Bozz Rambles: Crypto Edition

in #adsactly5 years ago

Over the past week or so I have thought of a couple things that I wanted to post about. The problem was, none of them were really "big" enough to warrant a whole post dedicated to just that.

That's why today I decided to do a "ramble" post. Basically it is just my mind wandering and covering a bunch of different subjects in one post.

Hopefully you will be able to follow along.

Utopian Colony

My Steemit friend @daan posted this post about two days ago.

Sadly, despite the support that Utopian gives a lot of people on Steemit, they are not receiving the same support in return with their Indegogo for Utopian Colony. As he said in his post, a lot of you probably don't even realize the amount of open source software you use on a daily basis.

I was able to donate to the campaign, I understand that others may not be able to due to finances or other issues. I will be honest, I was hesitant to donate at first. I am not a developer or a coder, my programming days were left behind long ago once I got out of college.

Just because I may never contribute to the project doesn't mean I shouldn't support it though. If I were you, I would keep an eye on this because if fully funded I think it is going to be a great tool for a lot of people. In his latest post @daan even explains how you can donate if you don't have a credit card.

Boid

You may have read about it on my feed before, but another project I am really excited about is BOID. It is basically a social supercomputer where people all over the world process small chunks of information. I am pretty sure it uses BOINC so if you are familiar with that, you get the idea.

We are currently in season 0 right now and with the BOID I have staked so far as well as my small cluster of machines that I have processing/mining via CPU I have climbed to the 6th spot on the leader board. Likewise the team I am part of @eos.detroit has made it to the 8th spot on the team leader board.

If you want to mine some tokens on the EOS network and help solve some real world problems like mapping cancer markers come join my team with this referral link. Be advised you need to link your BOID account to your EOS account using the latest version of Scatter for token distributions to work.

Coinbase

If you live in the states, you probably know that Coinbase is about the easiest way to purchase crypto currency. Personally, I have never really been a fan of Coinbase because of the high fees and slow purchase times, but it is a means to an end and I put up with it.

I read this article the other day though that made me question my commitment to them all the more. Not being a fan of keeping my assets on an exchange anyway, I moved all of my crypto I was holding in Coinbase to an actual wallet.

I read more recently they plan on "letting go" the members of the hacking team that the uproar centers around, but personally, I think there is enough bad crap in the world already, I don't need to be knowingly supporting oppressive regimes etc.

I didn't shut down my account totally like some people did, so call me a hypocrite if you want, but I will definitely be thinking long and hard before I make my next crypto purchase using their service.

Developer Question?

Finally, back to my friend @daan, he posted another article that got me thinking about the possibility of tracking user visits to our Steemit blogs. I know a lot of us were bummed when they took away the #ofviews counter after hardfork 20 I think it was.

I found this post that talks about how you can simply add some code to your WordPress page to take advantage of Google Analytics for your site. Since we aren't able (that I know of) to edit the code for our Steemit page, I was wondering if it is possible for someone to create a "plugin" that could be a bridge between Google Analytics and your Steemit blog page.

This is just a crazy idea I had. I think it would be useful to a lot of people. If one already exists, please let me know about it. Sadly, I can't fund the development of something like this, but if you are eager developer and you wanted to create something that would bring a lot of value to the blockchain, this might be the idea you were looking for.

That's all I've got for you today! Tomorrow I hope to bring you a Tasteem.io review of a BBQ joint I tried out this past weekend and Thursday it might be time for another Chromebook repair story.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

The Coinbase fees do suck (4%) but slow..? I can buy STEEM in less than 5 minutes.. using Coinbase, GDAX, Steemit via Blocktrades.. , I buy using a debit card.. do you use some other method?

Sometimes yes. Bank Transfers can take two weeks to go through. It is annoying and not my preferred method. Hopefully there will one day be an exchange that goes right from fiat to STEEM.

Hmm, it more or less does for me. I have Coinbase linked directly to my bank account and its instant.. I mean seconds.

Not here. ACH transfers are a pain in the butt. They take forever.

Like you, I moved my tokens out of exchanges a while back and they're safely tucked in hardware wallets.

I think Coinbase has been great for making crypto more accessible to everyone. It was the first site I used to buy bitcoin, and I used it extensively whenever I wanted to cash out of STEEM or other tokens.

I'll have to check out the BOID project. I am familiar with BOINC, but I never got around to setting up a computer to run cycles for it. Perhaps I'll try again.

Thanks for sharing! I don't think I can be much help with your number of views problem, but I hope someone comes up with a solution!

No worries on the views problem. It may not be possible at all, I really don't know. If you decide to check out BOID make sure you use my referral link. Though you can change teams later if you decide to. That is all pretty fluid right now. I will probably still need to use Coinbase when it is time to cash out and it is also the first tool I used to get into the crypto world. I just don't like some of the stuff they have going on. Better safe than sorry!

Thanks for the shout-outs @bozz! You just got us over $1000 :P

Well, maybe not you personally, but the combined effort of everyone did!

Utopian. I'm even less a dev than you are, but I know I use their stuff most every day. I'll take a look.

Coinbase. It has consistently been the best option for me here in the US but I don't think I'll make another purchase through them.

I think there is a reason why Steemit took the 'views' off. I'm guessing if I saw how few people actually read my posts I might get depressed :)

I don't know if Google Analytics would work on the chain based steem but it sure couldn't hurt. I've use them on several projects and places and generally like what they have.

Looking forward to BBQ tomorrow.

Good ole STEEM, always looking out for our mental health! I do have a Kraken account, but wire transfers are almost as painful as ACH transfers. Thanks for stopping in. I am looking forward to my post for tomorrow too!

Such interesting topics you talk about, I have nothing on Coinbase now, in fact most of my crypto is now just on Steemit, but if I ever decide to get others I think I will go the waller route as well

Great that you have moved your digital assets off Coinbase! You know the saying...

Anyway, it reminds me to move some of the longer term holds off the exchanges... I do still keep some on Binance and Kucoin, just to avoid the hassle of mainet launches and migrations.... but I think it is high time that I did some house cleaning in that department as well!

Better safe than sorry for sure!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 419 (03/05/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14