Machu Picchu Hike via the Inca Jungle Trek

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)


Machu Picchu is one of those tourist attractions that everyone, including their mother’s cousins’ long distance uncle, has heard of and is on their bucket list. It screams tourist trap. I’m definitely not one for tourist traps but there’s just something that draws even I to such a place. Millions of people can’t be wrong, right?

If there are thousands of lemmings jumping off the cliff, there’s got to something wrong with the one lemming that didn’t follow right? Probably against my better judgment, I decided why the hell not? I’ll be a lemming for a day!

Cusco
Cusco

I arrived in Cusco by bus from Arequipa. A couple of friends suggested I stay at the Wild Rover hostel. Now if the name has any indication as to what kind of hostel this was, it does, it’s a wild party hostel. I don’t know what it is but my friends tend to always point to me to party places. The Wild Rover is no exception and, in fact, holds the reputation as the craziest party hostel in South America. This is further exacerbated by the fact that it’s their 25th anniversary.

Danger, danger Will Roger we're in Wild Rover


The Wild Rover is no exception and, in fact, holds the reputation as the craziest party hostel in South America. This is further exacerbated by the fact that it’s their 25th anniversary. I went to my room and there was another guy staying and he warned me, that I would not be sleeping tonight.

This place is going to blow up, he said. In fact, he booked another hostel just to escape the Wild Rover party and get some sleep. Well, sure enough after that night. A wild party is all that I can remember. Short flashes of memories of people dressed in togas or not dressed at all would sometimes flood my aching head and I've got a migraine to go with it.

I remember little, but I remember twerking to a Miley Cyrus song on top of the bar with a bunch of other drunk people. Luckily I wasn’t twerking alone or it would’ve been a much more embarrassing memory than it already was. There was only one good thing that occurred that night; I was able to secure an Inca Jungle Trek tour for the next day.

There are several ways to get to Machu Picchu. You can take one of the popular tours or do it yourself. I was going to skip the fancy tours and just get there via bus and train and scribble it off the list. After mulling it over I decided it was best to take a tour, it would have cost almost the same as taking one of the popular tours (the train fare was something like $75 or more one way).

READ THE FULL STORY >>


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : Machu Picchu Hike

Sort:  

bro you are fortunate to have experienced all this wonderful tour. All my life I have crave to go for an adventure like this even if it once in my life time bUT no means to travel. Am so happy for you, I always long to read your fantastic posts as it makes me see life in a beautiful way and to appreciate it more. Please continue to post beautiful stuff like this. Thank you my mentor

Thats so majestic place to do some adventure. The scenery was so amazing atop of the mountain ranges.

this trip seems crazy :0 especially the sand flies part, so sorry for you but other than that all looks really fun and cool to explore, hope you had fun and keep having adventures in life, GREETINGS TO YOU! :DD

Yes rights i am agree with you

Posted using Partiko Android

You are right. Very nice pictures!

wow am short of words. This is one of the best places to visit.

nice click

nicee

Wow! What amazing pics, except the sand biters, looks painful!

Very beautiful view about the roofs. 😍

Wow! Well done on completing the trek! It is quite the achievement :)

Machu Picchu is beautiful and is really a great place to visit :)
I hope to visit there once more one day.

Thank you For your post!

One day soon I hope :)

For sure! Peru is Magical :)

Oh. My. God.
It's absolutely beautiful!
I'd definitely love to hike Machu Picchu one day!

I love hiking and I definitely love beautiful sights like this!
Something about nature that you just can't beat!

Damn though... I hope I don't get eaten up by sand flies... That looks quite painful... :O Hope it wasn't TOO painful for you! :( Seems like you still had a great time, despite those little shits!

Thank you for sharing! :)

- 🄹🄴🅁🅁

Nothing I couldn't survive :)

Man I always love your travel posts and the way you explain your journey along the way. I always wanted to visit the ruins of Machu Picchu. Also those photos are gorgeous. Hope to read more of your traveling adventures.

@javo1096

It's touristy but still worth the visit!

Yes the gorgeous photo, i am with you

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06