Sunset, Seagulls And The Düsseldorf Altstadt

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

Having spent much of the day riding the suspension train at the Düsseldorf airport, I headed into town, to take a walk through the Altstadt, or Old Town. I had never before visited Düsseldorf, but had heard plenty about this quaint neighborhood, with its traditional houses, its promenade along the Rhine, and abundant bars and bugs which serve the famous local Altbier.

 Düsseldorf  Sunset

I disembarked from the S-Bahn at Sternstraße, and approached the Altstadt from the north. After the modern, sci-fi atmosphere at the city's airport, it was quite the temporal adjustment to be suddenly surrounded by truss houses and historic churches.

With the goal of reaching the Rhine before sunset, I set out into the Altstadt's bewildering maze of alleys. I almost got didn't make it, thanks both to getting lost and being distracted by all the photo opportunities, but arrived at the river's banks at the perfect time. The sunset was dark red, and I saw two guys feeding seagulls, who would dive to snatch bread straight out of their hands. It reminded me so much of Istanbul, where similar scenes play out every day.

Seagulls Gif

But instead of a minaret, Düsseldorf boasts the Rheinturm, towering 240 meters over the city. From here, you can see another tower, called the Schlossturm, which is the most striking building in the Burgplatz. Locals claim that the Burgplatz is the most beautiful square in Germany, and being here, I found it hard to disagree.

I now walked back into the heart of the Altstadt, spoiling myself with all the German architecture. The center of the Old Town is a plaza called the Marktplatz, which is home to the old Rathaus, or City Hall. Across from it, I found a house with a Glockenspiel and a few touristic gift shops. But by now, it was hard to concentrate on architecture, because of all the bars. With more than 300 packed onto Ratingerstraße, some claim that this street is the longest bar in the world. Pub crawl, anyone? We can make it to at least 200 of them!

Dusseldorf Altstadt

Speaking of beer, Düsseldorf's beverage of choice is Altbier, which has an historic rivalry with nearby Cologne's Kölsch. Kölsch is a pale lager, served in narrow glasses, while Altbier is much darker in color. The very name refers to the "old", or traditional way of doing things, before lagers came around. I was told later that it's difficult to distinguish the beers in a blind taste test, and although I find it difficult to believe, I'd be happy to try.

I now left the Altstadt, and on my way to the hotel, I passed through one of Germany's few Chinatowns, found near the train station. After a month of Greek cuisine, I was deeply craving some Asian food, and sat down at a Korean joint, serving up Bibimbap. The day had been so traditionally German, that this seemed like an odd choice... but it felt right. I haven't lived in Germany for a very long time, and there's no need to overdo it, all at once.

-Book Your Düsseldorf Hotel Here

More Photos And A Video Of Düsseldorf








Dusseldorf

























Footer_for91days

Travel Blog


Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://for91days.com/blog/2018/10/08/sunset-seagulls-and-the-dusseldorf-altstadt/

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

An honor! Thank you so much!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=for91days
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sunsetseagullsandthedsseldorfaltstadt-05n8ajcd4a


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Dear @for91days,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

this is great!

Happy you liked it.

This place is so beautiful..I just can't get enough of all this pictures to admire! I'm sure you guys had a lot of good times out there and you deserve it ♥️

Sadly Mike couldn't come on this short trip but we will go back there together.

He needs to! :)

Yes that sunset definitely reminds the one I have seen in Istanbul. Never heard of those beers when I went to Germany they should be only in part of the country... I like the architecture in your photo but mostly those
"green external opening for windows"

I'm happy, I'm not the only one thinking of Istanbul. The crazy thing is, I didn't have any of these beers when I was visiting. I was too time strapped :( More reasons to go back :)

That's pity but you have another reason to go back :) About Istanbul I've never stopped saying that it is one of the most beautiful cities I ve ever visited :)

Well, I had those beers before (I'm German after all) but not during this trip. Yes, Istanbul is such a special city and we miss it deeply.

Hi @for91days!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.611 which ranks you at #1649 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 63 places in the last three days (old rank 1586).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 302 contributions, your post is ranked at #62.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Those sunset pictures of the central square are pretty awesome, does look like a beautiful place with the old style architecture and hopefully you enjoyed the taste testing between the old and new style beer! Not too much I hope :P

Very nice pictures
Enjoyed the walk through with you
They have very nice buildings with colour to add too (those green doors;p)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17