ADSactly Short Stories - Trumping Expectations: A Class Reunion

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

Trumping Expectations: A Class Reunion



avatar-3127928_1280.jpg

"Juliet would be there too you know, so I think you should come prepared" Steven warned Jude.

"I could just decide not to attend the reunion at all" Jude replied.

"No, don't do that. You shouldn't miss out on this because of her. You could say she has nothing to do with your decision not to attend but we both know better. You should come. Don't miss out on this for anyone and by the way, you have nothing to be ashamed of. I have to run now. I'll talk to you later."

"Of course, I know I have nothing to be ashamed of. It's just that... Anyways, don't bother. Let's talk later. Even better, I may see you at the reunion tonight."

Jude ended the call fuming.

Steven, his best friend since childhood had done well to warn him about Juliet. Truth is, he had been mooring over it for the past week. How would he face her considering what she knew about him?

The fact that she knew was not really his problem, what she would do with what she knew was of more concern. He could still remember the look of disdain on her face when they had run into each other, It had been obvious she did not approve of his job.

silhouette-3130566__480.png

Jude knew Juliet still held grudges against him for the prank he had played on her in the company of other boys back in school. It had been an expensive joke quite alright; one that had left Juliet humiliated but he had been too stupid to realize it at the time.

Their friendship had gone sour since then and although he had tried a few times to apologize and possibly rejuvenate it, she had not cared enough to listen.

He couldn't dispel the feeling that this may be an opportunity for her to retaliate by humiliating him before their friends and classmates; the same group of people before whom he had done same years ago.


The company where Jude used to work with had folded after a legal battle it had fought and lost revealed just how corrupt the company was. Following that, their stocks had plummeted just as their clients had all quickly left.

The big powers in the company had done a very good job of hiding their dirt from most of their employees including Jude until their cover had been blown to pieces. Jude was one of the many who had resigned following the incident.


agent-1239350__480.jpg

Eight months on, a good portion of his savings expended with no job forth coming, he had decided to take whatever job he could find. He had bills to pay and mouths to feed after all. On offer, he had relocated to another country to work as a security agent with a surprisingly better pay.

It was in the process of discharging his duties on one occasion that he had run into Juliet. She had never been colder towards him. She had not been able to hide that she could not wait to leave and the way she had kept looking around them, it was almost as though she didn't want to be seen talking or standing with him.

He had decided there and then he did not want to be friends with someone like that. Steven had agreed with him upon hearing Jude's narration of the incident.


Jude returned to his country two weeks ago to conclude his plans on relocating his family too. Apparently, he had come just in time for the reunion. He had been looking forward to reminiscing about old times with his school buddies and God help him, he did not want to miss that on the off chance that Juliet had a vendetta up her sleeves. He would attend the reunion.

The reunion was set for 8pm which was four hours away and meant he still had enough time to visit the grocery store as his wife had asked him to help do. Jude picked up the car keys and headed out.



supermarket-949913__480.jpg

"Look who I found here"

Jude paused. He was at the fruits section of the store and had been about to reach for bananas when he heard the voice from someone behind him. He knew who it was even without turning around. He would recognize that voice even if he was awoken from a deep sleep.

Juliet.

He turned to find her smiling widely at him. Odd; he thought especially since he couldn't remember the last time she had seemed this happy to see him.

"Is everything okay?" Juliet asked, concern written all over her face. The look on his own face must have prompted her question.

"Everything is fine. Hello Juliet. It's so nice to see you" Jude replied.

Juliet laughed briefly before saying, "I don't think I believe that considering how our last meeting went and of course, the ones before that."

"I certainly remember how it went but it's always nice to see you."

"Thank you. I have to say, I'm really sorry about that. I'm sure you got some negative vibes from me that day but I want you to know it had nothing to do with you. I was going through something then, practically looking over my shoulders every now and then but I'm glad it's over now." Juliet explained.

"Wow. What happened to you? This is certainly not what I expected if I ran into you by chance."

"Really? Let's just say that I took a massive load off my shoulders. Tell me this though, what did you expect?"

Jude chuckled then answered.

"This is probably not the best place to have this conversation but I kinda got the feeling you have a problem with what I do for a living. I mean, your reaction when we met plus the fact that you haven't forgiven me for that stupid prank I pulled on you back in school. It actually got me wondering if you had any similar humiliating plans for me at our reunion."

white-dove-159498__480.png

It was Juliet's turn to chuckle but it was with a serious face she replied; "I'm sorry if I made you feel that way. Truth be told, I know I held out on forgiving you for too long and I really cannot say why I let it drag on for that long but I'm over it now. In fact, I have been over it for a long time. However I'm disappointed you would think I'd do anything to humiliate you because of your job. I mean, we may not be the close friends that we used to be but I expected you to know better."

