Watch me solve my problem, then solve yours

in #adhd6 years ago

Analysis Paralysis:

The state of over-analyzing (or over-thinking) a situation so that a decision or action is never taken, in effect paralyzing the outcome.
source

I've talked about this before. It's back. I usually experience AP when I have a lot of projects going. Right now I have three.

  1. I want to build another computer
  2. I want to start mining
  3. I want to power up more steem

I am seeing that this can be a symptom of ADHD, which means I need to focus. I'm not going to a shrink to tell me this. I live with it, and I need to learn to work with it. I'm gonna work this out in real time right here and get paid a bit to do it (tyfys @dan).

Considerations:


I need to remember one of my mantras. Progress is progress.
This helps me center myself and prioritize issues. I make a lot of progress simply by nature of having a lot of balls in the air that I'm juggling. Some of them are self sustaining, and some have been tossed really high so that I don't have to focus on them. Let's apply that to my problem. Progress is progress.

  1. Computer
    I have a computer. Two computers. One of which I have made unable to use, and I am getting parts from a friend this weekend to make it work.
  2. Mining
    Those parts that @ogbrog is bringing this weekend? Yeah, they're mining parts. The parts I need in order to set up my big computer to mine. So... patience.
  3. SP
    I'm earning Steem daily. Any liquid steem is being powered up. Currently I'm giving away ll my SBD in what's turning out to be my biggest contest yet.

The verdict is in


Ladies and gentlemen, I have decided to be patient. I think I will hold my cash for a minute and see if any more urgent needs appear. Progress is being made, and I'm not going to let a little bit of anxiety cause me to act in a way that may upset that. Let's see what comes of it.

Stay relevant y'all

Nate


Personal note:


I hope this can help someone. I am finding ways to work with my anxiety, and I hope you can too. As the term implies, AP can be paralyzing. I hate it, but it's an everyday thing for me. Just another obstacle. Prioritizing and workflow are the two things that help me deal with it the most. If I have a clear goal and steps to achieve it, AP is easy to mitigate. In this situation, I'm at a bit of a junction. I arrived at this internal conflict because I'm branching out more into the world of crypto in an attempt to decentralize my income a bit. I'll make a post about that later tonight or tomorrow, but times of transition are when AP is most likely to strike me. I'd be interested in hearing how others deal with it. Perhaps by talking each other through it, we can all benefit. Harnessing ADHD would create a force that could change the world. There's a lot of potential there. I'm gonna go read a book about #unschooling now. Y'all have a good evening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76