🎥 My Kayaking Adventure in the Höllental Valley (video + photos)

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I've had a very nice kayaking adventure at the Schwarza river in the Höllental valley. It was the first time I made the whole ride of around 11.5 km. As you can see in the video I'm not very experienced and my equipment is not really suitable for this. Anyway, I wanted to be on the safe side so I've put on my taekwondo helmet when crossing the funny passages of the river. I planned to spend all day on the river, taking breaks and rest on some of the beautiful beaches. But the weather changed faster then I've expected so I had to hurry downstream to escape the approaching thunderstorm.
Can't wait to do it again!!!

Here are some additional photos I've taken with my phone:
2018-06-05_10-04.04.jpg
Zoom in

2018-06-05_10-33.02.jpg
Zoom in

2018-06-05_11-13.34.jpg
Zoom in

2018-06-05_12-43.13.jpg
Zoom in

If you want to see some nice aerial shots from the Höllental Valley you can check my drone video Airborne in October from last autumn:

Thanks for upvoting and commenting!


www.gric.at

Sort:  

Great that you made this video during the ride. It looks like an exeptional experience

Thanks Mirjana! It was tricky to film it because I didn't have the right strap for the camera - I had to hold in with my mouth! :-)

Great ride, maybe you will want to do some crazy wildwater rafting (I know that river near Golden, BC, been there several times but never had the guts to do it) - after this and who knows what's next: down the Niagara Falls in a barrel!
In the meantime, practice your Eskimo-rolls

Thanks Otto! Schwarza is not such a wild beast but rather relaxing!

not everything has to be an adrenaline rush, yes. Floating on a lake (far away from the city and light pollution) at night and looking up at the stars is the ultimate relaxation.

Is wildwater rafting like whitewater rafting? My brother used to be a whitewater raft guide before he became an animator...so much fun.

same thing, yes - maybe "whitewater" for a domain was already taken.
Found another one, closer to @gric and my home, here in Austria: https://www.outdoorplanet.net/en/austria/white-water-rafting-tours-tirol.html

Wow, wunderbares Video und tolle Fotos!!

Thanks Kathrina!

As you can see in the video I'm not very experienced and my equipment is not really suitable for this.

Well, the equipment probably hasn't changed much, but you are are definitely more experienced now than you were before you did this!

At least I know it's not such a big deal. But the water level was 10-20 cm lower than usual so things can change if it gets back to normal. However, it's possible to walk through that particular passage.

Wow, it looks like a grand day out! Amazing video and it looks to be a blast.

I'm itching to get out on my kayak, but my wretched broken toe! What a time to do it, very annoying.

Do you like your inflatable kayak? My sister in law has one , I've a traditional, rather heavy one, which is fine to leave on our beach, but an inflatable would be nice to take places.

Thanks Donna! I like the inflatable kayak because I can take it with me even on a bus as I did here. I parked my car at the bottom and took the bus upstream. It's also quite stable and it doesn't easily flip.

That looks like heaven. Is that really a blow up Kayak? Where did you get it? It looks much better built than my old blow up kayak; it would have exploded on that trip.

Did you take a waterproof backpack with a sketchbook? I want to draw everything there.

The stones and rocks in the river are all round so the chance to rip the boat is small. I didn't take a sketchbook with me and a waterproof backpack would be a good idea since it's almost impossible to keep the boat dry inside. It's the Sevylor Colorado 2-Person Kayak.

Thank you.

SMILE gric :D Well you still manage to look like you had fun XD You seem to have coped all right (not that I know anything about kayaking!) going with some better gear next time?

goatsig

Thank you for sharing...you really are quite a cool human - I love seeing forests and trees from around the world ... the trees are so delicate compared to where I am from, something so fanciful about the thin trunked forests

Thank you @zameena-zen! I love this valley and since it's not far from where I live I'm quite often there.

Hello Peter! YOur video is amazing ! You gave the perfect music to it, it is like putting me into a meditative state, just by watching it! Very well done!
:-)
best post.jpg

Thanks Agnes! You should visit the Höllental and Rax/Schneeberg mountains. It's not far from Hungary, you'll love it!

wow amazing!! I'm always in love with nature. Thank you for sharing beautiful moment!

Thanks Liv!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27