Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Why Riding?' (Part #198)

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

Riding a motorcycle creates a very different feeling than driving a car. Some people say that the motorcycle is the modern-day horse, and I tend to agree. It is not just the wind, the sound, the curves and keeping the two-wheel balance. It is more than this. It is the sense of freedom from everything else there is. This difference is why riders sometimes refer to cars as "cages".

Open road with no cars is a blessing. Then the true feeling of relaxation and satisfaction kicks in. One enjoys the ride as much as the surroundings. It is the closest many people have come to feel truly free. It's quite hard to explain it to someone who doesn't ride but here I am trying, anyway. :-)

Being only responsible for oneself one can find pleasure in facing various weather conditions. I've ridden in heavy fogs, dark nights, heavy showers, burning hot sun, even frozen roads. Not that I was looking for such experiences but rather ended up in situations without a choice. You might say that I could've parked and waited and you'd be correct. However, on most of these occasions, it wasn't a real choice, because the waits could've been days long.

Today is one of the perfect riding days. Riding in the sun is what I like the most. Who doesn't? :D Seeing the sun's rays makes one feel warm already. Since its winter, the long shadows are an inevitable ornament to the overall beauty. Love to photograph these.

If you've ever planned to buy a bike and ride, the right time is always - now. None of us has several lives, so this one you should enjoy. Sometimes I say to myself: 'Do you remember moments when a decision was to be made and you hesitated? Well, if you just went for it, the outcomes would've been awesome.' There are no dreams one cannot dream and no actions one should stop oneself from taking. Time is always only - now.

This reminds me of 1961. literature Nobel prize winner, Ivo Andrić, a great Croatian author who, in deep regret for writing books throughout all of his days and nights instead of riding that nice beauty in his garage, wrote in tender tears: 'There were so many things we should have done but we didn't... Because we feared. We shouldn't have feared. We should have lived.'

85b copy.jpg

What a smart guy! Too bad it was too late, eh?
:D

Enjoy your day! :-)

(Some images were deliberately blurred to illustrate the text, as means of artistic impression.)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.


Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

Hey @velimir Thanks for sharing some classic pictures and text. I love your energy to enjoy the life in your own way. Really I got some amazing ideas to live with joy. You're 100% right that life is only for one time so keep enjoying as much as you can. I really thanks to you for sharing these line too:

literature Nobel prize winner, Ivo Andrić, a great Croatian author who, in deep regret for writing books throughout all of his days and nights instead of riding that nice beauty in his garage, wrote in tender tears: 'There were so many things we should have done but we didn't... Because we feared. We shouldn't have feared. We should have lived.'
I really appreciate your efforts which you deliver through your words. I must say for me:
Your Message Conveyed
Keep it up your good work and Stay Awesome!

You realize the guy never said this because of a bike...it was a joke :) However, he did say that in regards to his life. ;)

Great writeup and beautiful message at the end as always.
There’s no better place to be on a hot day than cruising around beautiful lanes on your bike. Riding in the heat may be far more appealing than venturing out on a grim winter’s day, but it comes with its own set of challenges to overcome as your body deals with high temperature.
I understand the regular feeling of freedom you get while riding. I love cycling most of all because it gives me freedom. It's about being outside, the wind in your hair (that's right, you don't always have to wear a helmet :) and the sights and sounds of life in the city or countryside.
The breeze you create by riding along has its own cooling effect, and it’s sometimes only when you stop riding do you appreciate exactly how hot it is.
Why would anyone want to have an cycle exercise machine or go to a spinning class? Just get on a bike and go somewhere.
Night riding can also be fun with a decent set of lights – you’ll see familiar roads literally in a new light.
About hesitation, a great lesson was learnt. During History Class we studied a lot and there is this story always comes to mind.
Neil Armstrong like we all know is the 1st person to set his foot in moon.
But, do you know who was supposed to be the 1st person? Many don’t know…
His name was Edwin Aldrin…
He was the pilot for the Apollo mission. He was working for the American Airforce. Moreover he had experience of space walking, hence selected as the pilot.
Neil Armstrong worked for the American Navy. He was selected for his courage as co-pilot.
When the Apollo mission landed on moon, they received a command from NASA, “pilot first”.

