A Lesson Learnt From Trying To Save Money On My Coffee

in #adsactly5 years ago

I love coffee. I love it so much that my wife says that if I were to lactate, I will lactate espresso. Ok, too much information there, but it wasn't long before I realized that I have been spending a little too much on my coffee. As such, I started looking for ways to save money on my coffee.

Image result for coffee

Image source

I Started Guilting The Manager


So here's my strategy. I would go to the cafe and buy my coffee beans in bulk. Approximately between 500g to 1kg. This would last me for anywhere between two weeks to a month of drinking twice a day. Plus, it saved me about 30% off retail price.

Not satisfied with just saving money on my beans, I would ask the manager for a cup of coffee because, well, I bought so many beans from them. The first time I did it, I did it as a joke. To my surprise, I was offered any drink on the menu.

Needless to say, I started doing that for all the cafes that I have visited. Word of caution, the big green mermaid doesn't do that but a lot of the other cafes do. Although, it does depend on how good a mood the barista and manager are in.

Image result for coffee beans

Image source

I Offered My Services As A Steemian


Well, I did not offer it, more like force it down their throat. So I started writing posts about the cafes that I bought my beans from. Not to mention the ones that I guilted the manager off free drinks. After writing a few nice articles that went on their Facebook page, they were happy to invite me back for coffee tasting and special prices for my coffee beans.

The great thing about this is that it created somewhat of a win-win situation. They get great reviews and I get my daily dose of caffeine. Although in this case, I think the situation favors me more.

I Made My Own Coffee


Ok, so this one is fairly obvious. I started making my own coffee using anything from an espresso maker to a french press. There are a few great things with making your own coffee. For one, you get to tweak the coffee to the taste that you like.

The second great thing about it is that you come to realize how much you can save from making your own coffee. I was shocked to find that the cost of making a cup of coffee is only a fraction of the retail price. An example is that a cup of coffee costs only 2 bucks to make but is charged about 8 bucks.

Image result for takeaway coffee

Image source

The Lesson


The lesson learned is that once you put your mind to something, you will find ways to achieve it. I would have never asked someone for a cup of coffee for free. It is kind of embarrassing to ask for coffee for free, but since I have committed to saving money on my coffee, I don't think its impossible.

I would have never written about nor blog about any businesses. However, I found that if I wanted to achieve what I have set out to do, I had to think outside the box. The same goes with learning how to make my own coffee. Overbrewed coffee tastes absolutely horrible and getting the coffee brewing just right was absolutely awesome.

So, if you are out there pondering on how to achieve a particular goal that seemed impossible, time to tough it out and start thinking outside the box and powering forward!




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://alvinauh.vornix.blog/2019/02/09/a-lesson-learnt-from-trying-to-save-money-on-my-coffee/

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

And here I was thinking you were going to say 'I started growing my own coffee in the hills behind my house'!!!! ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @alvinauh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87