Bugs Eye View - #Adsactly #macrophotography

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the tiny world of bugs!

I have a real fear of all things creepy crawly, but macro photography is teaching me to conquer my phobias so that I can capture the bug life close up!

This little lady (yes, she is a lady as she has the pointy abdomen that looks almost like a stinger, but they cannot sting) is a Daddy Long Legs - also known as a Mosquito Hawk or Crane Fly...

(Don't forget to click the images for the full sceen effect...)
daddy longlegs.JPG3.JPG

"The adult crane fly, resembling an oversized mosquito, has a slender body and stilt-like legs that are deciduous, easily coming off the body. The wingspan is generally about 1.0 to 6.5 cm, though some species of Holorusia can reach 11 cm.[7] The antennae have up to 19 segments.[3] It is also characterized by a V-shaped suture on the back of the thorax and by its wing venation.[4] The rostrum is long; in some species it is as long as the head and thorax together."
(Source Wikipedia)

daddy longlegs.JPG2.JPG

The pointy abdomen, or 'ovipositor' is a long hollow tube through which the females lay their eggs.

In England we usually get bombarded with these during August and September, but they seem to be appearing earlier this year. I remember going back to school for the new year and the front of the school being covered with these! It was quite a sight, I can tell you!

These images are my own, taken with my Nikon D5300 using my 90mm Macro Lens.

Thank you for looking!

Much love, @beautifulbullies xx

fiddy thumbnail.JPG

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

That are some nice macro's I say! And about your phobias, I really feel for you, but also completely understand the why. I also fear them.

There was a time when I couldn't even look at a spider on a screen, now I am standing with my face 30cm away from the real life spiders taking a photo lol Macro is literally changing my perspective

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-12T17:42:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 756.15/200.00
Total Photos: 116
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beautifulbullies (bulldogs) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Excellent shots - love the detail :-)

Thank you so much! :)

Nice to see! I also like bugs, in balance ;-)

hehe yes, everything in its right place, I don't think I would fancy seeing one in my bedroom! xD

these are great, really happy to see you back on here and I look forward to seeing more photos. I for one am really glad you are facing your phobia xx

Thank you @trucklife-family I am glad to be back! I missed my steemit friends :) xx

What a wonderful macrophotography. Beautiful!

Really awesome shots! Through the lens of the camera, they look less creepy ;0)

Haha that is true! xD Thank you :)

Her face is quite beautiful. I never thought I would say that about a fly. That is very cool that your camera can do that.

I really do love working with my macro lens, although I still want to get even closer! haha I think I may need extension tubes next! And a decent flash.
Photography is becoming a very expensive hobby!

I really do love working with my macro lens, although I still want to get even closer! haha I think I may need extension tubes next! And a decent flash.
Photography is becoming a very expensive hobby!

Well your work is amazing. It may be an expensive hobby but we all need something and if it gives you the pleasure you need the why not. There are so many things to stress over in life, we need to have some fun things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83