Hike up the Fyrish Monument

in #adventure5 years ago

y04rc5jsaj.jpg
On the snowy Scottish day we went to search for Fyrish Monuments.
Only the main one most visited monument is easily to be found in the Evanton forest but the other two are well hiden. Last time when I went to see them, I was leaded by the local who lived nearby all life and she could find them easily. Unfortunatelly, I was not paying enough attention to the winding paths to remember exactly where to go as I was too busy chatting. Hopefully, I can bring the memories back and find my way to tract them back. After taking two wrong turns I think I am on track to get up the first monument. This little path must lead me there I hope...
j3kekupfo2.jpg
Here it is... the Meann Chnoc.
ozjjsdr59i.jpg
kgifov1d32.jpg
wpprllo24l.jpg

I went on to find the other monument the bell tower by Creag Ruadh.i24ql0j7tc.jpg
f3q1pbw2jv.jpg
cst0ddu7hi.jpg
Finally, I am on the way to get to the final Cnoc Fyrish. The weather is closing in and the snow is really cold and windy.
0j7gsh5r7t.jpg
z78n88dmly.jpg
y04rc5jsaj.jpg

Cnoc Fyrish 'was built in 1783 by Sir Hector Munro - the local laird. He had been commander of British Forces in India, and defeated the Dutch at the Battle of Negapatam. On his return to the Highlands the Clearances were underway and many people were starving. After the fashion of the time famine relief was provided only in return for work - it being feared that feeding the starving would make them lazy - and the construction of the monument was one of the tasks given to the local destitute. It is a replica of the gates of Negapatam, to enhance Munro's glory' (historical information cited from walking highlands website).
As there was no views and I couldnt eat my luch there, I quickly head back down to the forest to eat something.
zamunbc65s.jpg
On lower level just before the car park, I found the first sign of spring. The snowbells!
sejnn3o15g.jpg
Last final look at the Fyrish from the distance
6bw6469dv6.jpg
gofj8fc7zi.jpg
Thank for reading my story. See you next time.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @highlandwalker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great and interesting post from the Highlands. Good story good photos.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oooo how I love Scottland, particularly snow covered Scottland! What lovely photos of a lovely historic trip in the country @highlandwalker! Pretty snowbells too

Loading...
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83