Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'The Fuel' (Part #197)

in #adsactly6 years ago

After I've finished running after the herd, I turn to the elderly woman and ask what are these plants because I don't recall ever seeing them before. As she lives across the street, she must know. At first, she takes a long look and then answers that it is a test project that some people from the agricultural institute were conducting. Apparently, it is a biofuel field where they grow plants for that purpose.

'But,' she says, 'they've left it like that since last year'. A test went wrong, probably. I'm not so down with the whole biofuel idea. It uses energy to produce it, takes the space where food is to be grown and in the end, it hasn't proved to be that much less detrimental to the environment than the regular fuel.

I think that the energy solution lies in renewable sources. Wind, water and solar. They are free and they are clean. This wonderful place where we all live has had its share of damaging for dubious profit. In the long run, oil is more damage than worth except for the guys pumping it.

This field should produce eco food while the non-arable land could have solar panels all over. Wind power plants sometimes hurt the birds but what is perfect, anyway? Some places in Europe are completely self-sufficient with their wind power plants.

Then again, electric motorcycles have no real sound. My friend makes them, so I tried one a year back. However, the sound can be added artificially. On a press of a button, one could choose which sound he prefers for the day. Harley today, Kawasaki tomorrow, peep-squeak for the day after. :-) Don't think I'd mind that. I'll take the compromise. The environment comes first. I've just realized that I never asked what was the name of that plant, so if anyone knows, please share.

The guy on a tractor passes by, delivering firewood. I thought this was to be done way before but I'm no expert. He takes a long look at me and the bike. I wave, he waves back. Does he care for the environment? Does the woman with goat and sheep herd? No idea.

Do you care where your energy comes from?

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.


Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

This is how i will like to start my New Year on steemit. Reading this post means i am definitely having a great year on steemit. If this was not the first post i read first today, i might not guarantee my success on steemit for this year:)
I have not been around, was really busy with family duties this short break.
Brilliant. From the depth of my heart, brilliant. Atimes i wonder why you are not a full writer. This is just wow. I love this piece. Why because there is so much education going on here. You have a way of talking deep into plain things and things we all think is just "normal", but after you are done exposing and breaking it down, there is more meaning to it and you finally ice the cake by showing the importance to us and this makes us think if we are actually concerned about it. I love your posts so much.
This is a huge point my friend.
I'm not so down with the whole biofuel idea. It uses energy to produce it, takes the space where food is to be grown and in the end,
Thats the point. Burning food for fuel is poor policy. The large area needed is only one of the problems with biofuels. Infact the biofuel industry has become so big that it is already politically incorrect to speak in public against biofuels.
In the end, what do we want to do, exactly, with biofuels? Do we really think that the way to solve our energy problems is to use an inefficient technology to support an already inefficient transportation system? The only explanation I can think of for so much emphasis on biofuels is that, once a bad idea is implemented, it starts to gain momentum and then it becomes nearly impossible to stop.
We shouldn't be taking agricultural land and growing biofuels on it.
Oh God, Another problem is that refining some crops, like corn, into fuel can produce more greenhouse gases than simply using gasoline in cars in the first place.
Biofuels once seemed like a quick fix, but may have just been a detour on the road to a sustainable energy policy that my government has been talking about for sometime now.
Its a shame.
Thank you @velimir for this. We really need to give some thought to this. We can learn a lot from this. Happy New Year.

This is how i will like to start my New Year on steemit. Reading this post means i am definitely having a great year on steemit. If this was not the first post i read first today, i might not guarantee my success on steemit for this year:)
I have not been around, was really busy with family duties this short break.
Brilliant. From the depth of my heart, brilliant. Atimes i wonder why you are not a full writer. This is just wow. I love this piece. Why because there is so much education going on here. You have a way of talking deep into plain things and things we all think is just "normal", but after you are done exposing and breaking it down, there is more meaning to it and you finally ice the cake by showing the importance to us and this makes us think if we are actually concerned about it. I love your posts so much.
This is a huge point my friend.
I'm not so down with the whole biofuel idea. It uses energy to produce it, takes the space where food is to be grown and in the end,
Thats the point. Burning food for fuel is poor policy. The large area needed is only one of the problems with biofuels. Infact the biofuel industry has become so big that it is already politically incorrect to speak in public against biofuels.
In the end, what do we want to do, exactly, with biofuels? Do we really think that the way to solve our energy problems is to use an inefficient technology to support an already inefficient transportation system? The only explanation I can think of for so much emphasis on biofuels is that, once a bad idea is implemented, it starts to gain momentum and then it becomes nearly impossible to stop.
We shouldn't be taking agricultural land and growing biofuels on it.
Oh God, Another problem is that refining some crops, like corn, into fuel can produce more greenhouse gases than simply using gasoline in cars in the first place.
Biofuels once seemed like a quick fix, but may have just been a detour on the road to a sustainable energy policy that my government has been talking about for sometime now.
Its a shame.
Thank you @velimir for this. We really need to give some thought to this. We can learn a lot from this. Happy New Year.

Wow. I commented twice. Sorry about that. Thanks though for the upvote on the duplicate. :)
Have a great one.

The third photo is fascinating and macabre, the hay bundles look like the plastic bags used to hold corpses in my dissection room in the university (I am a med student) and it makes a strong impact between the actual sunny and cheerful scene and the memories it rises in me :(

regarding biofuel - I think that science should develop methods to use industry leftovers and home waste in an ecological way to produce fuel, since this waste will be created anyway, we should use it! there is some info in this MIT article:
https://www.technologyreview.com/s/413606/converting-garbage-into-fuel/

But - the methods you prefer are surly the best ones ecologicly because they make almost no harm to our dear planet. what should be considered is whether they can be used big scale and provide masses and masses of people. interesting :)

thank you for an interesting, thought provoking article and lovely photos!

If we all could eat Eco food, we would be so healthy. Great post as usual and the rustical feel is amazing. I tried to do similar in my post
https://steemit.com/travel/@doctorcro/couple-travel-diary-4-visiting-grandmother-in-herzegovina

I love that you are talking about this topic, I care a lot and I'm lucky that in Germany we can choose sustainable providers.

I'm a Chinese! Do you have any questions about China? Let me answer you! Thank you

hmm, it's very interesting all this, thank you for all this information it was a pleasure to read

I agree with you that the entire oil industry is doing much more harm than creating good. Undoubtedly for electric transport and renewable sources of energy. We all already know that thanks to the energy of the sun, one can receive more energy daily from all the planet's energy producers. But if I got it right.
As always sunny, it pleases you. It's nice to see the simplicity of suburban life, although it's hard work.
Thank you:)

Sorry @velimir as i missed yours a few posts because i'm suffering from fever and bad still i am writing for you.

Well, these plants are very common in our land especially the area where i live we call them SAROOT in our native language. Their heads look like cotton and give some soothing feelings. It is great if they are thinking to produce Power through these plants, Impressed by the research team's approach.

Water is rolling down from the eyes and nose still i am writing for you as i love your blogs :)

Stay Blessed, Steem On!

Health is the most important asset, my friend. take it easy and stay in bed!

It's great to see that you are learning lots of stuff while travelling @velimir.and Yes many of us do not care where energy comes from?and keep wasting the energy rather than to conserve energy.nice post upvoted and resteem.good work.

I have been seeing these series for a while and now i decidet to express. It is just a bright way of presenting things, it goes just well from an episodeto another episone and i want to appreciate for taking time to do that. Keep on steeming.

I was dealing with some private research on this topic, and I like the way you think. These are certainly worthwhile investments, because nature must be protected. P.s Odlican tekst!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75