I Wonder What Happened To B

in #adsactly5 years ago

B was one of those students. We all have them throughout our teaching careers. B was one of those students who after experiencing life in a certain way, have decided to set the world on fire. It has been 4 years now and after he has moved away, I wonder what happened to him.

A Bit About B


B came from a family that went through tough times. His family was much better at the time when I met him. However, it is possible that those experiences have scarred him. When I first took over control of B's class, I was warned about him by my predecessors.

Selfie, Photo, Devil, Character, Cartoon, Good, Bad

Image source

Many called B different names. Some called him the devil, others called him the bane to their existence. Some even called him the sanity drainer. However, I was confident and little did I know what trouble I was getting into.

The first day I met B, he was great, he listened and was a darling. I suspected that perhaps some of the other teachers were making it up. B however, only started showing his true colors after a few days. My guess was that he was observing me to see how I would react to different situations.

There were many things he did. He distributed cigarette openly to his friends in class. He took some of them to a nightclub. Since they were underage, they were caught. The parents made the school aware of the situation and I was ordered to counsel him.

What Have I Learnt From B


You probably would have guessed that me counseling him had no effect. When I started talking to him he just stared at me. In the end, he pointed out that me talking to him changes nothing as no one cares. It was at this point that I realize that me talking to him was not going to help at all.

Image result for lessons learnt

Image source


I started spending more time with him. Going out of course did not involve going to the club, despite him inviting me many times. We talked but eventually, his family had to leave the country. There were a few lessons that I have learned from this.

The first being that no words of wisdom do no good. If you want a child to listen, the only way to do so is with time. As such, I had to invest a lot of time in gaining his trust. It was only through gaining his trust that I could speak into his life.

The second lesson is that patience is a choice. There were many times that I felt like yelling at him or figuratively killing him. However, I had to remind myself that doing so would destroy any relationship that I have built with him.

Conclusion


I think we all have our share of challenges but for me, B takes the cake. I do not hate him and we left on good terms. However, I do wish him well. I think the next time that do meet him again, I would like to thank him for making me the teacher I am today. So despite all the headache and stress, he has caused me, I am still happy to have had him as my student.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://alvinauh.vornix.blog/2019/02/11/i-wonder-what-happened-to-b/

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "Caption this photo" and "Finish this story" contests and win prizes worth 12 Steem!

Also check out 1Ramp on Android and Web.

You have a lot of patience @alvinauh
You are cut out to be a teacher :)
It is true though... I have it seen it with my sibling and I have seen it with the kids
And because of their individual nature which is the varying factor, not the parents or the circumstances, it is not one size fits all.
I have different styles with them, and I also have to explain certain things to the rest like why does he/she get "special" treatment... which is another thing I need to manage hahaha
Maybe you will tackle that for me one of these days...
Thank you for sharing this story with us :)

Good job you have loads of patients

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14