Jude thought she had a point so he apologized.

Juliet continued.

"I want you to know that I am proud of you and I respect what you do for a living. You should be too because in as much as you thought I would humiliate you using your job, I can't help but think that it wouldn't have bothered you so much if a little part of you did not feel it was something to be ashamed of in the first place. You earn a living the legal and upright way Jude, as long as it pays the bills and takes care of your needs and that of your family, you don't owe anyone an explanation. It may be below people's expectations of what kind of job you ought to have but if they can think that way, then their opinions should not matter to you..."

Jude listened without interrupting as Juliet went on and on about his job. He knew she was right. He agreed with her. He had been partially lying to himself. Yes, he had been worried about what Juliet would say or do at the reunion about his job but he had known deep inside him she would not stoop that low. He admitted to himself now that he had been worried about what his peers would think and say when he gave them the answer to the question that never fails to come up at every reunion; "what do you do now?" He hated to admit it but a part of him had felt ashamed. Well, not anymore, big thanks to Juliet for making him see it. It had been a coincidental run-in like the last but this time, he was happier and better for it.

They parted ways after shopping the groceries they had each come for. They would meet again later that day at their class reunion.

hands-460865__480.jpg

Jude was going to attend it and as far as he knew, nothing could stop him. If questions were asked, he would give the right answers.



All images were obtained from pixabay.


A fiction written by @royalrose.

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adsactly-witness/adsactly-steemit-witness-proposal
First open: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

interesting
The strange reality .. A good story
Thanks for sharing

Sometimes I wonder how people write such great stories in a very unique topics. your story content is really strong and amazing as well. Since I started writing I always try to create a strong story content.

Its true introverts-dime

Im agre with you

Loading...

That's a really sweet story - sometimes you don't need a tremendous event to shake the whole plot and blow you out of your mind in order to enjoy a good story.
I would say this story is fit for casual reading in order to uplift the mood - it makes the reader believe in the kindness of people, in looking at the filled part of an half empty glass, and to accept that there are values more important than social status in regard to employment - every job honor the worker as long as it's an honest and legal one - a person that works in order to support his family should be admired, not mocked upon.
We should ask ourselves why is it so - that the place a person works at is so important, and why, even if the person has a great personality, wisdom etc. - people still tend to give such an heavy weight to the occupation of a person when they shape their opinion about him - this is wrong and we should try to regard the person, not his job.

All the same - we do get a twist in the plot in the surprising reaction of Juliet - and it adds some surprising effect to the story, which is enjoyable without regard to this point - but becomes even better with this addition.

Thanks for this lovely story!

this is awesome

Great lesson taken by this story..Forgiveness is a ladder! It’s a ladder to escape the pit of chaos, grief and anxiety.

Forgiveness is a ladder to escape! When you convince your mind, that whatever happened cant be change and neither be reviewed or reconstructed, just cling on to this ladder.

Nobody should waste their time, in seeking revenge or vengeance. They appear cool and have a swagger in movies only, in life, let karma handle it. And trust me, karma handles it beautifully!

Too important a ladder my dear if you must enjoy peace of mind. Karma does it all. Thank you for your feedback and the lesson you shared inherent. I appreciate you.

I wonder what was the prank he had played on her back in school. While being an expensive joke quite alright; one that had left Juliet humiliated while Jude being stupid enough to realize he was making a mistake. At the end Juliet won, she forgave him, and he himself feeling humiliated without Juliet returning prank to him herself.

Yeah, that's right. Juliet won. Jude was punished by his conscience without Juliet retaliating. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Honestly I thought Juliet would actualy return the humiliation at the reunion to Jude. I personally am a forgiver and I was hoping she would forgive him and instead they would become even closer. At the end she didn’t forget, but she had forgiven. Which should be a life lesson for all of us.
Nice story though!

Lol. While the cliched saying is "forgive and forget", you'd agree with me that it is easier said than done. We often forgive without forgetting. Forgetting would mean also forgetting the lessons learnt from the incident. Thanks for your awesome feedback.

Great post, love it!

Wow! Talk about dignity of labour.... That, she just taught him in a simple way.

meanwhile, not all ladies who take her position. They would prefer some lies. .

Beautiful story with strong moral lessons as always @royalrose.

Keep working wonders with your thoughts and ink.

Thanks a lot. You never fail to get the underlying lessons in my stories and you always have an awesome feedback ready. I appreciate that. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14