But Aldarin was hesitant, “what will happen”, “will I get sucked in or will I burn out”, etc. The hesitation was not for hours, but few seconds.

In the meantime, NASA sent the next command, “co-pilot next”.

Within next second, Neil Armstrong put his foot on the moon & became part of world history.

World history was changed in 1 second… Though Aldarin had the qualification and talent, because of hesitation, he is not recognised by many people.

The world remembers only person or people who comes first…
This is a good example of how people lose out because of hesitation & fear just like you said about hesitation. Whenever i see the moon, i remember this, a moments hesitation can stop me from my greatest victory.
Thank you for sharing. I learnt a lot and i am inspired. Have a safe riding @velimir

Hehe...I am one of those guys who believes that the whole moon landing was shot in a studio and that it was a great All-American show to down the Russians who were 10 years ahead in the space program at the time. There are too many pieces missing from the puzzle of that great lie, my friend.

Haha. I totally agree with you. The United States government lies to us all the time. If they haven't lied to you today, maybe they just haven't had coffee yet. It's now been nearly four decades since Neil Armstrong took his "giant leap for mankind" — if, that is, he ever set foot off this planet. I agree with you that the U.S. government, desperate to beat the Russians in the space race, faked the lunar landings, with Armstrong and Aldrin acting out their mission on a secret film set, located either high in the Hollywood Hills or deep within Area 51. With the photos and videos of the Apollo missions only available through NASA, there's no independent verification that the lunar landings were anything but a hoax

I didn't believe the story.
I I just try to pick the positivity in the story i.e. the hesitation part of their story and what hesitation could do to someone. But i never believed them. Have a great day.

Thanks for an interesting post velimir :)
I have always found motorcycles interesting and alluring, what with all the grandpas looking cool with leather coats and bandannas reviving their youth. I might have considered it but my family and now my wife are fierce opposition to that idea and it enhances my fear of it - in Israel there are many accidents with motorcycles involved and it's pretty scary.
I guess I find my feeling of freedom in activities of lesser magnitude, but it is enough for me :)
I like the second photo a great deal! I can feel the happiness and freedom that you feel emitting from the motorcycle and the sun reflection hints how much the riding is an important aspect of your life, like the sun is to earth.

I like to ride on heavy bike @velimir, excellent post

You are so right. If you are going to do something you should just go for it!!

And I also think of a bike asa modern day horse. That's the artist in you :0)

thx, my awesome buddy!

No bother bike dude! :0D

I almost wanted to go out and buy a bike. Sadly I'm a family man and I need to get our car serviced and possibly exchange it for a more economic family car. But I can always drop by and read your motorcycle stories, right? :)

Hi there Jaro, thank you for stopping by. How's Finland? :) If I lived there I'm not sure I'd be brave enough to ride in that cold. But, you guys got some awesome rally roads and some of the best rally drivers in the world. Yep, I know about that. Been there, seen it! ;)

It's fine, we should be getting some below zero temps soon so I can take my boys out to ski and skate. It may not be a motorcycle season yet, but the Spring will come soon enough.

Heh I wouldn't know about rally driving, but I've driven a cab. It's about the same right? ;)

ahahahaha... you are probably right in case of two meters of snow - same thing :DDD

What is the best road you have ever tried?

A curved one! :)

i love how you put your thoughts and experience into words.it is the magic in your post.for example
"Since its winter, the long shadows are an inevitable ornament to the overall beauty."
we have never thought of telling this idea this way..you have add a beauty to just a set of words by placing them in the correct order..keep it up..we love your work :)

Now or Never...

Hi Velimir awesome photos!! :) appreciate your work. How did you get so popular? You might like the Mountains our AI generated.

Actually, this looks seriously interesting. It was done by AI? Amazing. Soon the world will not need artists anymore... or anyone else for that matter...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87