing this experiecnce.

We should try and change by giving a good example!

It is very sad to see almost all the people, sticking to their cellphone. They really look like zombies! When I'm travelling in Budapest, this is a very common sight. I'm a rebel, so I'm going to get a book and read it instead of my cellphone. I think it's a big impoliteness to use cellphones at dinner (at home, restaurant or treat). No need to mention concert halls or theatre!
Well, I have a story of these cellphone-zombies. I went to a tour to the lakes of Plitvice, Croatia. There were many-many people walking on the pathes of the National Park, and I found there were young girls and boys who had been browsing on their smartphone while walking and they couldn't see anything of the beauties of nature. In addition, they listened to rap music very loudly (the source of the noise was of course cellphone). They walked as living dead, almost dropped me into the water, that was really deep and ice-cold. I would have liked to kick them on ass, dropping into the water but I did not do it because I respect nature and did not want to cause pollution.
That time I didn't use my cellphone but it dropped out from my pocket. Fortunately, our tour guide noticed it and warned me to pick it up!

A rebel that reads a book. I love it! Yes those zombies can be a danger to themselves and others!

This happens more and more, but honestly, they are doing what they were designed to do: distract us.

I designate a large portion of my day as 'unplugged'. I have to be online and use computers for my digital art work and social media things, but there is a time in the day when I shut it all off, even my mobile phone, and live unplugged. If I didn't I'd go bonkers.

You are acting wisely towards preserving your non brokered state!

I prefer people without cell phones... For work cell phones, tablets, laptops etc. are ok, but not for Life! I like your words: "society slaves" with cell phones and we "Should learn to set limits"!

https://steemit.com/children/@gladiatom/do-you-prefer-kids-with-or-without-mobil-2018-11-01-19-04-48

You're right!

This is truly a tragedy of the modern world! Perhaps this is a question of realizing true values? I have the good fortune to live and teach my children to enjoy real life: sounds, smells, colors, music and communication! Thank you for your thoughts, friend @kus-knee !

I like your attitude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94