Bozz Listens To: RoxettesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #adsactly5 years ago

It's been a while since I did a music post. I fact the last one I did was a spotlight on INXS. Sticking with a similar era, I thought it might be a good time to highlight another one of my favorites from the late 80's and early 90's.

Most people are probably familiar with some of the big hits by Roxette like Joyride, The Look, and It must have been love (from Pretty Woman).

While I was familiar with their songs on the radio at the time, it wasn't until I heard a not as famous song of theirs that I really started to take notice.

I grew up listening to the ABBA Gold album that my dad had on vinyl, so it is no surprise that I would be drawn to another Swedish group!

If you have been following me at all you might remember from some of my other music posts that I have a soft spot for distinctive voices. While Marie Fredriksson has an amazing voice, it is actually Per Gessle's voice that really drew me to Roxette.

How Do You Do?


I don't remember how or why I first heard this song, but as soon as I did, I knew I had to get my hands on a copy of it. Chances are it was in some movie at the time but not on the actual films soundtrack.

Don't you hate that when you hear an awesome song in a movie but it isn't on the soundtrack?

Anyway, at the time the only album I could find it on was the Tourism album which was basically a live album and material they had put together during their Joyride tour.

According to Wikipedia, this song got much more traction in Europe than it did in the US which I think is a crying shame because it just plain rocks. Despite their ballads Roxette had a way of making Pop a little rockier than it was at the time.

Fingertips


The Tourism album also introduced me to the song Fingertips. It is actually the second song on the album after How Do You Do.

Fingertips also starts with a distinct focus on Per so that could be another reason why I like it so much.

If you are looking for deep meaningful lyrics on this one, you probably aren't going to find them. In fact listening to it again the first verse is actually a little silly to me.

It's still a great jam with a good hook, so give it a listen.

Fading Like a Flower


Finally, this gem from the Joyride album didn't get as much play as some of the other hits, but it is probably one of my favorites from that record.

This one is pretty much all Marie and in my opinion she totally kills it putting massive emotion and passion into the vocals.

After Tourism Roxette kind of feel off in the United States. I remember some fast food restaurant (I think it was McDonald's) had a promotion and I got a free shortened copy of the Crash Boom Bang album. I haven't listened to it in a while, but I remember it had some decent songs on it like the title track.

In the early 2000's Marie was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The aftermath left her unable to speak, read, or write, but she eventually recovered.

Though she has done some solo albums (which I will have to check out), it also appears they reunited and have an album that was released as recently as 2016. Also according to Wikipedia they were supposed to have a tour for that album, but it was canceled due to concerns over Marie's health.

If you are not familiar with them, Roxette has an impressive catalog that you should spend some time digging into on Spotify or your preferred streaming service.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

I never realised that Marie had had brain cancer. Actually I don't know much about Roxette at all, though I've always enjoyed their music. They have always been scorned by music snobs in the UK. It was always an embarrassment to say you liked Roxette - I've no idea why! I always thought they made great pop music, and I love the selection you've chosen. I'd never heard "Fingertips" before, and I see what you mean about Per's voice - it really comes into its own in this song. I really like it. Their voices blend and harmonise so well.

Thanks! I appreciate the comment. Yeah I don't think they were as popular here as they should have been either. I think it was a time when Pop was kind of going away and they just didn't get much traction. As for me, I am proud to say I like Roxette.

That's a great way to put it! Me too - I'm going to come out of the closet and admit it: I love Roxette!

I remember when they were on the hit lists and like most of their songs including the ones you listed

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Most Welcome

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 4.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.659 which ranks you at #5514 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 232 contributions, your post is ranked at #52.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 401 (02/15/19)

Oooooh, flashbacks!!

Only the good stuff!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87