Making Traditional Chairs in Chania, Crete - Full Article

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

Even if you've never been to Greece, chances are you know these kinds of woven chairs, because they're found in Greek restaurants around the world. We love seeing traditional crafts being made... but we never expected to open our front door and see a guy weaving a chair, directly across from us!

Traditional Chair Maker Chania Crete

I was sitting in the kitchen of our Chania apartment, working with the door open. Although I was absorbed in my work, I could feel a strange shift in the energy around me. I eventually turned and saw, just a few feet from our door, a little old Greek man installed on the street, weaving together a chair with practiced fury. I have no idea how long he'd been there, but I enjoyed the idea of him working in such a traditional fashion, and me working digitally, just meters apart.

Chair making gif

Naturally, I grabbed my camera and asked if I could take some pictures and videos. He agreed, proving to be a cool and calm character. The frame of the chair was already constructed, and he was working on weaving what I think was reed, to create the seat. When freshly woven, it looks green and brown, but once the reed dries it gets much lighter and takes on its typical tan color. The greatest thing is, should your Greek chair break, there's no reason to throw it out: just call up this chair dude and he'll come fix it right up!

From now on, whenever I'm in a Greek restaurant and sit down in one of these chairs, I'm going to remember this cool old Greek guy, in Chania.

More Photos And A Video Of The Chair Maker In Chania

Chair Maker Chania Crete

 Chair Maker Chania Crete



Footer_for91days

Travel Blog


Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://for91days.com/blog/2018/10/14/making-traditional-chairs-in-chania-crete/

Sort:  

His facial structure is similar to people in Rajastan India (as per me... ) !!!!

There's so much joy in his eyes!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

He looks like a jolly fellow! Nice photos!

Hahaha I am actually sitting on a chair exactly like this! It must be a huge mission to tie knots one by one like that, but he seems like he is enjoying it.

Very well documented in words and pictures!

Hi, @for91days!

You just got a 11.4% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

A handsome and obviously good person! I am glad he let you show us what you did!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=for91days
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=makingtraditionalchairsinchaniacrete-64vp85nh69


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Are you going to get him to teach you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89