Sort:  

Fantastic article with detailed description and history of the Katana. My only knowledge prior to this was in the video games I play. It was always one of my favorite weapons to use in games like Ultima Online.

They almost seem to have a religious significance which I love. It's a shame they no longer hold the symbolic value they once did but I think there's a history there that can never be erased.

I couldn't believe shark skin was used! I guess it makes sense given the geographical location of Japan but still, it is quite the process from beginning to end. One of the things I love about the Japanese is their dedication to a craft. This guy spent 30 years trying to craft the perfect Katana. How amazing is that?

Thank you for sharing. This was a very interesting and educational post that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. Cheers!

Thank you :)

Great article, @kocinka. Very interesting information about the katana. I would only suggest you add the prices in $, too... because not many people know how much a Yen is in $ or €. :-P

Thanks for sharing.

Good point @trincowski :) I must add this information, thank you :)

You're welcome. Keep up with the good work. :-)

Hi kocinka,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you, I'm really grateful for your upvote :) Have a nice day too :)

Hey @kocinka, I think it is both a weapon and a work of art :) Swords are beautiful and represents a deep part of the Japanese culture. I love watching Samurai movies such as the Last Samurai. Thank you for sharing with us the history and culture and the makes of a sword. I would never have known that it takes 15 cycles of folding, heating and forming of the blade and that it has a thickness of 15,000 layers. No wonder it is so strong and durable. And I also know that Japanese knives are much sought after too for its similar strength and characteristics. I am always amazed and intrigued by Japanese culture :)

Yes, Japanese culture is very interesting that's why I try to tell something about it :)

:) Interesting and kawaii! Sometimes I wish I have the money to buy everything in their souvenir shops :D Happy weekend to you @kocinka!

An excellent article about the Japanese sword. It is true as you said, it is both a weapon and also a work of art.
                       
Congratulations for your first curie vote. I have a feeling that you might get another in the future if you keep going on like now :).

Thank you :) I always try to make my another article better than the previous one but I know that I still have a lot to improve ;)

Swords have held an important part of the Japanese culture since ancient times, it's nice to see how they still treasure that part of their culture even now. I love seeing how they adore these swords in movies...

Its amazing the labour that goes into creating just one sword, it definitely isn't something just anyone can handle but well, these guys put in their all into making it...

For me, it will be more of a piece of art than a weapon. I live the designs on the Katana, are the designs suppose to be the same all the time?

Designs on Katana can be very different, swords are usually personalized and for example there may be family crest on katana :)

Ooh.. That is incredible. Now, i want to get a Katana. Thing is i don't have a family crest🙃 lol

It's amazing how culture, which is nothing more than repeating something constantly over time has become perfection with the manufacture of the catana for hundreds of years.

I like the detailed way in which you put the data, a mixture of deities, war and art.

I have always admired the melting of metals in asia, it proves again and again that it was they who taught the Europeans how to make iron and steel.

The way to elaborate so complicated gives him exactly that category of work of art beyond the uses that can continue giving it is a jewel of Japanese ancestral craftsmanship.

Thank you for sharing countless facts about this fabulous sword.

greetings, peace and love

Thank you :)

It's both ! I think :D

Very good article :) Nicely researched, and I like the pictures that you use :)

Katana has always been a weapon but today I think it is more a piece of art, but of course you can still kill someone with that ;) thank you :)

Congratulations @kocinka! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Katanas, for me they are a work of art that is used as a weapon, the demonstrations of their use that you shared are exceptional. I love knives but I only have one collection of small knives and six cutters that I use to cut anime and cardboard. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70